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:)j( ora Preventing Perinatal Hepatitis B

lctain Guidelines for Prenatal Care Providers

From the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) Recommendations, December 2005

TEST

e California law requires that physicians test all pregnant women for hepatitis B surface
antigen (HBsAg) before or at the time of delivery. HBsAg testing should be part of a standard
prenatal panel used by all practitioners caring for pregnant women.

e Laboratories that provide HBsAg testing of pregnant women should use a test that is
approved or licensed by the FDA and should follow the manufacturer’s labeling. Repeat
testing and confirmation of positive HBsAg results are required.

e Test HBsAg-positive pregnant women for HBeAg (hepatitis B e antigen), because HBeAg
positive women are at increased risk of transmitting hepatitis B to their infants. HBeAg-positive
pregnant women should be referred to a gastroenterologist for possible antiviral treatment
during pregnancy.

e Repeat HBsAg testing on HBsAg-negative women at the time of delivery if the woman
has clinical hepatitis or if she was at risk for hepatitis B exposure during pregnancy. Risk
factors include recent intravenous drug use, an HBsAg-positive sex partner, more than one
sex partner in the past 6 months, or treatment for a sexually transmitted disease [ACIP,
American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ACOG)].

REPORT

e Report any pregnant woman with a positive HBsAg result to the local health department.
Screening pregnant women and reporting HBsAg-positive persons are legal requirements of
the state of California (CA Code of Regulations, Section 125085).

e Send a copy of the lab report documenting the woman’s HBsAg status to the birth hospital
and to the health care provider who will care for the infant, if known.

VACCINATE
e Vaccinate pregnant women who are HBsAg-negative, have not been vaccinated, and are at
risk for infection with hepatitis B virus.

REFER AND INFORM

e Refer HBsAg positive women to appropriate counseling and medical management.

e Inform the HBsAg positive woman that it is safe to begin breastfeeding after delivery.
Administration of HBIG and the recommended hepatitis B vaccine series should
eliminate any theoretical risk of transmission through breastfeeding.

Infants born to HBsAg-positive mothers should receive hepatitis B immunoglobulin (HBIG)
and a dose of single-antigen hepatitis B vaccine within 12 hours of birth.
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