

## State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health



March 27, 2024

TO: Licensees

Home Medical Device Retailers

Home Medical Device Retailers Out-of-State Home Medical Device Retailers Warehouse Home Medical Device Retailers Exemptee

Fee Increase Effective July 1, 2024

Effective July 1, 2024, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), Food and Drug Branch (FDB) is scheduled to increase licensing fees by five percent pursuant to the California Health and Safety Code (H&SC) Section 111656.1 authorizing CDPH to establish and adjust licensing fees to cover the estimated program costs.

The rate increase for the new fees was determined by CDPH working closely with the California Department of Finance (DOF) and will allow the fund to remain viable and cover the costs of program operations for the next fiscal year. CDPH will continue to work closely with DOF to re-evaluate in future years. The report to the legislature describing the activities supported by the Drug and Device Safety Fund and estimated program costs can be found at the <u>Food and Drug Branch's website</u>.

The table below shows current fees and the new fees that will be included in all billing notices for payments on or after July 1, 2024.

License Type	Current Fee	New Fee	Frequency
Home Medical Device Retailer (HMDR) –	\$1,437	\$1,509	Annual
New and Renewal			
HMDR Out of State – New and Renewal	\$254	\$267	Annual
HMDR Warehouse – New and Renewal	\$720	\$754	Annual
HMDR Exemptee – New Application Fee	\$423	\$444	One-time
HMDR Exemptee – Renewal	\$254	\$267	Annual

If you have questions concerning the new fee schedule, please contact:

California Department of Public Health - Food and Drug Branch Attn: Drug and Medical Device Compliance and Enforcement Section

P.O. Box 997435, MS 7602 Sacramento, CA 95899-7435

1-800-495-3232 or Email: <a href="mailto:FDBMedDevice@cdph.ca.gov">FDBMedDevice@cdph.ca.gov</a>

