
   
   

      

 
 

 
 

 
     

    
 

  
   

 
   
   

  
     

 

 
   

 

   
 

   
 

  
     
    
    

 
    

  
 

 
  

 
  

  
   

   
  

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health 
Radiologic Health Branch 

REQUIREMENTS FOR CALIFORNIA STATE CERTIFICATION IN
 
MAMMOGRAPHIC RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGY
 

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS 
1. Applicants	 must have a current and valid California Diagnostic Radiologic Technology

Certificate issued by the California Department of Public Health, Radiologic Health Branch
(CDPH-RHB).

2. Applicants, who document passing the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT)
examination in Mammography, ARRT(M), will be issued a California certificate in
Mammographic Radiologic Technology without examination.

3. To become ARRT-certified in Mammography, contact the ARRT directly.
4. Applicants who cannot document having passed the ARRT(M) examination must complete and

pass the state Mammographic Radiologic Technology Examination administered by the
ARRT. IMPORTANT NOTE: The ARRT administered examination for state candidates is
used for state certification only.

APPLICATION PROCESS 
1. Submit a COMPLETE Radiologic Health Branch (RHB) Mammographic Radiologic Technology 

application.

2. Submit the non-refundable CDPH-RHB application fee of $112.00 in the form of a check or 
money order made payable to CDPH-RHB.

3. Provide your
 current and valid California Diagnostic Radiologic Technology Certificate 
Number.

4. Submit documentary evidence of:
a) Completion of 40 hours of continuing education in Mammography courses, OR
b) Documentation of having passed the ARRT Mammography Certification examination 

5. Mail 
 the completed application, payment for the application fee, and all 
supporting documentation to
CDPH-RHB.

EXAMINATION PROCESS 
1. Applicants approved to complete the state Mammographic Radiologic Technology examination

administered by the ARRT will receive examination information in a notification letter from
CDPH-RHB.

2. After applicants complete the examination, the ARRT notifies CDPH-RHB of the examination
results and you will be notified of your examination results by CDPH-RHB within 45 calendar
days from the date of the examination.
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State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health 
Radiologic Health Branch 

APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFICATE IN MAMMOGRAPHIC RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGY 

(Failure to use your full legal name may result in entrance into the examination being denied.) 
Last Name (Please Print) First Name Middle Name 

Date of Birth SSN or ITIN*

*Social Security Number or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number

Phone Number 

Mailing Address (Number and Street or P.O. Box Number) E-mail Address

City State Zip Code 

Current California Diagnostic Radiologic Technology Certificate Number: (Required)  

Pursuant to the authority found in Section 114870 of the California Health and Safety Code and as 
required by Section 17520 of the California Family Code, providing the SSN/ITIN is mandatory. The 
SSN/ITIN will be used for purposes of identification. The information on this form may be provided to 
federal, state, or local agencies for law enforcement purposes. The information you provide on this 
form (except for SSN/ITIN) may be made public under the California Public Records Act; please 
provide a P.O. Box number or other alternate address if you do not wish to have your home address 
made public. This information may also be provided to the American Registry of Radiologic 
Technologists (ARRT) for examination purposes. For information or access to your records, contact 
the Certification Support Unit at the California Department of Public Health, Radiologic Health 
Branch (CDPH-RHB), MS 7610, P.O. Box 997414, Sacramento, CA 95899-7414, (916) 327-5106.

REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN A CALIFORNIA MAMMOGRAPHIC RADIOLOGIC TECHNOLOGY 
CERTIFICATE 

You must submit this application along with the following: 

• The non-refundable application fee of $112.00 in the form of a check (e.g., personal, cashier’s,
or certified check) or money order made payable to CDPH-RHB, and documentary evidence of
one of the following:

Completion of 40 hours of continuing education in mammography courses, OR 

Having passed the ARRT mammography certification examination. 
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State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health 
Radiologic Health Branch 

(Failure to use your full legal name may result in entrance into the examination being denied.) 

Last Name (Please Print) First Name Middle Name 

Please mail this application, all supporting documents, and payment for the non-
refundable application fee of $112.00 to: 

USPS First-Class Mail: 

 

California Department of Public Health 

 

Radiologic Health Branch, MS 

 

7610 

 

Accounts Receivable and 

 

Cashiering Unit 

 

P. O. Box 997414 

 

Sacramento, CA 95899-7414, or 

 

Express Mail: 

 

California Department of Public Health 

 

Radiologic Health Branch, MS 

 

7610 

 

Accounts 

 

Receivable and Cashiering Unit 

 

1500 Capitol 

 

Ave., Suite 520, Bldg. 

 

172 

 

Sacramento, CA 95814-5006 

 

NOTIFICATION OF APPLICATION STATUS 

Within 30 calendar days of receipt of your application, CDPH-RHB will mail you a notification letter. The 
notification letter will inform you of one of the following: 

• That your application is acceptable and, if applicable, instructions regarding the next steps in
the examination process; or

• That your application is not acceptable for filing and next steps.

I certify that 

 

the information provided with this application is true and correct.  I understand that the 

 

California Department of Public Health may 

 

revoke 

 

certificates or 

 

permits that are procured by fraud, 

 

misrepresentation, 

 

or mistake, 

 

or for the nonpayment of 

 

fees.  Further, I 

 

am aware that it is unlawful 

 

to use X-rays on human beings 

 

in this 

 

state unless 

 

I have be

 

en granted a certificate or 

 

permit 

 

pursuant to the Radiologic Technology Act, 

 

am 

 

acting within 

 

the scope of that 

 

certificate or 

 

permit, 
and 

 

am 

 

acting under the supervision of a licentiate of the healing arts who is a certified 

 

supervisor or 
operator. 

 
 

Signature 

 

Date 
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