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2016 STAKE Act Program Regulations - §100

June 8, 2016

Justification for Changes without Regulatory Effect:

Sections affected: 6901, 06902, and 6903,

The California Department of Public Health (Department) proposes amendments to Cal.
Code Regs, tit. 17, §§ 6901, 6902, and 6903 to bring them into compliance with Bus. &
Prof. Code, §§ 22950.5, 22952, and 22958. A nonsubstantial change is also being

made to reflect the correct name of the Department pursuant to Heaith & Saf. Code 8§
131050 and 131051,

These amendments satisfy the criteria under Cal. Code Regs. tit. 1, § 100 because the
above mentioned regulations are currently inconsistent with Bus & Prof Code §§
17537.3, 22950.5, 22951, 22952, 22956, and 22958 and the Department has no
discretion to contravene the statutes.
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| - DPH-16-014
2016 STAKE Act Program Regulations - §100
August 10, 2016

Amend Sections 6901, 6902, and 6903 of the California Code of Regulations to read:

§ 6901. Definitions.

(a) “Decoy” means a-45-or-16-year-old individuala person under 21 years of age
participating in an inspection carried out by the Department to determine compliance

with California law prohibiting the sale of a tobacco product to a-minera person under
21 years of age. '

(b) “Department” means the Bepartmentof-Health-ServieesCalifornia Department of

Public Health or a local law enforcement agency that has entered into an enforcement

delegation contract with the Department-ef-Health-ServicesCalifornia Department of
Public Health.

(c) No change to text.
EEl) upqil: o Means aqu‘: in E”! [i Ehlal under18 ye SIFE 3 ge-

fe)(d) “Person” means any individual, partnership, company, estate, public or private
institution, association, organization, group, city, county, city and county, political
subdivision of this state, other governmental agency within the state, and any

representative agent, or agency of any of the foregoing.

H(e) "Refail site” means any outlet that provides tobacco products for sale to
consumers including, but not limited to, an establishment, vending machine, vehicle,

mobile unit, stationary mobile unit, booth, stand, or concession.

{g)(f) “Sale” means the transfer or exchange for consideration or otherwise furnishing of
a tobacco product to a consumer for the purpose of consumption or use, and not for re-

sale.

(h)(q) “Seller” means the owner of any retail business or any employee of the retalil

business authorized to make sales of tobacco products to consumers.
ti(h) “Tobacco product’-means-any-substanee-containing tobacco leaf-including; but
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DPH-16-014
2016 STAKE Act Program Regulations - §100

August 10, 2016

tobacco-shall read as defined by Section 22950.5 of the Business and Professions
Code. '

{i(0) “Valid identification” means a document issued by a federal, state, county, or
municipal government, or subdivision or agency thereof, including, but not limited to, a
motor vehicle operator's license or an identification card issued to a member of the

Armed Forces, which contains the name, date of birth, description, and photograph of
the individual.

da() “Vending machine” means any mechanical device, the operation of which depends
upon the insertion of money, trade checks, tokens or other things representative of
value and which dispenses or vends tobacco products.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 22950.5(a), 22950.5(d), 22952(b), and 22952(d),
Business and Professions Code; and Section 208, Health and Safety Code. Reference:
Sections 22950.5(a), 22950.5(d}, 22951, 22952(b), 22952(c), 22952(d)(1)-(7), 22954,
22956, 22957 and 22958 Business and Professions Code.

Page 2 of 4



DPH-16-014
2016 STAKE Act Program Regulations - §100
August 10, 2016
Amend Section 6802 to read:

§ 6902. Warning Sign; Identification.
(a) No change to text. -
(1) Contain the following words with initial letters capitalized in the following manner:

The Sale of Tobacco Products to Persons Under 4821 Years of Age Is Prohibited by
Law and Subject to Penalties. U.S, Armed Forces active duty personnel with military |D

must be at least 18 vears of age. Valid Identification May Be Required. To Report an
Unlawful Tobacco Sale Call 1-800-5ASK-4-1D. Business and Professions Code Section
22952,

(2) No change to text.
(3) No change to text.

(4) Located at least one-third inch from the top and sides, the following required words
shall be no smaller than 20 point medium or bold Helvetica or Futura type face: “The.
Sale of Tobacco Products to Persons Under 4821 Years of Age Is Prohibited by Law
and Subject to Penalties. U.S. Armed Forces active duty personnel with mil_itaN ID

must be at least 18 years of age. Valid Identification May Be Required.” Located at

least one-third inch from the sides, the following required words shall be no smaller than
30 point medium or bold Helvetica or Futura type face and in all cases 6 point size
larger than all other text: “To Report an Unlawful Tobacco Sale Call 1-800-5A8K-4-1D.”
Located at least one-quarter inch from the sides and bottom, the required legal citation
“Business and Professions Code Section 22952 shall be no smaller than 12 point

medium or bold Helvetica or Futura type face.

+(b) The seller shall requeét valid identification from any individual who attempts to
purchase a tobacco p'roduct if that individual reasonably appears to the seller to be

under 4821 years of age.

Note: Authority cited: Section 22952(b), Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 22952(b), 22956, and 22958, Business and Professions Code.
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DPH-16-014
2016 STAKE Act Program Regulations - §100
August 10, 2016

Amend Section 6903 to read:

§ 6903. Inspections; Decoys.

(a) The Department shall conduct inspections using decoys who shall present the
appearance of an individual under 4821 years of age. For purposes of verifying that a
decoy appears to be under 4821 years of age at the time of the inspection, a
photograph or video recording of the decoy shall be taken prior to and on the same day
as the inspection and shall be retained by the Department.

(b) No change to text.
{c) No change to text,
(d) No change to texf.
(e) No change to text.
(f) No change to text.

Note: Authority cited: Section 22952(d), Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 22952(b), 22952(c), 22952(d)(1)-(7) and 22958, Business and Professions
Code; and Section 308, Penal Code.
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