Tobacco 21 Resources for Retailers (2016)
Resources to help retailers comply with the landmark California Tobacco 21 law, such as the required age-of-sale warning sign, retail tobacco laws summary fact sheet, FAQ, and ID verification and tobacco product tip sheets. Selected resources are in Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Punjabi, Spanish, and Vietnamese.
Antonio's Walk to School (Video, 2014)
This video on the California Tobacco Control Program's TobaccoFreeCA website shows the availability and promotion of tobacco products in stores in our communities impact our kids and increase the likelihood that they will start to smoke.
State Health Officer’s Report on Tobacco Use and Promotion in California (2013)
This report provides data on illegal sales to minors, the disproportionate number of tobacco retailers and advertising in minority and low-income neighborhoods, the effect of tobacco advertising in retail stores, and troubling tobacco-use trends. It also shows the success of the California Tobacco Control Program related to declines in cigarette consumption and smoking prevalence (adults and youth); and the lives and healthcare costs saved.
Tobacco Retail Price Manipulation Policy Strategy Summit Proceedings (2008)
This document highlights the informative presentations and creative discussion from California Tobacco Control Program’s Tobacco Retail Price Manipulation Policy Strategy Summit, held in May 2008. Pros and cons regarding potentially feasible statewide retail tobacco price manipulation policy interventions are identified and discussed.
The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act (eff. June 9, 2016)
The complete STAKE Act state law in California Business and Professions Code Sections 22950-22964, effective June 9, 2016. The STAKE Act is primarily enforced by the CDPH, Food and Drug Branch, among other state and local law enforcement agencies, to restrict tobacco product sales to persons under 21 years of age.
Penal Code Section 308 (eff. June 9, 2016)
The complete California Penal Code Section 308 state law which prohibits the sale or furnishing of tobacco products and tobacco paraphernalia to persons under 21 years of age, effective June 9, 2016.