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EARLY ALERT TO HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS 
Assembly Bill 354 Becomes Law  

2011 Pertussis (Whooping Cough) Immunization Requirements for Students  
September 30, 2010 (Updated December 9, 2010) 

 
Whooping cough (pertussis) has been widespread, including nine infant deaths, in 
California during 2010. The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) 
recommends that all Californians 10 years and older receive a booster shot against 
pertussis (also known as “Tdap”1). Moreover, Assembly Bill 354, now chaptered into 
California law, requires students to be immunized against pertussis2: 
 
For the 2011-12 school year only, all students entering 7th through 12th grades will 
need proof of a Tdap booster shot before starting school. This requirement: 

• Begins July 1, 2011. 
• Will be met by the CDPH recommendation to receive one dose of Tdap vaccine 

on or after the 10th birthday.3 
• Applies to all public and private schools. 
• Does not affect students enrolled in summer school. 

 
Beginning July 1, 2012, and beyond, all students entering the 7th grade will need 
proof of a Tdap booster shot before starting school.  
 
These requirements apply to millions of students in California. Please utilize every 
opportunity to provide a Tdap booster shot to adolescents and adults (10 years and 
older) who haven’t yet received it. Give Tdap now to your unimmunized patients to 
protect them against the current threat and to meet the forthcoming school requirement.  
Schools may send communications about the Tdap requirement to the parents of your 
patients. 
 
The California Immunization Registry (CAIR) is directly accessed by many schools to 
check student immunization records. We encourage you to join CAIR to help meet the 
new Tdap booster shot requirement (click here for CAIR contact information). 
 
Updates on implementing this new law and information on pertussis will be posted later 
in the 2010-2011 school year at www.getimmunizedca.org. 
 

1 “Tdap” = Tetanus toxoid, reduced diphtheria toxoid and acellular pertussis vaccine. 
2 Exemptions permitted for verified medical conditions or personal beliefs. 
3 If a student has received a dose of Tdap on or after the 7th birthday, the student will meet the school immunization 

requirement  
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