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AB 354: The New 7th – 12th Grade California Immunization Law 
California Department of Public Health, Immunization Branch 

 
What SCHOOLS Need To Know 

Frequently Asked Questions  
 
 
What is the new Tdap requirement for 7th – 12th Graders? 
On September 29, 2010, AB 354, a new law changing California immunization requirements for students 
entering 7th-12th grades in public and private schools was passed. The law requires: 
 

 This coming school year (2011-2012), all students entering into 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th or 12th grades will 
need proof of an adolescent whooping cough booster shot (called “Tdap”) before starting school.  

 
 For the next school year (2012-13) and future school years, all students entering into 7th grade only will 

need proof of a Tdap shot to start school.  
 
Are ALL 7th – 12th grade students required to get the “Tdap” shot? 
Yes.  For the 2011 – 2012 school year, all students entering or advancing into 7th – 12th grades must have proof 
of having had the Tdap booster shot before starting school. This includes current students, new students and 
transfer students in both public and private schools. Beginning in the 2012 – 2013 school year, the law will only 
affect 7th graders. Limited exemptions are allowed.    
 
What is the difference between the DTaP vaccines students received before Kindergarten versus 
Tdap booster vaccine? 
“Tdap” is the only whooping cough (pertussis) vaccine given to adolescents and is the only one that meets the 
new school requirement. 
 
Both the Tdap and DTaP vaccines protect students from tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis. Here are the 
differences: 
 
Tdap 

• Given to older children, adolescents, adults 
• 1 booster dose required for 7th -12th grade entry for school year 2011-2012 

 
DTaP  

• Given to children younger than 6 years old 
• 5 doses required for kindergarten entry 
• Does NOT satisfy the 7th-12th grade school entry requirement 

 
Other tetanus vaccines (like DT and Td) only protect against tetanus and diphtheria. They do not help prevent 
whooping cough and do not fulfill the new Tdap requirement. 
 
See the charts below for clarification on the different types of tetanus-containing vaccines. 
 
 

Whooping cough (pertussis) vaccines  
Abbreviated Vaccine Name Diseases it helps prevent Recommended 

Ages for 
Vaccination 

Meets 7th-12th 
Grade Entry 

Requirement? 
Tdap tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis 10 years and older YES 
DTaP diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis 6 weeks – 6 years NO 
 



 
Tetanus-Diphtheria vaccines 
Abbreviated Vaccine Name Diseases it helps prevent Ages Meets 7th-12th 

Grade Entry 
Requirement? 

Td tetanus, diphtheria 7 years and older NO 
DT diphtheria, tetanus 6 weeks – 6 years NO 

 
Why was the Tdap requirement added? 
This new immunization requirement is intended to help reduce the spread of whooping cough disease among 
California’s youth. In recent years, California, as well as the rest of the United States, has seen an increase in 
the number of whooping cough cases. In 2010, California experienced the most reported cases in over 60 
years.  
 
Most children are fully protected against diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis prior to entering kindergarten 
because of the DTaP vaccine. However, immunity to these diseases wears off making adolescents vulnerable to 
whooping cough. Adolescents who receive a booster dose of Tdap will be protected during their school years. 
Immunization also helps to protect close contacts, including young infants for whom pertussis is most severe 
and sometimes fatal. 
 
What are the diseases, tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis (whooping cough)?  

• Tetanus – also called lockjaw, tetanus causes painful tightening of the muscles. It can lead to “locking” 
of the jaw so the person cannot his/her mouth or swallow.  

 
• Diphtheria – is a throat infection that can lead to breathing problems, paralysis, heart failure and death.  

 
• Pertussis – also known as whooping cough, is a contagious disease that causes violent coughing fits 

that make it hard to breathe. It spreads easily when someone with the disease coughs or sneezes. 
Symptoms can last for months. Whooping cough is particularly dangerous for young babies. 

 
Why is the new Tdap requirement good for schools? 
In addition to protecting the health of your students and their families, the new Tdap requirement helps keep 
your school healthy. Multiple schools in California have suffered from outbreaks or pertussis. In some cases 
there were not enough healthy teachers to keep the schools open. High numbers of absences proved a hardship 
for families who missed work and experienced lost wages, as well as threatening reimbursement based on 
average daily attendance. 
 
How can my school get ready for the new Tdap requirement?  
1. Inform parents now and throughout the 2010-2011 School Year 
Students 10 years and older are recommended to be vaccinated with Tdap starting now to protect them against 
the ongoing threat of pertussis and to help meet the requirement in 2010-11 and beyond. Early and repeated 
informing of 6th-11th graders during 2010-2011 is vital to give families ample opportunity to meet the 2011-12 
Tdap requirement and to avoid excluding students from entering school. Because so many students are affected 
by this new requirement, families should not wait until the summer to get their children immunized with Tdap.    
 
2. Anticipate revising admissions procedures for 2011-2012 
Stay tuned for information and training opportunities on how to meet the documentation requirement for the 
new Tdap law. In order to implement the new requirement during school admissions 2011, schools will want to 
update their admissions procedures during the 2010-2011 school year. This will require staff training. 
 
3. Prepare parents of 6th Graders each year starting in 2011-2012 
During school year 2012-2013 and beyond, the Tdap requirement will only apply to incoming 7th graders. During 
the 2011-12 school year, schools will want to start early to inform families of 6th graders about the 7th grade 
entry immunization requirements. 
 



 
When should students get vaccinated with Tdap?  
Students 10 years and older are recommended to be vaccinated with Tdap now. This will also help to meet the 
Tdap school requirements for the 2011-2012 school year and beyond. Schools should await updates on how to 
meet the Tdap reporting requirements for the 2011-2012 school year.  Updates will be posted on the California 
Department of Public Health, Immunization Branch website at www.getimmunizedca.org.    
 
Will schools be able to access the immunization registry (CAIR) to view Tdap immunization 
records? 
The Tdap reporting requirement documentation is scheduled to be available through CAIR by early 2011. 
Schools already using CAIR are able to check the records of students whose medical providers also use CAIR. 
Schools who do not already use CAIR can check with the regional CAIR office about the potential for becoming 
new users.     
 
What if a student does not have proof of a Tdap booster shot before school starts? 
School staff should exclude incoming 7th-12th graders who do not have proof of receiving a Tdap booster shot. 
Schools will need to follow up on each student until the requirement is met. 
 
What if a student has had whooping cough recently or in the past? 
The student will still need a Tdap booster shot to enter school. Immunity developed after whooping cough 
disease wears off, leaving students vulnerable to getting whooping cough again.  
 
What about transfer students? 
The requirements are the same. For the 2011-2012 school year only, all students entering or advancing into 7th 
through 12th grades will need proof of a Tdap booster shot before starting school.  
 
What if a student has received a dose of Tdap before the 10 years of age?  
CDPH recommends that children receive Tdap on or after their 10th birthday to provide protection throughout 
their adolescent years. However, a student will be considered to have met the new school requirement with 
proof of receipt of a dose of Tdap on or after their 7th birthday.  
 
What exemptions are available under California law? 
California School Immunization Law allows (a) parents/guardians to elect a personal belief exemption from 
immunization requirements if the immunization is contrary to his/her personal beliefs, and (b) physicians of 
children to provide medical exemptions (with a written statement) if the immunization is not indicated for the 
student. The law does not allow parents/guardians to elect an exemption simply because of convenience, such 
as when the immunization record is misplaced. Unimmunized students are at greater risk of catching these 
dangerous diseases and place the entire school community at greater risk for an outbreak. Schools should 
maintain an up-to-date list of students with exemptions, so they can be excluded quickly if an outbreak occurs.  
 
Where can I go for more information? 
There will be additional information and resources for schools in the coming months. For more information, go 
to www.getimmunizedca.org.      
 
 
 
 
 


