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The purpose of this memo is to educate ADAP Enrollment Workers about the eligibility 
criteria and enrollment process for Medi-Cal Expansion and Covered California, and to 
document OA’s policies and procedures regarding how to enroll clients who obtain 
health coverage through Covered California into the OA-Health Insurance Premium 
Payment (HIPP) program.  Also, for your reference, ADAP is providing you a copy of the 
informational letter (attached) being sent to all ADAP clients who may be eligible for 
Medi-Cal Expansion or Covered California, informing them of these newly available 
health coverage plans. 
 
Background 
 
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) ensures that all legal U.S. 
residents are able to obtain affordable health care coverage, regardless of any pre-
existing condition(s). In addition, ACA requires states to establish a marketplace for 
people to buy health insurance or have one set up by the federal government. California 
was the first state to enact legislation to implement this provision of ACA by creating 
Covered California.  
 
Significant changes to California’s health insurance landscape will commence on 
January 1, 2014, including: 
 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/AIDS
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1. Medi-Cal will be expanded to cover people between 19 to 64 years old, including 
people without disabilities, with income less than 138 percent of the federal poverty 
level (FPL), based on family size. For a single individual, the qualifying income would 
be less than $15,856 and for a family size of four the allowable income would be less 
than $32,499. The coverage is free for those who qualify and clients will have no out-
of-pocket health care expenses. 
 

2. Covered California will offer affordable health plans to legal California residents who 
earn more than 138 percent FPL. Each plan will provide a comprehensive package of 
services, known as essential health benefits. Individuals may also be eligible for 
federal premium assistance and/or cost-sharing subsidies which would lower their 
health care expenses. 

Medi-Cal Expansion 
 
All ADAP clients with income less than 138 percent FPL must apply for Medi-Cal 
Expansion if potentially eligible. Once enrolled in Medi-Cal Expansion, the client will be 
dis-enrolled from ADAP and OA-HIPP. 
 
ADAP will continue to serve clients enrolled in standard Medi-Cal with a share of cost 
(up to the share of cost amount), Medi-Cal clients co-enrolled in Medicare Part D who 
need drug copayment assistance and clients enrolled in Medi-Cal HIPP who need  
co-payment assistance. 
 
Covered California Premium Assistance and Cost Sharing Subsidies 
 
Premium assistance (formerly known as “tax credit”) may be available for individuals 
with income from 138 percent up to 400 percent FPL (which is approximately $15,856 - 
$45,960 for individuals). The premium assistance will be sent to the health plan directly 
by the federal government and applied to the client’s monthly premium, thus reducing 
the cost of the premium. At time of Covered California enrollment, clients will need to 
take 100 percent of the monthly premium assistance, if eligible, in order to enroll in 
OA-HIPP.  
 
Individuals who earn from 138 percent up to 250 percent FPL (which is approximately 
($15,856 - $28,725 for individuals) may be eligible for additional subsidies that will 
reduce out-of-pocket health care expenses, including copays and deductibles. The cost-
sharing subsidy is only available if the client selects a silver plan (known as the 
“Enhanced Silver” plan.)  
 
Enhanced Silver Plans – Clients who earn between 138-200 percent FPL 
(approximately $15,971 - $22,980 for individuals) will have the lowest out-of-pocket 
costs by choosing the “Enhanced Silver” plan. 
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Platinum Plans – Clients who earn between 201 percent FPL and $50,000 will have the 
lowest out-of-pocket costs by choosing a “Platinum” plan.   
 
OA-HIPP Premium Assistance for Covered California Health Plans 
 
OA-HIPP will pay premiums for all eligible clients co-enrolled in ADAP who obtain health 
insurance coverage through Covered California. As previously stated, the client will be 
required to take the maximum monthly federal premium assistance amount, if eligible, in 
order to enroll in OA-HIPP. For example, if a client chose a platinum policy that included 
a $500 monthly premium and that client was eligible for $200 in federal premium 
assistance each month, the client would be required to apply the full $200 to the 
monthly premium each month. After the premium assistance is applied, the client would 
be expected to only pay $300 each month. If this hypothetical client applied to OA-HIPP 
and was taking any amount other than $200 in premium assistance, his/her application 
would be denied. This policy will ensure that OA-HIPP is paying the lowest possible 
insurance premium. 
 
ADAP Drug Assistance for Covered California Health Plans 
 
For ADAP clients co-enrolled in a Covered California health plan, ADAP will pay for their 
prescription drug deductibles and co-pays for drugs that are on the ADAP formulary and 
are dispensed from an ADAP pharmacy that is also in-network for the Covered 
California health insurance plan. These prescription drug costs will count towards the 
out-of-pocket maximum. 
 
Medi-Cal Expansion and Covered California Enrollment  
 
There is a single, combined application to apply for Medi-Cal Expansion or Covered 
California. A prospective client can enroll in Medi-Cal anytime.  However, enrollment in 
Covered California can typically only occur during the open enrollment period. The initial 
open enrollment for Covered California will occur October 1, 2013 through March 31, 
2014. Subsequent open enrollment periods will occur annually between October 15 and 
December 7.  
 
Individuals may also be able to enroll in Covered California during the Special 
Enrollment period which occurs within 60 days of a Qualifying Event, such as: 
1. Becoming a new California resident 
2. Becoming a legal resident 
3. Loss of job / health insurance 
4. Birth of child 
5. Death of spouse 
6. Income increases, disqualifying the client for Medi-Cal Expansion 

A client must apply by December 23, 2013 in order for coverage to be in place on 
January 1, 2014.  
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Clients can apply for Medi-Cal Expansion or Covered California in the following ways: 
 
1. Online – Clients can visit www.CoveredCA.com and click on the “Start Here” button. 

 
2. Telephone – Clients can call the Customer Service Center at 800-300-1506 and a 

representative will complete the application for the client over the phone. Hours of 
operation are Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
 

3. In person – Clients can obtain a list of Certified Insurance Agents and Certified 
Enrollment Counselors who can meet with them to assist in completing the 
application by visiting www.CoveredCA.com or calling 888-975-1142.  

 
4. Paper Application – Available at the link below, clients can fill out the paper 

application and send to Covered California: 
 
a. By fax – 1-888-329-3700 

 
b. By mail: Covered California, PO Box 989725, West Sacramento, CA 95798-9725 

 
https://www.coveredca.com/PDFs/English/paper_application/CCFRM604.pdf 

 
Covered California Application Processing and Payment Timeframe 
 
The deadline to apply for coverage taking effect on January 1, 2014, has been extended 
from December 15, 2013, to December 23, 2013, and the deadline for payment has 
been extended from December 26, 2013, to January 5, 2014.  
 
Beginning January 2014, applicants who submit a complete application to Covered 
California by the 15th day of the month must submit payment on or before the 4th day 
prior to the end of the month to have health insurance on the 1st day of the following 
month. For example, if an applicant submits a complete application to Covered 
California by January 15 and pays by January 27, his/her health insurance will begin on 
February 1. 
 
OA-HIPP Enrollment and Required Documents 
 
OA will obtain the Federal Identification Number for all Covered California plans. The 
following forms and documentation must be submitted during initial OA-HIPP/Covered 
California enrollment: 
 
 OA-HIPP Application - The application was modified to capture additional data 

elements pertaining to Covered California. 
 Insurance Assistance Section Consent Form 

http://www.coveredca.com/
http://www.coveredca.com/
https://www.coveredca.com/PDFs/English/paper_application/CCFRM604.pdf
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 Insurance Assistance Section ARIES Consent Form – Formerly labeled the “ARIES 
OA-HIPP/OA-PCIP Client Consent Form, this form was also recently modified to 
denote that clients will be entered into ARIES as “non-share.” 

 Billing statement from Covered California plan 
 Covered California Welcome Letter 

OA-HIPP application and forms are available on the OA website at: Health Insurance 
Premium Payment (HIPP) Program Forms 

 

OA-HIPP / Covered California Application Processing and Payment Timeframe 
 
For all OA-HIPP application packages that are received between the 1st and 15th day of 
the month and contain all required documentation, OA will process and issue premium 
payments for approved applications so the client’s coverage will start the first day of the 
second month that the application is received. Complete OA-HIPP applications received 
after the 15th day of the month will be processed during the next payment cycle for the 
subsequent month.  
 
For example: 
 
OA-HIPP Application Received CC Coverage Begins 

February 10 April 1 
February 20 May 1  

 
The initial payment will cover the first month the client’s insurance becomes effective 
plus three additional months. Ongoing payments will be paid quarterly. 
 
If the client would like his/her coverage to start sooner, the client will have to pay the 
first month’s premium. For example, if a client submits a complete application to 
Covered California and OA by January 15, the client would need to issue payment to 
his/her insurance company by January 27 in order for his/her coverage to start February 
1. After the insurance company receives payment from OA, the client can contact the 
insurance company and request a refund for the month they paid. The enrollment 
worker must notify OA if the client intends to make the initial payment.  
 
If you are interested in becoming an OA-HIPP enrollment worker, training is available on 
the OA website at: OA-HIPP Enrollment Worker Training 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/aids/Pages/OAHIPPForms.aspx
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/aids/Pages/OAHIPPForms.aspx
http://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/story.php?title=NTM0MjI3
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Please contact your OA ADAP Advisor if you have any questions regarding the content 
of this memo. The most current “OA/ADAP Staff Assignments by LHJ” list is available 
on the OA website at: http://cdphinternet/programs/aids/Documents/ADAP-
LHJStaffAssignments.pdf 
 
 

 
 
Celia Banda-Brown, Chief 
ADAP Section 
Office of AIDS 
 
 
Attachments: 
ADAP Client Letter 
 

http://cdphinternet/programs/aids/Documents/ADAP-LHJStaffAssignments.pdf
http://cdphinternet/programs/aids/Documents/ADAP-LHJStaffAssignments.pdf
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November 27, 2013 
 
Dear client, 
 
New health insurance coverage will be available to legal California residents beginning 
January 1, 2014, including: 
 

1. Medi-Cal Expansion – Free health care coverage for individuals between the 
ages of 19 to 64 years, regardless of disability status, with income up to 138% of 
the federal poverty level (FPL) (annual income of approximately $15,856 for 
individuals).  

2. Covered California – Affordable private health care coverage from a variety of 
plans.  Health insurance plans will no longer be able to deny coverage because 
of a pre-existing condition. Individuals with income from 138% FPL up to 400% 
FPL (approximately $15,856 - $45,960 for individuals) may be eligible for tax 
credits that will reduce the cost of the monthly premium. Also, individuals who 
earn from 138% FPL up to 250% FPL (approximately $15,856 - $28,724 for 
individuals) may be eligible for subsidies that will reduce out-of-pocket costs, 
including copays and deductibles.  

You can now apply for Medi-Cal Expansion or Covered California via a combined 
application. You can apply in three ways, including: 

1. Online – Please visit www.coveredca.com and click on the “Start Here” button. 
Then click on the “Log In” link at the top of the page and create an account. After 
you create an account, you will be able to enroll in coverage. If you are enrolling 
in Medi-Cal Expansion, please be aware that you cannot pick your provider 
online; you will need to submit a paper application. 

2. Telephone – 800-300-1506 – Representatives will answer your questions and 
submit your application for you. 

3. In-person – Please visit www.coveredca.com and click on the “Find Help Near 
You” link. You will then be able to search for in-person assistance. 
 

You must apply by December 15, 2013, for your coverage to start on January 1, 2014. 
Medi-Cal Expansion applications can be submitted at any time, but Covered California 
has an open enrollment period that ends on March 31, 2014. 
 
If you qualify for Medi-Cal Expansion, there are no monthly premiums to pay. If you 
don’t qualify for Medi-Cal Expansion but do qualify for insurance coverage through 

 MS 7700, P.O. Box 997426, Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 
Internet Address:  www.cdph.ca.gov 

  

http://www.coveredca.com/
http://www.coveredca.com/


 
 

 

Covered California, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) may be able to 
pay your monthly insurance premium through our health insurance premium payment 
program. To enroll for premium payment assistance, you will be required to take the 
maximum monthly tax credit, if eligible and submit the following documents: 

 Health Insurance Premium Payment Application 
 Insurance Assistance Section Consent Form 
 Insurance Assistance Section ARIES Consent Form 
 Billing statement from Covered California plan 
 Covered California Welcome Letter 

 
Please visit http://tinyurl.com/nzjgq3r to access the list of our health insurance premium 
payment program enrollment workers. They will be able to answer your questions and 
help you apply.   
 
For eligible clients who enroll in Covered California, CDPH will pay the prescription drug 
deductibles and co-pays for drugs on our program’s formulary that are dispensed from a 
pharmacy that is in-network for the Covered California health insurance plan and our 
program. These prescription drug costs will count towards the out-of-pocket maximum.  
However, clients will be responsible for any other medical or drug out-of-pocket costs.  
Clients who earn between 139%–200% FPL ($15,971-$22,980 for individuals) can 
minimize their out-of-pocket costs by choosing a “Silver” plan. Those who earn between 
201% FPL ($23,095 for individuals) and $50,000 annually and qualify for our health 
insurance premium payment program can minimize their out-of-pocket costs by 
choosing a “Platinum” plan. Please call 800-300-1506 or visit 
https://www.coveredca.com/shopandcompare/#benefits for more information on 
Covered California health plans and out-of-pocket costs. Before selecting a health plan, 
contact your provider to identify which Covered California plan they may be participating 
in. In addition, you may want to consult with a local benefits counselor when selecting a 
plan.  
 
Individuals without health insurance coverage (including Medi-Cal) by March 31, 2014 
may have to pay a fee that will increase every year: from 1% of income (or $95 per 
adult, whichever is higher) in 2014 to 2.5% of income (or $695 per adult) in 2016. The 
fee will be paid when you file your taxes. For more information regarding potential fees 
please call 800-300-1506. 
 
If you are eligible for Medi-Cal Expansion, you must apply. Once enrolled into Medi-Cal 
Expansion, you will be disenrolled from our program. However, if you are eligible for 
Covered California but do not enroll in a Covered California health plan, CDPH will 
continue to provide services for you. 
 

California Department of Public Health Notice  

http://tinyurl.com/nzjgq3r
https://www.coveredca.com/shopandcompare/#benefits

