Welcome to the State of California 

Children's Treatment Program

The Children's Treatment Program (CTP) is a Proposition 99 Contract Back Program which is administered by the County Health Services Branch to reimburse Medi-Cal and Denti-Cal enrolled providers for treatment of conditions detected in a Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Program health screening.  The CTP follows all Medi-Cal guidelines.

The CTP’s objective is to ensure that CHDP children are not hindered or prevented from receiving treatment services because of an inability of the family to pay for such treatment.  The CTP differs from the CHDP Program in that the CTP is a payer of follow-up treatment services, while the CHDP is a payer of assessment services.

A variety of providers bill through the CTP, including:  physicians, pharmacists, hospitals, optometrists, clinics, and dentists.

Note: CTP Termination

The CTP will be terminated on June 30, 2009 due to cutbacks to the California Healthcare for Indigents Program/Rural Health Services Program funding.

CTP Patient Requirements

  • The patient must reside in a county that declined their Rural Health Services Program funds.
  • The patient must be 18 years old or younger on the date-of-service.
  • The patient must reside with a family that does not qualify for Medi-Cal with no share-of-cost and had no other means to pay for treatment.

CTP Provider Participation

Providers must be currently enrolled as Medi-Cal or Denti-Cal providers and be in good standing with active status to participate in the CTP.  Active status does not imply that a provider is actively treating Medi-Cal or Denti-Cal patients.  If a provider is not currently enrolled, the provider must enroll in Medi-Cal or Denti-Cal prior to participation in the CTP. 

CTP Eligible Counties

The 34 CTP eligible counties (counties that declined their Rural Health Services Program funds) include: 

Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Modoc, Mono, Napa, Nevada, Plumas, San Benito, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou; Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, and Yuba.

A map of the CTP eligible counties can be found as a link under CTP Program Documents.

CTP Program Documents

CTP Policies and Procedures Manual (PDF) Opens a new browser window.

CTP HIPAA Compliance Letter (PDF) Opens a new browser window.

CTP Notice of Privacy Practices (PDF, English) Opens a new browser window.... Spanish

CTP Map of Eligible Counties (PDF) Opens a new browser window.

Last modified on: 12/30/2010 2:45 PM