Welcome to the State of California 

Medical Marijuana Program Fees

All administrative costs for the Medical Marijuana Program, at both the State and county level are fee supported. 

Senate Bill 420 (Chapter 875, Statutes of 2003) requires the California Department of Health Services (CDHS), now the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), to establish application fees for persons seeking to obtain, renew or replace identification cards.  The state’s portion of the fee is required to be sufficient to cover the expenses incurred by CDPH, including start up and other costs.  Likewise, each county program may add their costs to the total fee to support expenses incurred by the county program. 

The state portion of the Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) application fee is currently set at $66.00 per card for non Medi-Cal patients and $33.00 per card for Medi-Cal patients.  The counties then add their administration fee to the state cost. Both the state and counties have authority to cover their expenses through application fees, therefore, established fees will vary by county.  Please contact your county program to find out what the total cost for a MMIC is in your county.

 
 
Last modified on: 9/5/2013 4:06 PM