State of California—Health and Human Services Agency

California Department of Public Health

DRINKING WATER FIELD OPERATIONS BRANCH
50 D STREET, SUITE 200, SANTA ROSA, CA 95404
PHONE: (707) 576-2145 | FAX: (707) 576-2722

Ron Chapman, MD, MPH INTERNET ADDRESS: www.cdph.ca.gov EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Director & State Health Officer Governor

March 15, 2013
Water System No. 4900946

Victor Trentadue
Trentadue Winery

19170 Geyserville Avenue
Geyserville, CA 95441

RE: CITATION NO. 02-18-13C-011/MAXIMUM CONTAMINANT LEVEL VIOLATION
FOR JANUARY 2013

Enclosed is a Citation issued to the Trentadue Winery (System) water system.

Your System will be billed at the Department’s hourly rate (currently estimated at
$126.00) for the time spent on issuing this citation since this is an enforcement action
for noncompliance with State regulations. At this time, we have spent approximately
one hour on enforcement activities associated with this violation.

You will receive a bill sent from our Fee Billing Unit in Sacramento by August 1, 2013.
This bill will contain fees for any enforcement time spent on your System.

If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact Cindi Lee of my staff at
(707) 576-2422 or me at (707) 576-2006.

Sincerely,

~Janice M. Thomas, P.E.
Sonoma District Engineer
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Citation No. 02-18-13C-011

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Name of Public Water System: Trentadue Winery
Water System No: 4900946

To: Trentadue Winery |
19170 Geyserville Avenue
Geyserville, CA 95441

Issued: March 15, 2013

CITATION FOR NONCOMPLIANCE
With Title 22 of the California Code of Regulations Section 64426.1

Chapter 4, Article 9, Section 116650 of Part 12 of Division 104 of the
California Health and Safety Code (CHSC), authorizes the issuance of a
citation for failure to comply with a requirement of Chapter 4 (California Safe
Drinking Water Act), or any regulation, standard, permit or order issued

thereunder.

Applicable Authorities

Section 116650 of the CHSC states in relevant part:

(a) If the department determines that a public water system is in
violation of this chapter or any regulation, permit, standard, citation,
or order issued or adopted thereunder, the department may issue a

citation to the public water system. The citation shall be served upon




Citation Number 02-18-13C-011

the public water system personally or by certified mail. Service shall

2 be deemed effective as of the date of personal service or the date of
3 receipt of the certified mail. If a person to whom a citation is directed
4 refuses to accept delivery of the certified mail, the date of service
5 shall be deemed to be the date of mailing.
6
7 (b) Each citation shall be in writing and shall describe the nature of
8 the violation or violations, including a reference to the statutory
provision, standard, order, citation, permit, or regulation alleged to
° have been violated.
10
1 (c) A citation may specify a date for elimination or correction of the
12 condition constituting the violation.
13
14 (d) A citation may include the assessment of a penalty as specified in
15 subdivision (e).
16
17 (e) The department may assess a penalty in an amount not to
18 exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) per day for each day that a
10 violation occurred, and for each day that a violation continues to
2 occur. A separate penalty may be assessed for each violation.
21 California Code of Regulations (CCR), Section 64426.1 states in relevant
22 part:
23

24| A public water system is in violation of the total and fecal coliform MCL

25 (maximum contaminant level) when any of the following occurs:
26 (1) For a public water system which collects at least 40 samples per month,
27 more than 5.0 percent of the samples collected during any month are total
@ coliform-positive; or
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Citation Number 02-18-13C-011

(2) For a public water system which collects fewer than 40 samples per
month, more than one sample collected during any month is total coliform-
positive; or

(3) Any repeat sample is fecal coliform-positive or E. coli-positive; or

(4) Any repeat sample following a fecal coliform-positive or E. coli-positive

routine sample is total coliform-positive.

STATEMENT OF FACTS
The Division of Drinking Water and Environmental Management of the
Department of Public Health (Department) has received laboratory results
for thirteen bacteriological samples collected during January 2013 from the
water system of Trentadue Winery. All samples were analyzed for the
presence of coliform bacteria. Two of the thirteen samples tested positive

for total and E. coli coliform bacteria.

DETERMINATIONS
The Department has determined that Trentadue Winery failed to comply

with the maximum contaminant level (MCL) for total and fecal coliform
bacteria during the month of January 2013. That is a violation of Section
64426.1, Title 22, of the California Code of Regulations. The Department
hereby issues a citation to the Trentadue Winery for failure to comply with
Section 64426.1, Title 22, of the California Code of Regulations.

Directives
Trentadue Winery is hereby directed to take the following actions:

1. Comply with Section 64426.1 in all future monitoring periods.
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2. Pursuant to Section 64424(d), Title 22 of the CCR, the Water System
shall collect five (5) routine bacteriological samples by April 19,
2013. The results of these_ samples shall be submitted with the

attached Compliance Certification form.

3. A representative of Trentadue Winery shall complete the attached
Compliance Certification form and return it to the Department by
April 26, 2013.

All documents required by this Citation shall be submitted to the Department

at the following address: Janice M. Thomas, P.E., District Engineer
Department of Public Health
Drinking Water Field Operations Branch
50 D Street, Suite 200
Santa Rosa, CA 95404
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Civil Penalty

Sections 116650(d) and 116650(e) of the California Health and Safety Code
allow for the assessment of a civil penalty for failure to comply with
requirements of Chapter 4. Failure to comply with any provision of this
citation may result in the Department imposing a civil penalty of up to two
hundred dollars ($200.00) per day as of the date of violation of the

provision.

k{m /6(4CJWQ /M:t,ﬁ/; iS,2601(3

ice M. Thomas P.E., : Date
ono a District Englneer
Drinking Water Field Operations Branch

Attachments

Certified Mail No. 702 2210 0002. (7140472

4900946/Section 6
02-18-13C-011-4900946-21/cel
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COMPLIANCE CERTIFICATION

Citation Number 02-18-13C-011
Name of Water System: Trentadue Winery

System Number: 4900946

Certification

As required by Section 116450 of the California Health and Safety Code, I certify that the
users of the water supplied by the Trentadue Winery were notified of the maximum
contaminant level violation(s) of Title 22, California Code of Regulations (CCR) for the
compliance period of January 2013. In addition, I certify that the Trentadue Winery has

complied with the directives of this citation as indicated below:

Date
Required Action Completed
5 Bacteriological Samples Collected & Analyzed
Signature of Water System Representative Date

Attach a copy of the laboratory results from the S water samples.

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND RETURNED TO THE DEPARTMENT
NO LATER THAN APRIL 26, 2013

Disclosure: Be advised that Section 116725 and 116730 of the California Health and Safety Code
states that any person who knowingly makes any false statement on any report or document submitted
for the purpose of compliance with the attached order may be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed
five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each separate violation for each day that violation continues. In
addition, the violators may be prosecuted in criminal court and upon conviction, be punished by a
fine of not more than $25,000 for each day of violation, or be imprisoned in county jail not to exceed
one year, or by both the fine and imprisonment.




