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First Time California Has Changed Tobacco Age Law in 144 Years

On June 9, 2016, tobacco retailers
will be prohibited from selling
tobacco products (including
electronic smoking products and
devices) to people under 21
years of age unless they’re active
duty military personnel.
Additionally, e-cigarette use is
not allowed anywhere smoking

According to the National Survey
on Drug Use and Health, some 90

A 2015 study by the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention

found that the use of e-cigarettes by

high school students tripled from

2013 to 2014. The classification of e-

cigarettes as tobacco products will

also make it harder for youth to get
these types of products and devices.

A 2015 Institute of Medicine study

is prohibited including public
transit, worksites, restaurants,

estimated that increasing the tobacco
purchase age to 21 would result
nationally in 200,000 fewer premature
deaths for those born between 2000

and 2019.

Tobacco
21 Law

percent of tobacco users start before
hool dol i 21, and about 80 percent first try
SERO0’S, and playgrounds. tobacco before they're 18.

New Tobacco Laws Take Effect June 9'"

* SB X2 5 (Leno) classifies e-cigarettes as tobacco products, making them subject to smoke-free laws,
age restrictions and other rules governing tobacco products. California’s smoke-free workplace
law, which is enforced locally, will now prohibit the use of e-cigarettes everywhere tobacco
smoking is prohibited.

e AB X2 7 (Stone) removes certain exemptions from the smoke-free workplace laws, including
enclosed workplaces, hotel lobbies, meeting rooms, banquet rooms, warehouses, and employee
breakrooms; and decreases the number of hotel/motel guestrooms where smoking is allowed from
65 percent to 20 percent. And, the removal of these certain exemptions will also apply to e-
cigarettes as well.
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The California Department of
Public Health (CDPH) is
developing educational
resources for retailers to learn
more about the Tobacco 21 law
and to help retailers comply.
Please visit CDPH’s Web site for
further details, resources and
information to make sure you're
prepared.

cdph.ca.gov/programs/tobacc
o/Pages/Tobacco21.aspx

The Sale of
Tobacco Products
or Electronic

Smoking Devices
to Persons Under
21 is Prohibited

cts Covered by the

New Tobacco Laws

* SB X2 7 (Hernandez) prohibits the sale, furnishing or giving of tobacco products, including e- 4 E-cigarettes o Cigarettes
cigarettes, to persons under 21. When checking IDs of tobacco product purchasers, retailers will ¢ E-hookah e Cigars
now need to ensure that the buyer is 21 or over. e Vape Pens e Cigarillos

e AB X2 9 (Thurmond & Nazarian) requires all public schools to be tobacco free, including charter Vaping Devices e Little Cigars
schools; and provides that tobacco-free school campus policy includes e-cigarettes. Previously, o Mods e Chewing Tobacco
only schools that received tobacco use prevention funding were required to be tobacco free. o E-liquids e Snus

e AB X2 11 (Nazarian) raises tobacco licensing fees applicable to retailers, distributors and o Hookah e Pipe Tobacco

wholesalers, under the state Board of Equalization from a one-time fee to an increased annual fee.
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Tobacco Control Program

Within the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) is the California Tobacco Control
Program (CTCP) — with a mission to improve the health of all Californians by reducing illness and
premature death attributable to the use of tobacco products. Through leadership, experience and
research, CTCP empowers statewide and local health agencies to promote health and quality of life by
advocating for social norms that create a tobacco-free environment.

CTCP funds and coordinates the efforts of local communities in California to create smoke-free
environments, prevent illegal sales of tobacco products to youth, counter marketing practices of the
tobacco industry, and help smokers to quit using tobacco products.
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The Sale of Tobacco Products to Persons Under 21 Years
of Age Is Prohibited by Law and Subject to Penalties

To Report an Unlawful Tobacco Sale Call
1-800-5 ASK-4-ID

1.5, Armed Forces aclive duty personnel with military ID must be at least 18 years of age

Valid Identification May Be Required
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This is a periodic update for the Legislature on CDPH issues. For more information please email the Department at Legislation@cdph.ca.gov or call (916) 440-7502.
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