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To:  Mammography Facility Designated Contact 
 
Subject: Requirements for the Use of X-ray in Mammography 
 
 
This advisory addresses the recently increased findings of non-compliance regarding 
operation of mammography equipment without proper authorization.  State and Federal 
regulations require that a facility maintain facility certification from the Food and Drug 
Administration and accreditation from an approved accrediting body for each 
mammography machine used for screening or diagnostic imaging.  These requirements 
do not relieve your obligation under state law (Health and Saf. Code, §115115) to 
maintain and post a current and valid Mammography X-Ray Equipment and Facility 
Accreditation Certificate issued by the Radiologic Health Branch for all mammography 
equipment  
 
The California Code of Regulations, title 17, section 30110, requires registration of all 
reportable sources of radiation.  Registration and certification of radiation machines is 
the obligation of the user. 
 
Please note that information provided by facilities to various accrediting or governing 
bodies is not shared between the accrediting or governing bodies.  It is incumbent upon 
the facility to submit all required information to the appropriate organization.   To ensure 
that the residents of California have access to quality mammography services, you must 
comply with all state and federal laws and regulations.   
 
Mammography personnel shall meet all state and federal requirements to include a 
current and valid: California medical license and supervisor and operator certificate 
issued by the Radiologic Health Branch pursuant to Health and Safety Code, section 
114870 for licentiates; state mammography certificate issued by the Radiologic Health 
Branch pursuant to Health and Safety Code, section 114870 for technologists; and state 
approval issued pursuant to California Code of Regulations, title 17, section 30315.52 
for medical physicists.  Federal requirements can be found in the Code of Federal 
Regulations, title 21, section 900.12.  Additionally, all personnel shall comply with 
continuing education and experience requirements. 
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In accordance with Health and Safety Code, section 115215, any person who violates 
any provision of state law relating to mammography or regulations adopted pursuant to 
those provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall, upon conviction thereof, be 
punished by a fine not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000), per day of offense, or 
by imprisonment in the county jail not to exceed 180 days, or both the fine and 
imprisonment. 
 
You may obtain applications, forms, and guides on the Radiologic Health Branch’s 
website at www.dhs.ca.gov/rhb.  Thank you for your cooperation.  If you have any 
questions, please contact this office via one of the choices listed below. 
 
 
 
Gary W. Butner, Acting Chief 
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