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INFORMATION NOTICE 
 
 

SUBJECT: CHANGES TO THE REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION 
CREDITS  

 
On October 11, 2013, amendments and changes to the Radiologic Technology Act 
regulations specified in Title 17, California Code of Regulations (17 CCR) became 
effective.  Those changes are based upon the Radiologic Technology Certification 
Committee’s (RTCC) recommendations.  These new Continuing Education (CE) 
credit requirements will be enforced for renewal of certificates and permits 
expiring on or after July 1, 2016.  
 
A summary of the changes to the CE credit requirements are as follows:   
 

 Limited Permit X-ray Technicians (XTs) with digital authorization and all Certified 
Radiologic Technologists (CRTs) need to earn a minimum of 24 approved CE 
credits, four (4) of which are in digital radiography, in the two years prior to the 
expiration of their certificate/permit.  
 

 CRTs with a mammography certificate need 24 approved CE credits, with 10 CE 
credits that are specific to mammography.  
 

 CRTs with a fluoroscopy permit need 24 approved CE credits, with 4 CE credits 
that apply to radiation safety for the clinical uses of fluoroscopy. 
 

 Any of the mammography or fluoroscopy CE credits that you have obtained that 
are related to digital radiography may be used to satisfy the 4 digital radiography 
CE requirements. 
 

 Certified Supervisors and Operators (California licensed physicians and 
surgeons, podiatrists, or chiropractors) need to earn 10 approved CE credits in 
the 2 years prior to the expiration of their certificate/permit.  If a Licentiate holds a 
fluoroscopy supervisor and operator permit, 4 of the 10 CE credits shall be in 
radiation safety for the clinical uses of fluoroscopy. 

 
Proof of completed CE credits must be retained for 4 years and must be made available 
to the Department upon request. 

Radiologic Health Branch, MS 7610   P.O. Box 997414    Sacramento, CA 95899-7414 
(916) 327-5106  ●   (916) 440-7999 FAX 
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If you have questions related to the changes in the CE credit requirements you may call 
the following phone number to record a message and leave your question/s.  Please 
clearly state your name, the best phone number for you to be reached and your 
question/s.  Message Phone Line: (916) 440-7934 
 
Attachment:  Table of 17 CCR Changes 
 
 
 
 
 



 

  

 
NEW OLD  

§ 30400(a)(4).  Definitions. § 30400.5.  Approved Continuing Education Credit. 
"Approved continuing education credit" -  
 50 to 60 minutes of instruction related to the 

application of X-ray to the human body; and 
 Accepted by:  

o American Registry of Radiologic Technologists;  
o Medical Board of California;  
o Osteopathic Medical Board of California;  
o California Board of Chiropractic Examiners;  
o Board of Podiatric Medicine; or  
o Board of Dental Examiners 

 

"Approved continuing education credit" -  
 One hour of instruction related to the application of X-

ray to the human body; and 
 Accepted by:  

o American Registry of Radiologic Technologists;  
o Medical Board of California;  
o Osteopathic Medical Board of California;  
o California Board of Chiropractic Examiners;  
o Board of Podiatric Medicine; or  
o Board of Dental Examiners. 

§ 30403.  Requirements for Continuing Education  § 30403.  Requirements for Continuing Education and 
Performance of Mammographic Examinations. 

Every 2 years:  
 Earn 24 approved continuing education (CE) credits, 

4 of them in digital radiography.   
 
Note:  Any credits in digital radiography may be applied 
to the mammography or fluoroscopy CE credit 
requirement, if applicable. 

Every 2 years: 
 Earn 24 approved continuing education (CE) credits. 
 

CRT with a mammography certificate shall every 2 
years: 
 10 of the 24 CE credits must be in mammography 
 
Note:  200 exam performances are no longer required. 
 

CRT with a mammography certificate shall every 2 years: 
 10 of the 24 CE credits must be in mammography. 

 
 

 Perform at least 200 mammography examinations. 

CRT with a fluoroscopy permit: 
 4 of the 24 CE credits in must be on radiation safety 

for the clinical uses of fluoroscopy. 

Not applicable (NA) 

CRT with a mammography certificate and a fluoroscopy 
permit: 
 10 of the 24 CE credits must be in mammography 

and 
 4 of the 24 CE credits must be on radiation safety 

for the clinical uses of fluoroscopy. 
Note:  Any of the mammography or fluoroscopy CE 
credits obtained that are related to digital radiography 
may be used to satisfy the 4 digital radiography CE 
requirements. 

NA 

XT with digital authorization: 
 4 of the 24 CE credits in digital radiography. 

NA 

XT without digital authorization: 
 No Change 

NA 

Radiology S&O Certificate or Radiography S&O 
Permit: 
 No Change  

Radiology Supervisor and Operator (S&O) Certificate, 
Radiography S&O and/or Fluoroscopy S&O Permit: 
Every 2 years:  
 Earn 10 approved CE credits. 

Fluoroscopy S&O permit 
Every 2 years:  
 Earn 10 approved CE credits with 4 of the 10 CE 

credits in radiation safety for the clinical uses of 
fluoroscopy. 

Fluoroscopy S&O permit 
 
NA 

§ 30403.8.  Recordkeeping Requirement. § 30403.8.  Recordkeeping Requirement. 
 Maintain CE credits documents for four years  
 
 Make available to the Department upon request. 

 Maintain the CE credit document(s) and/or completing 
mammographic examinations for five years. 

 Make available to the Department upon request. 

 


