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This notice is to inform you that the California Department of Public Health has revised
AFL 11-13 and has replaced it with AFL 11-19, which is attached.

The AFL 11-19 has been updated to clarify the reporting requirements and guidelines
for meeting the mandatory 3.2 Nursing Hours per Patient Day standards in Skilled
Nursing Facilities.

The following significant changes were made between AFL 11-13 and 11-19:

1. The form CDPH 530 (01/11) and its directions have been changed. The form
number is now indicated at the bottom of the form as CDPH 530 Rev (01/11).

2. The form CDPH 612 (01/11) and its directions have been changed. The form
number is now indicated at the bottom of the form as CDPH 612 Rev2 (01/11).

3. Section A in the Overview has a change in the paragraph that begins “The facility
shall provide the auditor with the patient census....”

4. Section B in the Overview has a change in the paragraph that begins “For
facilities wishing to electronically submit the ...”

5. The definition of Average Census in Section 1 of the Guidelines has been
changed.

6. Subsection (b) of Section 5 of the Guidelines has been changed

7. Subsection (a) of Section 6 of the Guidelines has been changed.

8. Subsection (e) of Section 6 of the Guidelines has been changed.

Please review the AFL and contact LNCStaffingAudit@cdph.ca.gov if you have further
guestions.

Licensing and Certification Program, MS 0512, P. O. Box 997377, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377
(Internet Address: www.cdph.ca.gov)
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TO: Skilled Nursing Facilities

SUBJECT: Guidelines for 3.2 Nursing Hours per Patient Day (NHPPD) Staffing Audits
Pursuant to the Authority Provided in Welfare and Institutions Code (W&I)
Section 14126.022

In accordance with Health and Safety Code (HSC) Section 1276.5 and Welfare and
Institutions Code (W&I) Section 14126.022, this notice is to provide guidelines for facility
requirements during state audits for compliance with the 3.2 nursing hour per patient day
(NHPPD) staffing requirements. These guidelines are limited to the implementation of
Welfare & Institutions Code Section 14126.022 and the Skilled Nursing Facility Quality and
Accountability Supplemental Payment System set forth therein. These guidelines will be in
addition to any other statutes and regulations applicable to a Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF).

l. OVERVIEW

For the past five years, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) has conducted
audits of random samples of open, active, freestanding skilled nursing facilities (SNFs) for
compliance with the 3.2 NHPPD staffing requirement. Beginning 14 calendar days after the
date of this letter, CDPH will conduct “unannounced” on-site staffing audits of all facilities to
verify compliance with the staffing requirement.

The minimum 3.2 NHPPD does not assure that any given patient receives 3.2 hours of
nursing care; it is the total number of nursing hours performed by direct caregivers per
patient day divided by the average patient census.

W&I Section 14126.022 requires the Department to assess a SNF an administrative
penalty if the Department determines that the SNF fails to meet the NHPPD requirements
pursuant to HSC Section 1276.5 as follows:
¢ Fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) if the facility fails to meet the requirements for five
percent or more of the audited days up to 49 percent.
e Thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) if the facility fails to meet the requirements for
more than 49 percent of the audited days.
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Once an administrative penalty is issued, it may be appealed. The appeal process will be
discussed in a future All Facilities Letter.

A. The Audit Process

Upon entrance, the facility shall provide the audit or survey team a lockable room,
power supply, chair, and a table sufficient to hold a laptop computer and audit
documents. This room must be sufficiently private to allow for review of confidential
information. The CDPH auditor will then conduct an entrance conference with the
facility’s administrator or designee.

The facility will be provided a list of selected dates taken from a 90-day period
preceding the audit. The facility shall provide the auditor with requested
documentation to determine compliance with staffing requirements for those
specified days. The documentation requested will include payroll and personnel
records, nursing payroll codes, assignment sheets, duty statements, job
descriptions, registry invoices, and/or census and NHPPD forms.

Facilities that use electronic payroll systems must provide the auditor a paper copy of the
payroll records. Auditors may use other documents, as stated in Section 6 (b)
“Documentation,” to verify the accuracy of the payroll records. These other documents that
are relied upon may be provided to the auditor electronically.

Documents or records that are incomplete, illegible, or inaccurate shall not be accepted.
Modifications made contemporaneously to the audit shall not be accepted. To consider
employees not captured in payroll records and those who are hired to perform duties other
than nursing services, documentation must delineate the time spent on nursing services.
The facility shall either create an assignment sheet or use the attached “Nursing Staffing
Assignment and Sign-In Sheet” (CDPH 530 and instructions) to record daily staffing
assignments for these employees. For example, this may apply but not be limited to, the
nursing hours provided by such employees as a Director of Nursing in a facility with 60 or
more beds and a Director of Staff Development when providing nursing services beyond
the hours required to carry out the duties of these positions, or to nursing hours provided by
any cross-trained direct caregivers who are otherwise regularly assigned to departments
such as medical records, housekeeping, dietary or laundry. Failure to provide this
information will result in the exclusion of all service hours for such employees.

Only direct caregivers shall be counted toward NHPPD.

The facility shall provide the auditor with the patient census at either (a) the
beginning of each shift if a facility has three (3) shifts within a 24-hour period or (b)
the beginning of the 24-hour patient day and again both at 8 hours and 16 hours
after the start of the 24-hour patient day, for all days requested. The facility shall
provide the exact time it begins its patient day.
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Auditors will be equipped with a laptop computer that includes the NHPPD database and a
portable printer. Data collected from the documentation will be entered into the NHPPD
database. The database will compute the daily NHPPD. Once all data is entered, a report
will be generated.

The automated calculation of 3.2 NHPPD shall be based on:
(1) Patient day — the 24-hour period of time used to determine HSC Section 1276.5
compliance;
(2) Average Census;
(3) Number of hours worked by direct caregivers.
Specifically, the standard of 3.2 NHPPD is calculated as follows:
Total number of actual nursing hours performed by direct caregivers per
patient day +
The average census during the patient day

The auditor will conduct an exit conference with the facility administrator or designee to
report the findings and conclude the audit process. This conference will be recorded.

B. Requlatory Enforcement

Upon a finding of non-compliance during an on-site audit, a Statement of Deficiency will be
issued for non-compliant days reviewed. A single deficiency will be issued for staffing non-
compliance regardless of the number of non-compliant days.

Facilities with non-compliant days will be responsible for submitting a Plan of Correction to
the Research and Data Management Section at the following address:

Research and Data Management Section
California Department of Public Health
1615 Capitol Avenue

P.O. Box 997377, MS 3203

Sacramento, CA 95899-7377

For facilities wishing to electronically submit the Plan of Correction, please send a signed
copy of the Plan of Correction in PDF format to the following CDPH L&C Staffing Audits
email account: LNCStaffingAudits@cdph.ca.gov. The original signed Plan of Correction
must be maintained at the facility for a minimum of 3 years.

The facility will receive a finding of non-compliance with the 3.2 NHPPD requirement for
each day audited that documentation is not provided.
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A notice of intent to issue an administrative penalty will be issued if the facility is in violation
of HSC Section 1276.5. W&I Section 14126.022 require the Department to assess a SNF
an administrative penalty if the Department determines that the SNF fails to meet the
NHPPD requirements pursuant to HSC Section 1276.5 as follows:
¢ Fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) if the facility fails to meet the requirements for five
percent or more of the audited days up to 49 percent.
e Thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) if the facility fails to meet the requirements for
more than 49 percent of the audited days.

Once an administrative penalty is issued, it may be appealed. The appeal process will be
discussed in a future All Facilities Letter.

Il. GUIDELINES

Section 1: Definitions

(&) Absent Patient means a patient that is not in the facility or receiving services from
the facility.

(b) Average Census means the average of the census during a patient day. Average
census is determined by adding the census for either (a) the beginning of each
shift if a facility has 3 shifts within a 24-hour period or (b) the beginning of the 24-
hour patient day and again both at 8 hours and 16 hours after the start of the 24-
hour patient day, and dividing the total by 3. “Census period” means the period of
time covered by the method chosen to figure the average census.

Method (a):
Census Census at Census at Average
at Start of Start of Start of Censugs
Shift 1 Shift 2 Shift 3
Method (b):
Census Census 8 Census 16
at Start of Hours after Hours after
Start of 24 Start of 24 _| Average
24 Hour =
. Hour Hour Census
Patient . .
Da Patient Patient
y Day Day
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(c)

(d)

(e)

(f)

(9)

(h)
(i)

()

(k)

()

Bed Hold means a bed that is held for a patient that has been transferred to a
General Acute Care Hospital or Acute Psychiatric Hospital for purposes of
hospitalization or therapeutic leave.

Department means the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) or its
designee.

Direct Caregiver means a registered nurse, as referred to in Section 2732 of the
Business and Professions Code; a licensed vocational nurse, as referred to in
Section 2864 of the Business and Professions Code; a psychiatric technician, as
referred to in Section 4516 of the Business and Professions Code; and a certified
nurse assistant, or a nursing assistant participating in an approved training
program, as defined in HSC Section 1337, while performing nursing services as
described in CCR Title 22, Section 72309, Section 72311, and Section 72315. A
licensed nurse serving as a Minimum Data Set Coordinator is a direct caregiver
and the hours worked in producing resident assessments must be included in the
nursing hours computation. A person serving as the director of nursing services in
a facility with 60 or more licensed beds or a director of staff development can be a
direct caregiver when providing nursing services beyond the hours required to
carry out the duties of these positions, as long as these additional nursing hours
are separately documented.

Director of Nursing Services means the description provided in CCR Title 22,
Section 72327.

Documentation means a record, letter, or document that is accurate, legible, and
complete. A confidential patient medical record is not considered “documentation”
for the purposes of establishing nursing hours of a direct caregiver.

Electronic Record means documentation in an electronic format.

Employee or Staff means employee, registry staff as defined in CCR Title 22,
Section 72309, temporary staff, contract employee, terminated or “inactive”
employee, or any person meeting the definition of a direct caregiver.

Intermediate Care means inpatient care given to patients who have need for
skilled nursing supervision and need supportive care, but who do not require
continuous skilled nursing care.

Intermediate Care Facility (ICF) means a facility described in HSC Section
1250(d).

Intermediate Care Patient means a patient receiving intermediate care and
occupying a licensed intermediate care bed used exclusively for patients receiving
intermediate care.
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(m) Licensed Nurse means a registered nurse or a licensed vocational nurse.

(n)

(0)

(%)

(@)

(s)
(t)

(u)

NHPPD means the actual nursing hours performed by direct caregivers per patient
day.

NHPPD Calculation is the calculation of the NHPPD by dividing the actual nursing
hours performed by direct caregivers per patient day by the Average Census.

3.2 NHPPD Staffing Requirement means the minimum number of actual nursing
hours performed by direct caregivers per patient day.

Nursing Hours shall have the same meaning as in HSC Section 1276.5 (b)(1).

Nursing Services means services defined in CCR Title 22, Section 72309,
Section 72311 and Section 72315.

Patient means the description provided in CCR Title 22, Section 72077.

Patient Day means a 24-hour period which is used to determine compliance with
HSC Section 1276.5. The patient day can be no less and no longer than a 24-hour
period.

Skilled Nursing Facility means the description provided in HSC 1250 (c).

Section 2: NHPPD Computation

(@)

(b)

()

The NHPPD calculation shall be determined by dividing the total number of actual
nursing hours performed by direct caregivers per patient day by the Average
Census.

Facilities shall anticipate individual patient needs for the activities of each shift and
direct caregivers shall be staffed throughout the day to achieve a minimum of 3.2
NHPPD. Yet, skilled nursing facilities shall employ and schedule additional staff as
needed to ensure patients receive nursing care based on their needs.

Any NHPPD that falls below 3.2 is out of compliance with the minimum standard.

Section 3: Direct Careqgiver

Direct caregivers are defined in Section 1(e) of these guidelines and not determined by a
facility’s position title.

(@)

Only nursing hours performed by direct caregivers shall be included in the NHPPD
calculation.
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(b)

Employees are not direct caregivers if the facility fails to provide documentation
that the employee is:

1. Alicensed nurse, psychiatric technician, a certified nurse assistant, or a
nursing assistant participating in an approved training program as defined in
HSC Section 1337.

2. Performing nursing services.

(c) An employee is not acting as a direct caregiver if the employee is performing an

activity referenced in Section 4 (c) of this AFL.

Section 4: Nursing Services

(@)

(b)

(€)

Only services listed in CCR Title 22, Section 72309, Section 72311 and Section
72315 are nursing services.

Other than time spent on normal rest periods, or in the in-service training at the
facility required by CCR Title 22, Section 71847, only time spent providing nursing
services shall be included in calculating the NHPPD.

Activities that are not nursing services include:

1. Paid or unpaid time spent on meal periods, except that paid meal periods
where the facility provides documentation that nursing services were
continuously performed in lieu of a meal break shall be counted.

2. Nursing services provided by the same employee in the same shift to both
skilled nursing patients and intermediate care patients, unless the facility
provides documentation of the actual time spent performing nursing services
to skilled nursing patients.

3. Staff time spent in non-nursing services functions such as restocking,
scheduling, food preparation, housekeeping, laundry, maintenance,
administrative and financial recordkeeping, and administrative maintenance of
health records.

4. Nursing services that are provided in the same shift as non-nursing services
by employees who are primarily engaged in non-nursing services unless the
facility provides documentation of the actual time spent on nursing services.

5. Private duty nursing services performed by staff paid for or supplied by a
patient, patient’s family, guardian, conservator or other representative.

6. Staff vacation, holiday or sick leave time.
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8.

Training, except for on-site in-service training. No more than two hours a
month of in-service training offered at the facility where the staff are employed
shall be counted.

Work performed by non-direct caregivers.

Section 5: Census

(@) The census does not include Intermediate Care Patients.

(b) The facility shall either create a census and NHPPD form or use the attached
“Census and Nursing Hours per Patient Day” (CDPH 612 and instructions) to
report daily NHPPD. This form must be signed by the Director of Nursing (or
designee) verifying the information is true and accurate. The census and NHPPD
form must be typed or printed legibly. Failure to provide a complete, signed and
legible form will result in a finding of non-compliance with the 3.2 minimum NHPPD
requirement for each day the form is not provided. Do not include patient names
on the “Census and Nursing Hours per Patient Day” forms.

If the facility chooses to create a form, it must be substantially similar to the
attached CDPH 612 and instructions. The form must include:

NoakwnNpE

10.
11.
12.

Facility name, address, and license number
Patient day date and the patient day start time
Total licensed SNF beds
Name of Administrator and the Director of Nursing or designee
Patient census at start of patient day
Scheduled nursing hours and the scheduled NHPPD
For the designated census periods:
Beginning Census
Admissions
Transfers in
Other intakes that occurred
Discharges
Transfers out
Deaths, and
h. Other decreases that occurred
Total actual/final nursing hours at the end of each census period
Average census
The Actual/Final total nursing hours
Actual/Final NHPPD
An attestation statement signed by the Director of Nursing or designee
verifying they have reviewed the patient census and nursing hours
information and acknowledge the information is true and correct.

@roooop
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Section 6: Documentation

Facilities will be expected to meet the following documentation requirements no later than
14 days from the date of this All Facilities Letter.

(&) The facility shall either create an assignment sheet or use the attached “Nursing
Staffing Assignment and Sign-In Sheet” (CDPH 530 and instructions) to record
daily staffing assignments to document nursing hours worked by employees not
captured in payroll records or employees who are primarily engaged in duties other
than nursing services, including employees who perform nursing services beyond
the hours required to carry out their job duties. The “assignment sheet” must be
typed or printed legibly and be substantially similar to the attached CDPH 530 and
instructions. The Director of Nursing (or designee) must sign the form verifying the
information is complete, true, and accurate. Failure to provide a complete, signed
and legible form will result in a finding of non-compliance with the 3.2 minimum
NHPPD requirement for each day the form is not provided.

The “assignment sheet” must include the facility’s name and each of the following:

1

2.
3.
4.

o o

Patient day date

Location (such as wing, unit, etc.)

Director of Nursing or designee, shift, and shift start time

Nursing services assignment by specifying each room and each bed that the
direct caregiver is assigned during nursing hours worked

Printed full employee name

Employee Discipline (such as CNA, RN, LVN, LPT), start and end time of the
shift and start and end of the meal break

Employee’s original signature. Initials will not be accepted and the employee
must sign for themselves. The employee’s signature verifies that the
information provided on the form is true and accurate.

Do not include patient names on the “assignment sheet”.

(b)

If a direct caregiver worked during the patient day but was not included on the
facility’s payroll record or time card (such as salaried staff), the facility must
document the salaried employee’s detail of items 4 through 7 above and the total
hours worked. The times the direct caregiver began and ended the shift as well as
began and ended his/her meal break must be documented. The facility shall
document on the “assignment sheet,” as indicated in guidelines 4 through 7 above,
the registry, contract, or corporate staff who were direct caregivers.

Each facility shall maintain current, complete, and accurate personnel and payroll
records for all employees in accordance with Title 22, Section 72533. The facility
shall provide the following documentation upon request:

1.
2.

3.

Census and NHPPD (CDPH 612 or facility alternative form)

Nursing Staffing Assignment and Sign-In Sheet (CDPH 530 or facility
alternative form)

Timecards
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(©)

(d)

Payroll records and reports
Nursing payroll codes
Approved/signed registry invoices including registry staff detalil
Patient census records (including the number of patient admissions,
discharges, deaths, transfers, bedholds, and absent patients)
Staff Roster
A list of all direct caregivers who are not listed in the facility’s payroll reports
or timecards
10. Health Facility License and all “Program Flex” or waiver documentation
approving admissions beyond a facility’s licensed bed capacity
11. If applicable, records submitted to CMS, Medi-Cal, or insurance companies
detailing the level of care provided to a resident for purposes of
reimbursement
12. Personnel records for all facility staff. Personnel records for purposes of
staffing compliance shall include:
(A) Full name and home address
(B) Professional license or registration number, if applicable, and the date
of expiration
(C) Occupation and Employment classification
(D) Information as to past employment and qualifications
(E) Date of beginning employment
(F) Date of employment termination
(G) Documented evidence of facility orientation
(H) Job duty statement
() Performance evaluations
(J) Birth date, if under 18 years old, and designation as a minor
(K) Records of hours and dates worked including when the employee or
staff begins and ends each work period, meal periods, split shift
intervals, and total daily hours worked
(L) For nursing assistants, proof of enroliment in an approved certification
training program and proof of a criminal background clearance
(M) For registry, temporary, or contract employees, the name of the
temporary health services personnel agency.

No ok

© ®

Documentation listed in subsections (a) and (b) shall be retained for at least three
years following employment termination. No less than 90 days of documentation
shall be maintained and available at the facility for Department review. Upon
request, the facility shall provide a copy of these records. Facilities that use
electronic payroll systems must provide the auditor with the requested
documentation either electronically from those systems or on paper. If the facility
does not have the capability to produce electronic records, then paper
documentation will be accepted.

The facility will receive a finding of non-compliance with the 3.2 NHPPD
requirement for each day audited that documentation is not provided.



AFL 11-19

Page 11
January

(e)

(f)
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Meal periods will be deducted from the total nursing hours for the timeframes
identified on the “assignment sheet”. Meal periods not identified on the
“assignment sheet” or not clocked in and out on the payroll records will
automatically be deducted from the total nursing hours at the rate of 30 minutes for
every 6 hours worked or 1 hour for every 10 hours worked. For 10 or more hours of
continuous time worked, where only 30 minutes of meal time was taken and 30
minutes of meal time was paid, the facility must provide documentation the
employee opted to be paid in lieu of the second 30 minute meal break.

The requirements detailed in Sections 5 and 6 do not supersede federal
regulations detailed in Title 42, Chapter 5, Part 483.30(e). Requirements in
Sections 5 and 6 may be combined with the federal requirements as long as both
requirements are met.

If you have questions regarding this AFL, please send an e-mail to:
LNCStaffingAudit@cdph.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Original Signed by Pamela Dickfoss

Pamela

Dickfoss

Acting Deputy Director
Center for Health Care Quality

Attachments
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NURSING STAFFING ASSIGNMENT AND SIGN-IN SHEET

1. FACILITY NAME 2. DATE OF PATIENT DAY (MM/DDI/YY)

3. DIRECTOR OF NURSING/DESIGNEE

4. SHIFT 1 2 3 5. SHIFT START TIME (HH:MM AM/PM)

6. STATION/WING/UNIT/FLOOR

7.
SHIFT MEAL
NURASS”S\II((BSSI\EIE\I\/ll'I(':ES EMPLOYEE NAME DISCIPLINE | START/ BREAK EMPLOYEE SIGNATURE
END START/END
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
X
8. | have reviewed and verified all staffing assignments are true and accurate. Employees not captured in payroll records or employees
who are primarily engaged in duties other than nursing services that provided nursing services during the patient day are recorded
and their nursing hours to be included in Nursing Hours Per Patient Day are accounted for with an original signature.
X
DIRECTOR OF NURSING/DESIGNEE SIGNATURE

CDPH 530 Rev (01/11)



NURSING STAFFING ASSIGNMENT AND SIGN-IN SHEET
INSTRUCTIONS

Direct caregivers not captured in payroll records must capture their nursing hours on this form. This
includes nursing management, supervisors, registry, contract, and corporate staff.

For example, this may apply but not be limited to, the nursing hours provided by such employees as a
Director of Nursing in a facility with 60 or more beds and a Director of Staff Development when
providing nursing services beyond the hours required to carry out the duties of these positions.

Hours of nursing services provided by cross-trained staff who are otherwise regularly assigned to
departments such as medical records, housekeeping, dietary or laundry, must be captured on this
form. Documentation must delineate the time spent on nursing services. Failure to provide this
information will result in the exclusion of all service hours for such employees.

The Nursing Staffing Assignment and Sign-In Sheet must be legible. All employee names must be
include both first and last name.

Corrections and modifications must be completed on the Nursing Staffing Assignment and Sign-In
Sheet to document employee absences, substitutions, and/or schedule changes. Legible pen/ink
changes are acceptable.

Each direct caregiver included on the Nursing Staffing Assignment and Sign-In Sheet must provide
an original, written signature next to their printed name. This signature verifies the employee was
present in the facility, provided nursing services, and actually worked the hours stated. Initials are not
acceptable.

Only the employee that worked the nursing assignment may sign for him/herself.

The form must be signed by the Director of Nursing or his/her designee verifying the information on
the Nursing Staffing Assignment and Sign-In Sheet is complete, true and accurate.

Enter the facility name.

Enter the date of the patient day in MM/DD/YY format.

Enter the name of the person who has Director of Nursing responsibility for the day.

Circle the appropriate shift: one, two or three.

Enter the shift start time in HH:MM AM/PM format.

If applicable, enter the name of the specific location in the facility for the patient assignments.
Record only direct caregivers not otherwise captured in payroll records. Enter the specific
patient assignment and the employee’s name responsible for the patient assignment. Enter the
employee’s discipline (RN, LVN, CNA, NA, Psych Tech). Enter the employee’s exact shift start
and end time. Enter the start and end time of the employee’s meal breaks. The employee must
sign the form.

8. At the conclusion of each patient day, the Director of Nursing or his/her designee shall sign the
form verifying the nursing assignments are true and accurate and that all assignments are
accounted for with an employee signature, or state a reason why the assignment was vacant.

Nooos~wDdDPE

CDPH 530 Rev (01/11)
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Census and Nursing Hours Per Patient Day (NHPPD)

1. PATIENT DATE (MM/DD/YY)

2. PATIENT DATE START TIME

(HH:MM AM/PM)

3. TOTAL LICENSED SKILLED NURSING BEDS 4. CDPH LICENSE #

5. FACILITY NAME

6. FACILITY ADDRESS

7. ADMINISTRATOR

8. DIRECTOR OF NURSING/DESIGNEE

9. ESTIMATED NURSING HOURS and NHPPD

PECIIG SCHEULED
CENSUS: NURSING HOURS: )

10. DAILY CENSUS CHANGES
Add or subtract from the beginning census each event during the designated census period

Method (a): SHIFT 1 or
Method (b): Beginning
of patient day

Method (a): SHIFT 2 or
Method (b): 8 hours
after beginning of
patient day

Method (a): SHIFT 3 or
Method (b): 16 hours
after beginning of patient
day

BEGINNING CENSUS

ADMISSIONS

DISCHARGES

TRANSFERS

DEATHS

OTHER

TOTAL NURSING
HOURS AT END OF
CENSUS PERIOD

11. ACTUAL NURSING HOURS and NHPPD
This section must be completed at the end of each 24-hour patient day.

AVERAGE
PATIENT
CENSUS:

ACTUAL/FINAL
TOTAL
NURSING HOURS:

ACTUAL/
FINAL
NHPPD:

12. | have reviewed the patient census and nursing hours information and acknowledge the information is

true and correct.

X

Director of Nursing/Designee Signature

CDPH 612 Rev2 (01/11)




State of California-Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health

Census and Nursing Hours Per Patient Day (NHPPD)

INSTRUCTIONS

e The information on this form must be legible, accurate and complete.

e All patients receiving nursing services and who are present in the facility during the patient day
will be counted in the patient census.

e Only direct caregivers with a nursing services assignment shall be included in the NHPPD.

e To verify this form is complete, true and accurate, the Director of Nursing or his/her designee
must sign this form.

e Do not include patient names.

e For a definition of NHPPD, census, direct caregiver, nursing hours, or nursing services, please
see All Facilities Letter 11-19.

1. Enter the date of the patient day in MM/DD/YY format.

2. Enter the start time of the patient day in HH:MM AM/PM format. Patient day must be prospective; do not state that
the patient day began on “11pm the previous day”.

3. Enter the total number of licensed skilled nursing beds for the facility.

4. Enter the CDPH license number for the facility.

5. Enter the facility name.

6. Enter the facility address.

7. Enter the name of the facility administrator.

8. Enter the name of the person who has Director of Nursing responsibility for the day.

9. Enter the census of the beginning of the patient day. Enter the total number of scheduled nursing hours for the patient
day. Divide the total number of scheduled nursing hours by the beginning census. Enter this number as the
scheduled NHPPD.

10. If using method (a), at the beginning of SHIFT 1, SHIFT 2, and SHIFT 3, enter the beginning census. If using method
(b), at the beginning of the 24 hour patient day and at 8 and 16 hours after the beginning of the patient day, enter the
beginning census. For both methods, throughout each shift, record admissions, discharges, transfers, deaths or other
changes in census. Enter the direct caregivers’ total nursing hours for each shift. In the last row, enter the direct
caregivers’ total nursing hours at the end of each census period.

11. At the conclusion of the patient day, record the average census experienced during the patient day by adding the three
censuses and dividing by three. Enter the actual total nursing hours provided during the entire patient day. Divide the
actual total nursing hours by the census. Record the final/actual NHPPD.

12. At the conclusion of each patient day, the Director of Nursing or his/her designee shall review the information
documented and sign the form verifying that the information is complete, true, and correct.
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State of California-Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health

Notice of Intent to Issue an Administrative Penalty
And Notice to Correct a Violation

The Director of the California Department of Public Health, through the Deputy
Director of the Center for Health Care Quality, Licensing and Certification
Program, has reasonable cause to determine that an alleged violation of the
California Health and Safety Code § 1276.5 has occurred, which will result in the
issuance of an Administrative Penalty.

SECTIONS VIOLATED

e HSC §1276.5 3.2 NHPPD

Action to correct this violation(s) must commence immediately and be addressed
in the facility Plan of Correction (POC).

This notice issued to on )
Facility Name Month/Day/Year

By:

Auditor Name Auditor Signature

| acknowledge receipt of this Notice on

Month/Day/Year

By:

Designee Name Signature

CDPH 608 (12/10)
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