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TO: All Health Care Facilities Licensed By the California Department of Public 

Health Licensing and Certification Program Under California Health and 
Safety Code Section 1266 

 
SUBJECT: Fiscal Year 2010-2011 License Renewal Fee Schedule 
 
 

THIS IS NOT A BILL 
 
 

The purpose of this letter is to inform you of the Fiscal Year (FY) 2010-2011 license 
renewal fees as approved by the Governor on October 8, 2010 (See Attachment A).  The 
new renewal fees were effective as of July 1, 2010. 
 
The FY 2010-2011 fee schedule may be found by accessing the California Department of 
Public Health (CDPH), Licensing and Certification Program (L&C) website, at 
www.cdph.ca.gov, then clicking on the “Certificates & Licenses” tab, next click on “Health 
Care Facilities”, finally click on “L&C Current Fiscal Year Health Facilities License Fees”. 
 
PLEASE FORWARD A COPY OF THIS INFORMATIONAL LETTER TO THE PERSON 
OR COMPANY THAT NORMALLY REMITS PAYMENT FOR RENEWAL OF YOUR 
HEALTH FACILITY OPERATING LICENSE. 
 
Renewal Notices 
 
A separate renewal notice/application should be sent to your licensee 45-120 days prior 
to the facility’s license expiration date. 
 
It is the responsibility of the facility’s licensee to obtain a renewal notice.  If you have not 
received a renewal notice within 45 days prior to your license expiration date; contact the 
Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit (GFAU) (See contact information on Page 3). 
 
If you have not received your renewal notice within 15 business days of your license 
expiration date, either contact GFAU or use the attached fee schedule to calculate the fee 
amount required for your facility.  Do not wait for a renewal notice to pay your license 
renewal if your current license is expiring within 15 business days. 

 

Licensing and Certification Program/Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit 
MS 3202, P.O. Box 997434, Sacramento, CA 95899-7434 

Phone: (916) 552-8700 Fax: (916) 650-6437 
Internet Address: www.cdph.ca.gov  Email: RCollection@cdph.ca.gov 

 

mailto:RCollection@cdph.ca.gov
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Mail your payments prior to your license expiration date.  California law does not allow for 
a grace period.  All fees must be paid in full on or before the current license expiration 
date regardless of having received a renewal notice. 
 
Note:  Due to the budget having been signed after July 1, 2010, those licensees that 
did not receive a FY 2010-2011 renewal notice generated within 45 days of their 
license expiration date will have 45 days from the “Date of Notice” date (located in 
the upper right hand corner of your renewal notice) to remit payments without 
incurring late payment penalty fees. 
 
Late Payment Penalties 
 
Health and Safety Code Section 1266.5 requires L&C to impose late payment penalties 
for health facilities and agencies for delinquent license renewal payments.  Late payment 
penalties are statutorily set and cannot be waived.  The post office or delivery service 
postmark dates are used to establish date of receipt. 
 
Medi-Cal Offsets 
 
L&C may, upon written notification to the licensee, offset any moneys owed to the 
licensee by the Medi-Cal program or any other payment program administered by CDPH, 
to recoup the license renewal fees and any associated late payment penalties.   
 
Provisional Licenses 
 
For those facilities currently holding a provisional license, L&C will extend all provisional 
licenses into November that expire between June 30th and October 30th each year.  
Licensees of these facilities should have received a letter from our department 
approximately June 1st, stating that your license has been extended into November 
unless your provisional license has been effective for less than six months. 
 
If your provisional license is more than six months old and expires after October 30, 2010, 
you should receive a renewal notice within 45-120 days of the current license expiration 
date. 
 
How to Complete Your License Renewal 
 
1. Ensure that the number of beds/facilities (if applicable) is correctly listed on your 

renewal fee page.  Contact your local District Office immediately if these figures are 
incorrect. 

2. Clearly print all license numbers that your payment will cover on the front of any 
payment. 

3. Cut off the bottom portion of the renewal notice fee page for each facility you will be 
paying for and include them in the payment envelope/package. 
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4. Mail the application portion of the renewal notice to the local District Office as 
indicated on the bottom of Page 3 of the application.  Do not mail to GFAU as this may 
delay receipt of your license.  GFAU will not be responsible for lost applications. 

5. Be sure to address your envelope/package using one of the GFAU payment 
addresses listed below.  These addresses have changed in recent years. 

6. It is strongly suggested that licensees use a mailing method that includes the ability to 
track the status of mailed payments. 

7. To prevent delays in obtaining the renewed license, mail only the renewal payment to 
L&C, GFAU at one of the addresses below: 

 
Normal Mailing Address Delivery Service Mailing Address 

California Department of Public Health
Licensing and Certification Program 
Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit 
MS 3202 
P.O. Box 997434 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7434 

California Department of Public Health 
Licensing and Certification Program 
Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit 
MS 3202 
1615 Capitol Avenue, Suite 73.481 
Sacramento, CA 95814-5015 

 
8. Allow 4-6 weeks for processing of your license due to heavy workloads. 
 
Contact Information for the GFAU 
 
Email: RCollection@cdph.ca.gov (preferred) 
Main Phone Number: (916) 552-8700 or (800) 236-9747. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Signed by Kathleen Billingsley, R.N. 
 
Kathleen Billingsley, R.N. 
Deputy Director 
Center for Health Care Quality 
 
Attachment A - Licensing & Certification Program License Fees 2010-2011 
 



 

  

ATTACHMENT A 
 

LICENSING & CERTIFICATION PROGRAM LICENSE FEES 2010-2011 
Effective: July 1, 2010 

 
Facility Type Fee Per Amount 
Acute Psychiatric Hospitals (APH) Bed $255.10

Adult Day Health Center (ADHC) Facility $3,985.57

Alternative Birthing Center (ABC) Facility $2,409.10

Chemical Dependency Recovery Hospital (CDRH) Bed $143.86

Chronic Dialysis Clinic (CDC) Facility $2,897.40

Community Clinic (COMTYC) or Free Clinic (FREEC) Facility $581.67

Congregate Living Health Facility (CLHF) Bed $228.57

Correctional Treatment Center (CTC) Bed $420.29

District Hospital with <100 Beds Bed $255.10

General Acute Care Hospital (GACH) Bed $255.10

Home Health Agency (HHA) Facility $4,129.63

Hospice (HOSPICE) (2-Year License Total) Facility $3,689.18

Intermediate Care Facility (ICF) Bed $228.57

Intermediate Care Facility –  
 Developmentally Disabled (ICF/DD) Bed $425.20

Intermediate Care Facility – 
 Developmentally Disabled – Habilitative (ICF/DD-H) Bed $425.20

Intermediate Care Facility –  
 Developmentally Disabled – Nursing (ICF/DD-N) Bed $425.20

Pediatric Day Health Respite Care (PDHRC) Bed $152.23

Psychology Clinic (PSYCHC) Facility $1,081.80

Referral Agency (REFRLAG) Facility $3,536.84

Rehabilitation Clinic (REHABC) Facility $190.00

Skilled Nursing Facility (SNF) Bed $228.57

Special Hospital (SPHOSP) Bed $255.10

Surgical Clinic (SURGC) Facility $1,821.97
 


