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THIS IS NOT A BILL

TO: All Facilities Licensed By the California Department of Public Health (CDPH)
Licensing and Certification Program (L&C) Under California Health and
Safety (H&S) Code Section 1266

SUBJECT: Fiscal Year (FY) 2009/10 License Renewal Fee Schedule

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform you of the FY 2009/10 license renewal fees
as approved by the California Legislature on February 20, 2009 (See Attachment A). The
new renewal fees are effective as of July 1, 2009.

PLEASE FORWARD A COPY OF THIS LETTER TO THE PERSON OR COMPANY
THAT NORMALLY REMITS PAYMENT FOR YOUR FACILITY LICENSE RENEWAL

The FY 2009/10 fee schedule has been posted on the L&C website, along with current
license renewal information and questions and answers on the L&C website:
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/pubsforms/fiscalrep/Documents/LicCertFeeListing10.pdf.

You should contact the Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit (GFAU) if you have not
received a renewal notice within 90 days prior to your license expiration date. Itis
the responsibility of the facility’s licensee to obtain renewal notices (See contact
information on Page 3).

Do not wait for a renewal notice to pay your license renewal. Late payment penalties
cannot be excused because the licensee did not receive a renewal notice prior to the
current license expiration date.

Mail your payments early! California law is very specific about non-receipt of payments.
All fees must be paid in full on or before the current license expiration date regardless of
having received a renewal notice.

Licensing and Certification/Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit
MS 3202, P.O. Box 997434, Sacramento, CA 95899-7434
(916) 552-8700 Fax: (916) 650-6437
Internet Address: www.cdph.ca.gov Email: RCollection@cdph.ca.gov
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How to Complete Your License Renewal

1.

2.

Ensure that numbers of beds/facilities (if applicable) are correctly listed on your

renewal fee page. Contact your local District Office if these figures are incorrect.

Clearly print all license numbers that your payment will cover on the front of the

payment.

Cut off the bottom of the renewal notice fee page for each facility you will be paying

for and include them in the payment envelope/package.

Be sure to address your envelope/package using one of the Grant and Fiscal

Assessment Unit payment addresses listed in this letter. These addresses have

changed in recent years.

e |tis strongly suggested that licensees use a mailing method that includes the
ability to track the status of mailed payments.

e To prevent delays in obtaining the renewed license, mail remittance only to
L&C Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit at one of the addresses below:

Normal Mailing Address Overnight Mailing Address

California Department of Public Health California Department of Public Health
Licensing and Certification Licensing and Certification
Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit
MS 3202 MS 3202
P.O. Box 997434 1615 Capitol Avenue, Suite 73.481
Sacramento, CA 95899-7434 Sacramento, CA 95814-5015

5. Mail the application to the local District Office as indicated on the bottom of

6.

Page 3 of the application. Do not mail it to the Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit
as this may delay receipt of your license. Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit will
not be responsible for lost applications.

Allow 4-6 weeks for processing of your license due to heavy workloads.

Late Payment Penalties

Late payment penalties are statutorily set and cannot be waived. The post office or
delivery service postmark dates are used to establish date of receipt.

H&S Code Section 1266.5 requires L&C to impose late payment penalties for health
facilities and agencies for delinquent license renewal payments.

L&C may, upon written notification to the licensee, offset any moneys owed to the
licensee by the Medi-Cal program or any other payment program administered by the
California Department of Public Health, to recoup the license renewal fee and any
associated late payment penalties. The statute authorizing late payment penalties does
not provide the department with any mechanism for waiving the late payment penalty

fees.
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Contact Information for the Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit

Email: RCollection@cdph.ca.gov
Main Phone Number: (916) 552-8700 or (800) 236-9747

Sincerely,

Original Signed by Kathleen Billingsley, R.N.
Kathleen Billingsley, R.N.

Deputy Director

Center for Health Care Quality

Attachment



ATTACHMENT A

LICENSING & CERTIFICATION PROGRAM LICENSE FEES 2009/10

Effective: July 1, 2009

Type of Facility/Agency
General Acute Care Hospitals

Acute Psychiatric Hospitals

Special Hospitals

District Hospitals less than <100 beds

Chemical Dependency Recovery Hospitals

Skilled Nursing Facilities

Intermediate Care Facilities

Intermediate Care Facilities- Developmentally Disabled

Intermediate Care Facilities-Developmentally
Disabled Habilitative

Intermediate Care Facilities-Developmentally
Disabled-Nursing

Home Health Agencies

Referral Agencies

Adult Day Health Centers

Congregate Living Health Facilities
Psychology Clinics

Primary Clinics-Community and Free
Specialty Clinics-Rehabilitation Clinics
Specialty Clinics-Surgical Clinics
Specialty Clinics-Chronic Dialysis Clinics
Pediatric Day Health/Respite Care
Alternative Birthing Centers

Hospice (2 year license)

Correctional Treatment Centers

Fee
$257.76 per bed

$257.76 per bed
$257.76 per bed
$257.76 per bed
$144.59 per bed
$287.00 per bed
$287.00 per bed
$938.01 per bed

$938.01 per bed

$938.01 per bed

$4,159.42 per facility
$3,564.13 per facility
$3,995.61 per facility
$287.00 per bed
$1,099.99 per facility
$600.00 per facility
$200.00 per facility
$1,918.00 per facility
$2,932.87 per facility
$154.62 per bed
$2,430.93 per facility
$1,875.41 per facility/per year

$422.15 per bed



