| State of California—Health and Human Services Agency
S California Department of Public Health
o) CBPH

MARK B HORTON, MD, MSPH ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER
Director Governor
July 12, 2007 AFL 07-12
TO: SKILLED NURSING FACILITIES

SUBJECT: RESIDENTS’ RIGHTS AND MANDATED TRANSFER AND DISCHARGE
PROCEDURES

Serious allegations have recently been brought to the attention of the California
Department of Public Health (CDPH) Licensing and Certification Program (L&C)
regarding facilities’ non-compliance with current law related to long term care residents’
rights, and mandated procedures and notifications surrounding the transfer and
discharge of residents. Health and Safety Code Sections 81336, §1336.1, and §1336.2
address facilities’ obligations when resident transfer or discharge is necessary, including
steps that must be taken in advance of residents’ transfer/discharge in order for the
transfer/discharge to be safe and orderly and to minimize the potential for transfer
trauma.

CDPH L&C is extremely concerned about these allegations. This memorandum serves
as notification that L&C will continue to vigorously enforce the standards contained in
state law that are designed to protect this vulnerable population. When a facility is
determined to be non-compliant with the state law, appropriate enforcement actions will
be taken.

The relevant statutes are attached for your reference.

Sincerely,

Original Signed by Kathleen Billingsley, R.N.

Kathleen Billingsley, R.N.
Deputy Director

Attachment
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ATTACHMENT

CALIFORNIA CODES
HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE
SECTION 1336-1336.2

1336. Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, a long-term
health care facility shall give written notice to the affected
patients or to the guardians of the affected patients at least 30
days prior to any change in the status of the license or in the
operation of the facility resulting in the inability of the facility

to care for its patients.

If patients’ placement problems are encountered which cannot be
satisfactorily resolved within this 30-day period, the State
Department of Health Services and the health facility shall agree on
an extension which shall not exceed an additional 60 days.

The facility shall provide an appropriate team of professional
staff to assist patients and families in obtaining alternative
placement.

This section shall not apply to actions initiated by the
department to suspend or revoke the license.

1336.1. (a) After notifying its affected patients, the facility
shall, in response to inquiries made by prospective patients or their
representatives, include notification of the change in the status of
the license or the operation of the facility.
(b) The facility shall also give oral notification to the office
of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman of the change in the status of
the license or the operation of the facility at least 30 days prior
to any change in the status of the license or the operation of the
facility.

1336.2. (a) Before residents are transferred due to any change in
the status of the license or operation of a facility, including a
facility closure or voluntary or involuntary termination of a
facility's Medi-Cal or Medicare certification, the facility shall
take reasonable steps to transfer affected residents safely and
minimize possible transfer trauma by, at a minimum, doing all of the
following:

(1) Be responsible for ensuring that the resident's attending
physician, if available, or a facility medical director, if
available, completes the medical assessment of the resident's
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condition and susceptibility to adverse health consequences,
including psychosocial effects, prior to written notice of transfer
being given to the resident. The assessment shall not be considered
complete unless it provides, in accordance with these assessments,
recommendations for counseling, followup visits, and other
recommended services, by designated health professionals, and for
preventing or ameliorating potential adverse health consequences in
the event of transfer.

(2) Be responsible for ensuring that the facility nursing staff
and activity director complete an assessment of the social and
physical functioning of the resident based on the relevant portions
of the minimum data set, as described in Section 14110.15 of the
Welfare and Institutions Code, before written notice of transfer is
given to the resident. The assessment shall not be considered
complete unless it provides recommendations for preventing or
ameliorating potential adverse health consequences in the event of
transfer. The assessment may be amended because of a change in the
resident's health care needs. The assessment shall also include a
recommendation for the type of facility that would best meet the
resident's needs.

(3) Be responsible for evaluating the relocation needs of the
resident including proximity to the resident's representative and
determine the most appropriate and available type of future care and
services for the resident before written notice of transfer is given
to the resident or the resident's representative. The health
facility shall discuss the evaluation and medical assessment with the
resident or the resident's representative and make the evaluation
and assessment part of the medical records for transfer.

If the resident or resident's representative chooses to make a
transfer prior to completion of assessments, the facility shall
inform the resident or the resident's representative, in writing, of
the importance of obtaining the assessments and followup
consultation.

(4) At least 30 days in advance of the transfer, inform the
resident or the resident's representative of alternative facilities
that are available and adequate to meet resident and family needs.

(5) Arrange for appropriate future medical care and services,
unless the resident or resident's representative has otherwise made
these arrangements. This requirement does not obligate a facility to
pay for future care and services.

(b) The facility shall provide an appropriate team of professional
staff to perform the services required in subdivision (a).

(c) The facility shall also give written notice to affected
residents or their representatives, advising them of the requirements
in subdivision (a) at least 30 days in advance of transfer. If a
facility is required to give written notice pursuant to Section 1336,
then the notice shall advise the affected resident or resident's
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representative of the requirements in subdivision (a). If the
transfer is made pursuant to subdivision (g), the notice shall
include notification to the resident or resident's representative
that the transfer plan is available to the resident or resident's
representative free of charge upon request.

(d) In the event of a temporary suspension of a facility's license
pursuant to Section 1296, the 30-day notice requirement in
subdivision (c) shall not apply, but the facility shall provide the
relocation services required in subdivision (a) unless the department
provides the services pursuant to subdivision (f).

(e) The department may make available assistance for the placement
of hard-to-place residents based on the department's determination
of the benefit and necessity of that assistance. A hard-to-place
resident is a resident whose level of care, physical malady, or
behavioral management needs are substantially beyond the norm.

(f) The department may provide, or arrange for the provision of,
necessary relocation services at a facility, including medical
assessments, counseling, and placement of patients, if the department
determines that these services are needed promptly to prevent
adverse health consequences to patients, and the facility refuses, or
does not have adequate staffing, to provide the services. In these
cases, the facility or the licensee shall reimburse the department
for the cost of providing the relocation services. The department's
participation shall not relieve the facility of any responsibility
under this section. If the department does not provide or arrange
for the provision of the necessary relocation services, and the
facility refuses to provide the relocation services required in
subdivision (a), then the department shall request that the Attorney
General's office or the local district attorney's office seek
injunctive relief and damages in the same manner as provided for in
Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 17200) of Part 2 of Division 7 of
the Business and Professions Code.

(g) If 10 or more residents are likely to be transferred due to
any voluntary or involuntary change in the status of the license or
operation of a facility, including a facility closure or voluntary or
involuntary termination of a facility's Medi-Cal or Medicare
certification, the facility shall submit a proposed relocation plan
for the affected residents to the department for approval at least 15
days prior to the written transfer notification given to any
resident or resident's representative. The plan shall provide for
implementation of the relocation services in subdivision (a) and
shall describe the availability of beds in the area for residents to
be transferred, the proposed discharge process, and the staffing
available to assist in the transfers. The plan shall become
effective upon the date the department grants its approval. The
department shall base its approval of a relocation plan on the
standards specified in this section. The department shall promptly



AFL 07-12
Page 5
July 12, 2007

either approve or reject the plan within 10 working days of receipt
from the facility. If the department rejects the plan, the facility
may resubmit amended relocation plans, each of which the department
shall promptly either approve or reject within 10 working days of
receipt from the facility. Until one plan has been approved by the
department, and until the facility complies with the requirements in
subdivision (a), the facility may not issue a notice of transfer.
The facility shall submit the relocation plan to the local long-term
care ombudsman at the same time the plan is submitted to the
department.

(h) The resident shall have the right to remain in the facility
for up to 60 days after the approved written notice of the facility's
intent to transfer the resident if an appropriate placement based on
the relocation assessment and relocation recommendations has not
been made. The facility shall be required to maintain an appropriate
level of staffing in order to ensure the well-being of all the
residents as they continue to reside in the facility. The department
shall monitor the facility's staging of transfers, and, if it
determines that the facility's staging of placements is causing a
detrimental impact on those residents being transferred, then the
department shall limit the number of residents being transferred per
day until the department determines that it would be safe to increase
the numbers.



