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Court Order Delayed Registration of Fetal Death

If a fetal

death was never
registered, or
there is no
record of the
fetal death

on file, what
can | do?

How do |
petition the
court?

After | get the
court order, what
do | submit to
register the

fetal death?

Court Order Delayed Registration of Fetal Death 1

A Court Order Delayed Registration of Fetal Death is a way to register
a California fetal death when it was not previously registered, or a
certified copy is not obtainable.

Any beneficially interested person can petition the Superior Court to
judicially establish the fact of a fetal death.

This must be done in the Superior Court in the California county
where the fetal death was alleged to have occurred.

We suggest you contact a family law attorney for legal advice in this
matter. Our staff cannot provide legal advice, nor do we have
information about the legal process.

There are also books available at bookstores or public libraries to help
you with the court process.

You can also access the following website for additional information
about the court process: www.courts.ca.gov.

At the time of the court hearing, you must present the court with a
completed Order Establishing Fact of Fetal Death/Court Order
Delayed Registration of Fetal Death (VS 105 form), along with any
documents you have that support the date and place of the fetal
death. The VS 105 must be an original form. Photocopies are not
acceptable. Please see page 3 for information on obtaining an
original form.

® Once the court establishes the fact of fetal death, mail the following
items to our office using the address on the front of this pamphlet:

¢ Certified copy of the Order Establishing Fact of Fetal Death (top of
VS 105 form).

e Completed Court Order Delayed Registration of Fetal Death (bottom
of VS 105 form).

e $23 fee

See next section for explanation of “certified” copy.

We do not return the court order after the fetal death certificate
is prepared.

If any of these items are not included, your request will be
be returned to you for correction.
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What is a : A “certified” copy of the court order must be a copy of the order that
“certified” copy was originally prepared by the court. It cannot be an original
of the court printout.
order?
If the court gives you an original printout, please ask them to
make a photocopy.

The photocopy that the court gives you must have:

a. An original court seal.
b. A signature (or signature stamp) of the judge.
C. A signature (or signature stamp) of the court clerk.

IMPORTANT:

v The “certified” copy must have an original court seal and a
signature (or signature stamp) of the court clerk. It is the
original seal and court clerk signature (certification) that make
this is a “certified” copy.

Do not send us a copy where the court seal has been
photocopied. The court seal must be an original seal.

The court seal and a certified stamp with the date and a signature
must appear on the actual certified copy of the Order Establishing
the Fact of Fetal Death (either front or back) — and not on the
Court Order Delayed Registration of Fetal Death form or a blank
sheet of paper.

The “FILED / ENDORSED” stamp in the top right corner of the
court order is not the court clerk’s certification.

You should keep a photocopy of the court order for your own
file.

What is the fee $23 — which includes one Certified Copy of the fetal death certificate.
for a court order

delayed Additional copies are $18 each.
registration?

Fees should be paid by check or money order payable to CDPH Vital
Records. International money orders for out-of-country requests
should be payable in U.S. dollars.
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Where can The application must be an original form (our office uses a special bond

| get the paper). Photocopies are not acceptable. One application form is

VS 105 form? included if you receive this pamphlet by mail. If you need additional copies
of the VS 105 form, or are accessing this pamphlet on our website:

® Order forms electronically at:
https://apps.cdph.ca.gov/AutoForm2/default.aspx?af=1184. Because
of the volume of phone calls we receive, the Internet is usually a faster
process for our customers than calling our Customer Service Unit.

Call our Customer Service Unit at (916) 445-2684.

You can also get the form from the County Recorder or County Health
Department in any California county.

How do | A sample of what a completed form should look like is attached.
complete the

VS 105 form? The VS 105 is a two-part perforated form.
® The top part is the court order that will be signed by the judge.

The bottom part becomes the official fetal death certificate that will be
filed in our office (State Registrar) and provided to the County
Recorder’s Office in the county where the fetal death occurred.

PART ONE (Top Portion) — Order Establishing Fact of Fetal Death

® Complete all items except the judge’s signature and the line
at the bottom that states “Done in this court this day
of A.D. 20

Your reason for having to file the fetal death by court order must be
included on the Order (middle of the form, on the line that begins “in
that”). If the reason is not included, you will have to return to court,

have the Order amended, and provide us with a certified copy of the
amended Order.

Before you leave the courthouse, make sure:

e There is a case number on the Order.

The Order has been certified. (See previous section for explanation
of “certified” copy.)

We do not return the court order after the fetal death certificate is
prepared.

(Continued)
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How do | PART TWO (Bottom Portion) — Court Order Delayed Registration of
Complete the Fetal Death
VS 105 form?
Do not write on the “State File Number” line (directly below
(Continued) perforation) or on the bottom part of the form marked “State Registrar
Use Only.”

Complete items 1A through 26 only.

What makes Important Information
a VS 105 form

“acceptable?” Fetal death certificates are legal documents that must be able to hold up in
any court, unchallenged as to their accuracy and reliability.

Because the bottom part of the VS 105 form becomes the actual fetal
death certificate, it must adhere to strict guidelines:

®* Items 1A through 26 must be completed.
The form must be an original, not a photocopy.
Because the form becomes the official record, every word and letter
must be extremely clear and legible. Using a typewriter to
complete the form ensures that the information is interpreted
clearly.
If you are not able to type the form, it is extremely important that you
take the extra time to print very clearly and legibly. Documents that
are not legible will be returned to you to complete again.

Only black ink is acceptable.

There cannot be any erasures, whiteout, or alterations.

How long will The processing time for court order delayed fetal death registration is
it take to get located on our website at:

the fetal death
certificate? http://www.cdph.ca.gov/certlic/birthdeathmar/Pages/ProcessingTimes.aspx

What if | still If you have read this pamphlet thoroughly and still have questions that
have questions? were not answered, please call our Customer Service Unit at
(916) 445-2684. If you are checking the status of your request, please
wait until after the processing time has passed before contacting us.

Court Order Delayed Registration of Fetal Death January 2015
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ORDER ESTABLISHING FACT OF FETAL DEATH

In the Superior Court of the State of California

In and for the County of

In the matter of the ion o
General Hospit Number

Department
To establish the fact of fetal death of
I Qtab theffact of fgtal h
of __John James having been
Fill in after | filed herein on the 9th day of July ,AD, 20 07 , and such petition having by an order
court has
. of court been duly set for hearing onthe 1St day of August ,AD., 20_07 , at the hour
assigned
date of o’clock m. of said day; and now on said day said matter coming on regularly for hearing and it

appearing to the satisfaction of this court from the evidence introduced that the said ___General Hospital

, petitioner herein, is beneficially interested in establishing

of record the fact of the fetal death of said John James ,

inthat the child's fetal death was not registered because of a change in hospital personnel

; and
it appearing that on the 3rd day of __June ,AD., 20 05 , the fetal
death of __John James occurred at
Sacramento ,in the County of _Sacramento , State of
California ; that said fetal death has not been registered in conformity with the provisions of

law in effect at the time of said fetal death or such record has been lost or destroyed after having been filed; and no one appearing

at said hearing to oppose the making of this order;

Itis therefore ordered, adjudged, and decreed that onthe ___3rd___day of June ,AD.,
2005 the fetal death of __John James
occurred at __Sacramento County of __Sacramento |

state of  California

Done in court this day of ,AD., 20

Judge of the Superior Court

Before filing the above order, insert in the certificate form below, as of the date of the fetal death, the personal and statistical
particulars required for the records of the State Registrar. A certified copy of the above order must be filed with the State Registrar
before the order shall become effective. USE BLACK INK ONLY.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH, OFFICE OF VITAL RECORDS FORM VS 105 (Rev. 1/08)
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LEAVE BLANK

COURT ORDER DELAYED REGISTRATION OF FETAL DEATH

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

NO ERASURES, WHITEOUTS, PHOTOCOPIES,
OR ALTERATIONS

STATE FILE NUMBER

LEAVE BLANK

LOCAL REGISTRATION NUMBER

TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY IN BLACK INK ONLY — THIS FORM BECOMES THE OFFICIAL FETAL DEATH RECORD

1A. NAME—FIRST 1B. MIDDLE 1C. LAST
THIS John : : James
FETUS 2. SEX 3A. THIS ; V TIP : J | 4A. DATE OF EVENT—mmDDICCYY | 4B. HOUR—24 HOUR CLOCK TIME
Male Singl 4 06/03/2000 1830
5A. PLACE OF EVENT—NAME OF HOSPITAL OR FACILITY 5B. ADDRESS—STREET AND NUMBER, OR LOCATION
General Hospital 7275 Main Street
PLACE OF
\V
ent
OF FA R/PAREN FIRST
Robert Q- - James 02/07/1980
9A. NAME OF MOTHER/PARENT—FIRST 9B. MIDDLE 9C. LAST (BIRTH) 10. BIRTH STATE/ 11. DATE OF BIRTH—
MOTHER/ FOREIGN COUNTRY MM/DD/CCYY
PARENT Judith : Marie : Jones CA 08/24/1981
12A DISPOSITION(S) 12B. PLACE OF DISPOSITION 12C. DATE OF DISPOSITION—MM/DD/CCYY
FUNERAL 13A. SIGNATURE OF EMBALMER 13B. PRINTED NAME 13C. EMBALMER'’S LICENSE NUMBER
DIRECTOR
> - -
14A. NAME OF FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT (OR PERSON ACTING IN LIEU OF FUNERAL DIRECTOR) 14B. LICENSE NUMBER
OFFERED FOR FILING PURSUANT TO ORDER NUMBER OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA IN AND
STATE FOR THE COUNTY OF , MADE THE DAY OF ,AD., 20 , ESTABLISHING
'}JESGE'SJSGR OF RECORD THE FACT OF FETAL DEATH IN THE STATE OR COUNTRY OF _ NO FETAL DEATH
CERTIFICATE HAS BEEN FOUND ON FILE IN THE OFFICE OF VITAL RECORDS FOR THE ABOVE FETUS.
15. OFFICE OF VITAL RECORDS 16. DATE ACCEPTED FOR REGISTRATION
CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION FOR PUBLIC HEALTH USE ONLY
17. FETAL DEATH WAS CAUSED BY: 18. WAS DEATH REPORTED TO CORONER?
I_ YES IYNO
IMMEDIATE H
CAUSE ) Extreme Prematurity REFERRAL NUMBER
19A. WAS AUTOPSY PERFORMED?
CAUSE
OF FETAL DUE TO (B) I— YES IY NO
DEATH
19B. WAS IT USED IN DETERMINING
CAUSE OF DEATH?
DUE TO (©) |_ YES |_ NO
20. OTHER SIGNIFICANT CONDITIONS OF FETUS OR BIRTH MOTHER CONTRIBUTING TO FETAL DEATH BUT NOT RELATED TO CAUSE GIVEN IN ITEM 17.
21. HISPANIC, LATINO, OR SPANISH? (IF YES, SPECIFY 22. RACE—Up to 3 Races/Ethnicities May Be Listed 23. EDUCATION—Highest Level/Degree
GENETIC ORIGIN)
FATHER )
ves| | o X | Caucasian, Japanese, Korean 14
24. HISPANIC, LATINA, OR SPANISH? (IF YES, SPECIFY 25. RACE—Up to 3 Races/Ethnicities May Be Listed 26. EDUCATION—Highest Level/Degree
GENETIC ORIGIN)
MOTHER .
vesl | no X | Caucasian, Black 14

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH, OFFICE OF VITAL RECORDS FORM VS 105 (Rev. 1/08)



State of California — Health and Human Services Agency

California Department of Public Health

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED COPY OF FETAL DEATH RECORD

INFORMATION:

Fetal death records have been maintained in the California Department of Public Health Vital Records since July 1, 1905.

INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Complete a separate application for each fetal death record requested.
2. Complete the Applicant Information section and provide your signature where indicated. In the Fetal Death Information section,

provide all the information you have available to identify the fetal death record. If the information you furnish is incomplete or

inaccurate, we may not be able to locate the record.

3. Submit $18 for each copy requested. If no fetal death record is found, the fee will be retained for searching the record (as required
by law) and a “Certificate of No Public Record” will be issued to the applicant. Indicate the number of copies you want and include
the correct fee(s) in the form of a personal check or postal or bank money order (International Money Order for out-of-country
requests) made payable to CDPH Vital Records. PLEASE SUBMIT CHECK OR MONEY ORDER — DO NOT SEND CASH (CDPH cannot be

held responsible for fees paid in cash that are lost, misdirected, or undelivered).

4, Mail completed applications with the fee(s) to:

California Department of Public Health

Vital Records — MS 5103
P.0O. Box 997410

Sacramento, CA 95899-7410

(916) 445-2684

Fee: 318 per COPY (payable to CDPH Vital Records). PLEASE SUBMIT CHECK OR MONEY ORDER - DO NOT SEND CASH
(CDPH cannot be held responsible for fees paid in cash that are lost, misdirected, or undelivered).

JH43H MO3FHD HOVLLlY 3SV3ld

APPLICANT INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE) Today’s Date:
Agency Name (if applicable) Agency Case Number Inmate ID Number
Print Name of Applicant Signature of Applicant Purpose of Request
Mailing Address — Number, Street Amount Enclosed — DO NOT SEND CASH Number of Copies

$ $____ Money Order
City Name of Person Receiving Copies, if Different from Applicant
State/Province ZIP Code Mailing Address for Copies, if Different from Applicant
Daytime Telephone (include area code) Country City State ZIP Code
( )
FETAL DEATH INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE)
Complete information below as shown on the fetal death record, to the best of your knowledge.
FETAL DEATH FIRST Name MIDDLE Name LAST Name
City of Fetal Death (must be in California) County of Fetal Death
Date of Fetal Death — MM/DD/CCYY (If unknown, enter approximate date of fetal death) Sex

Female Male

Father/Parent FIRST Name MIDDLE Name LAST Name (Before Marriage/Domestic Partnership)
Mother/Parent FIRST Name MIDDLE Name LAST Name (Before Marriage/Domestic Partnership)

FETAL DEATH
Page 1of 1
VS 12 (01/14)




CALIFORNIA COUNTY RECORDERS

1106 Madison Street, First Floor, Oakland, CA 94607, (510) 272-6362
99 Water Street, or P.O. Box 155, Markleeville, CA 96120, (530) 694-2283
810 Court Street, Jackson, CA 95642, (209) 223-6468
25 County Center Drive, Suite 105, Oroville, CA 95965, (530) 538-7691
891 Mountain Ranch Road, San Andreas, CA 95249, (209) 754-6372
546 Jay Street, Suite 200, Colusa, CA 95932, (530) 458-0500
Contra Costa 555 Escobar Street, or P.O. Box 350, Martinez, CA 94553, (925) 335-7910
Del Norte 981 H Street, Suite 160, Crescent City, CA 95531, (707) 464-7216
360 Fair Lane, Placerville, CA 95667, (530) 621-5490
2281 Tulare Street, Room 302, or P.O. Box 766, Fresno, CA 93712, (559) 600-3476
516 West Sycamore Street, Second Floor, Willows, CA 95988, (530) 934-6412
825 Fifth Street, Fifth Floor, Eureka, CA 95501, (707) 445-7382
940 West Main Street, Suite 202, El Centro, CA 92243, (760) 482-4272
168 North Edwards Street, or P.O. Drawer F, Independence, CA 93526, (760) 878-0222
1655 Chester Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301, (661) 868-6400
Government Center, 1400 West Lacey Boulevard, Hanford, CA 93230, (559) 582-3211, ext. 2470
Courthouse, 255 North Forbes Street, Lakeport, CA 95453, (707) 263-2293
220 South Lassen Street, Suite 5, Susanville, CA 96130, (530) 251-8234
12400 Imperial Highway, Norwalk, CA 90650, (800) 201-8999 or (562) 462-2137
200 West Fourth Street, Madera, CA 93637, (559) 675-7724
3501 Civic Center Drive, Suite 232, San Rafael, CA 94903, (415) 473-6094
Mariposa 4982 Tenth Street, or P.O. Box 35, Mariposa, CA 95338, (209) 966-5719
Mendocino 501 Low Gap Road, Room 1020, Ukiah, CA 95482, (707) 463-4376
2222 M Street, Merced, CA 95340, (209) 385-7627
108 E. Modoc Street, Alturas, CA 96101, (530) 233-6205
74 School Street, Annex 1, or P.O. Box 237, Bridgeport, CA 93517, (760) 932-5530
168 West Alisal Street, First Floor, or P.O. Box 29, Salinas, CA 93902-0570, (831) 755-5041
900 Coombs Street, Room 116, or P.O. Box 298, Napa, CA 94559-0298, (707) 253-4105
950 Maidu Avenue, Suite 210, Nevada City, CA 95959, (530) 265-1221
12 Civic Center Plaza, Room 101, Santa Ana, CA 92701, (714) 834-2500
2954 Richardson Drive, Auburn, CA 95603, (530) 886-5600
Plumas 520 Main Street, Room 102, Quincy, CA 95971, (530) 283-6218 or (530) 283-6256
Riverside 2724 Gateway Drive, or P.O. Box 751, Riverside, CA 92502-0751, (951) 955-6200
Sacramento 600 Eighth Street, or P.O. Box 839, Sacramento, CA 95812-0839, (916) 874-6334
San Benito County Courthouse, 440 Fifth Street, Room 206, Hollister, CA 95023, (831) 636-4046
San Bernardino 222 West Hospitality Lane, First Floor, San Bernardino, CA 92415-0022, (855) 732-2575
San Diego 1600 Pacific Highway, Suite 260, San Diego, CA 92101, (619) 237-0502
San Francisco One Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, City Hall, Room 190, San Francisco, CA 94102, (415) 554-5596*
San Francisco Health Dept. 101 Grove Street, Room 105, San Francisco, CA 94102, (415) 554-2700**
San Joaquin 44 North San Joaquin Street, Suite 260, or P.O. Box 1968, Stockton, CA 95201, (209) 468-3939
San Luis Obispo 1055 Monterey Street, Room D120, San Luis Obispo, CA 93408, (805) 781-5080
San Mateo 555 County Center, First Floor, Redwood City, CA 94063-1665, (650) 363-4500
Santa Barbara 1100 Anacapa Street, or P.O. Box 159, Santa Barbara, CA 93102-0159, (805) 568-2250
Santa Clara 70 West Hedding Street, San Jose, CA 95110, (408) 299-5688
Santa Cruz 701 Ocean Street, Room 230, Santa Cruz, CA 95060, (831) 454-2800
1450 Court Street, Suite 208, Redding, CA 96001-1670, (530) 225-5678
100 Courthouse Square, Room 11, or P.O. Drawer D, Downieville, CA 95936, (530) 289-3295
Siskiyou 311 Fourth Street, Room 107, Yreka, CA 96097, (530) 842-8065
Solano 675 Texas Street, Suite 2700, Fairfield, CA 94533-6338, (707) 784-6294
585 Fiscal Dive, Room 103-F, or P.O. Box 1709, Santa Rosa, CA 95402, (707) 565-2651
1021 | Street, Suite 101, Modesto, CA 95354-0847, (209) 525-5250
433 Second Street, Yuba City, CA 95991, (530) 822-7134
633 Washington Street, Room 11, or P.O. Box 250, Red Bluff, CA 96080, (530) 527-3350
Trinity 11 Court Street, or P.O. Box 1215, Weaverville, CA 96093, (530) 623-1215
Tulare County Civic Center, 221 South Mooney Boulevard, Room 103, Visalia, CA 93291, (559) 636-5050
2 South Green Street, Third Floor, Sonora, CA 95370, (209) 533-5531
800 South Victoria Avenue, Ventura, CA 93009-1260, (805) 654-3665
625 Court Street, Room B01, or P.O. Box 1130, Woodland, CA 95776-1130, (530) 666-8130
915 Eighth Street, Suite 107, Marysville, CA 95901, (530) 749-7850

* Public Marriages
** Birth and Death Certificates
Rev 01/13/15
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	county of: 
	petition: General Hospital
	fetal: John James
	number: 
	dept: 
	verified:   General Hospital
	establish:    John James
	day:      9th
	month:      July
	year: 07
	day2: 1st
	month2: August
	year2: 07
	time: 
	ampm: 
	petitioner:     General Hospital
	herein: 
	beneficially:     John James
	interested:   the child's fetal death was not registered because of a change in hospital personnel
	in that: 
	establishing: 
	day3: 3rd
	month3:     June
	year3: 05
	death of:   John James
	occurred: Sacramento
	county2:   Sacramento
	state of: California
	day4: 3rd
	month4: June
	year4: 05
	decedent:   John James
	occurred at:   Sacramento
	county3:     Sacramento
	state2:   California
	day5: 
	month5: 
	year5: 
	Text1: Fill in after court has assigned date
	sfn: LEAVE BLANK
	lrn: LEAVE BLANK
	1a: John
	1b: --
	1c: James
	2: Male
	3a: Single
	3: --
	4a: 06/03/2000
	4b: 1830
	5a: General Hospital
	5b: 7275 Main Street
	5c: Sacramento
	5d: Sacramento
	6a: Robert
	6b: --
	6c: James
	7: CA
	8: 02/07/1980
	9a: Judith
	9b: Marie
	9c: Jones
	10: CA
	11: 08/24/1981
	12a: --
	12b: --
	12c: --
	13b: --
	13c: --
	14a: --
	14b: --
	court: 
	for the county of: 
	day6: 
	month6: 
	year6: 
	country: 
	16: 
	17a: Extreme Prematurity
	17b: 
	17c: 
	referral: 
	18: Yes
	19a: Yes
	19b: Off
	20: 
	21: 
	hisp: Yes
	22: Caucasian, Japanese, Korean
	23: 14
	24: 
	span: Yes
	25: Caucasian, Black
	26: 14


