

California Department of Public Health (CDPH) Vehicle Occupant Safety Program (VOSP)

e-Newsletter for California's Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Community (Spring 2023)

This quarterly e-Newsletter provides programmatic and technical support for the California CPS community of local health departments, instructors, technicians, and advocates.

In this issue:

- I. New Safe Kids (SK) Certification Portal for Recertification CEU's
- II.California CPS/Occupant Protection (OP) Conviction Data (attached Excel document)
 - a. How do I use the Data?
- III. Technician Proxy Follow up and Encouragement!
- IV. Who to Contact for CPS Support?

I. New SK Certification Portal for Recertification CEU's (from the CPS Express!)

All current Child Passenger Safety Technicians, Safe Kids Certification has announced that the Child Passenger Safety Technician (CPST) Continuing Education Units (CEUs) and Community Education (CE) courses previously housed on cpsboard.org have been moved to a new platform! The Child Passenger Safety Learning Portal, accessed through carseateducation.org, is a dedicated location for CPSTs to take courses and manage their certificates of completion. The Child Passenger Safety Learning Portal allows users to select courses meeting their needs (CEU versus Community Education), take the course, and the system will store completion certificates for future use, all for free! All certificates of completion are stored in the user's dashboard and can be used in the event of a recertification audit. The CPST can download and/or print the certificate to provide proof of completion to Safe Kids Certification.

II. California CPS/OP Conviction Data (attached Excel document)

CDPH/VOSP receives conviction data from CA DMV for convictions to Vehicle Codes (VC) 27360 (ages 0-8 in the rear seat), 27360.5 (ages 8-16), 15620 if children are left unattended in vehicles, as well as the adult seat belt code 27315. As you can see in the California table there has been a drop in convictions across all vehicle codes over the years (tables includes 2011-2022, except 2016 and 2017), as our adult seat belt use goes up, and we hope that CPS use is also increasing, but more likely there is less funding and ability/commitment to citing for CPS violations.

As you know, parents (or the driver in the absence of a parent in the vehicle) are cited for CPS violations by California Highway Patrol (CHP) or local law enforcement (police or sheriff) ticket. A conviction yields a \$500 ticket; the violator may choose to pay the fine, attend traffic school (to eliminate the point), and also may take a CPS violator education class (to waive or reduce the fine) if a class is offered within 50 miles of their residence (and if a class is not offer than this component is waived). CPS Violator Education programs exists in several California counties; please check the Who's Got Car Seats? resource for a program in your county. After a conviction, the courts will send this information to the DMV, and the local public health program receives the \$100 base fine (or portion of it) for its CPS program. Check with your local public health fiscal department on the total fines for your county! These fees help keep CPS prevention activities going in our local counties.

A. How do I use the Data?

DMV conviction data can help in identifying trends in CPS activity in your county. Review the data for total numbers of convictions (in each of the vehicle codes) to see if they have gone up or down or remained constant. Compare across several years and think about factors to attribute to any variations. Changes in the law usually mean that law enforcement will take a renewed interest in citing during the first year to gain public compliance.

Use the information in all the vehicle codes provided to compare between years and across counties. Review counties with similar population size or neighboring counties for comparisons. In addition, you can review your fine monies, secured through the courts to your local public health jurisdiction and evaluate if the fine monies trends correspond to the number of convictions. Although not an exact correlation because fines may be reduced or waived, you may determine it is time to ask for a meeting with your court clerk or judge.

You can use all this information to direct your program efforts by better informing your anticipated fine money coming in, taking action to support local law enforcement to cite CPS violators, or deciding if you want to offer a violator education program in your county.

III. Technician Proxy – <u>Follow up and Encouragement!</u>

What is a <u>Technician Proxy</u>? If you've been a CPS Technician for a while now and are considering becoming an Instructor – great! If you instead don't want the responsibility of being an Instructor but want to support other local technicians in their recertification then you are prime for becoming a Technician PROXY! We have 25 Proxies in the state right now, and with over 1,800 technicians, I'm sure some of you are prime to become a Proxy and help your community with sign offs! Let's see at least 1 Proxy per county, and you bigger counties, a few more!

There are two steps to becoming a technician proxy:

- 1. Submit a complete application, along with a total of two testimonials. The application is available on the Safe Kids Certification website under **Resources/Forms**.
- 2. Pay the \$25 fee.

Check out the technician proxy **FAQs** if you need more information.

IV. We are here to support you!

Please contact VOSP staff if you have any CPS programmatic, Technician Training requests or questions, need CPS educational materials, or want to be on the list to receive future VOSP e-Newsletters. Please reach out to our team with any questions you may have.



Kate Bernacki, M.P.H.

Kate.Bernacki@cdph.ca.gov



Claudia Angel

Claudia.Angel@cdph.ca.gov

If you have any questions regarding CPS grant opportunities, please contact **Nancy Wolf**, the Office of Traffic Safety CPS State Coordinator, at **Nancy.Wolf@ots.ca.gov**.

Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.



