Welcome to the State of California 

CDPH Issues Penalties to Ten California Hospitals 

Date: 6/6/2013 

Number: 13-022 

Contact: Anita Gore, Heather Bourbeau - (916) 440-7259 

SACRAMENTO 

The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) issued ten penalties today to California hospitals along with fines totaling $625,000 after investigations found the facilities’ noncompliance with licensing requirements caused, or was likely to cause, serious injury or death to patients.

The following hospitals received penalties:

1. California Pacific Medical Center – St. Luke’s Campus Hospital, San Francisco, San Francisco County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow surgical policies and procedures. This resulted in a patient having to undergo a second surgery to remove a retained foreign object. The penalty is $50,000. This is the hospital’s first administrative penalty.

2. California Pacific Medical Center – Pacific Campus Hospital, San Francisco, San Francisco County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow surgical policies and procedures. This resulted in a patient having to undergo a second surgery to remove a retained foreign object. The penalty is $100,000. This is the hospital’s fourth administrative penalty.

3. Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles, Los Angeles, Los Angeles County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow established policies and procedures for safe distribution and administration of medication. The penalty is $50,000. This is the hospital’s first administrative penalty.

4. Fallbrook Hospital District, Fallbrook, San Diego County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow established policies and procedures for safe distribution and administration of medication. The penalty is $25,000. This is the hospital’s first administrative penalty.

5. Marin General Hospital, Greenbrae, Marin County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow established policies and procedures for safe distribution and administration of medication. The penalty is $75,000. This is the hospital’s third administrative penalty.

6. Palomar Health Downtown Campus, Escondido, San Diego County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow established policies and procedures related to care. The penalty is $100,000. This is the hospital’s third administrative penalty.

7. Santa Monica – UCLA Medical Center and Orthopaedic Hospital, Santa Monica, Los Angeles County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow surgical policies and procedures. This resulted in a patient having to undergo a second surgery to remove a retained foreign object. The penalty is $50,000. This is the hospital’s first administrative penalty.

8. Simi Valley Hospital & Health Care Services, Simi Valley, Ventura County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow surgical policies and procedures. This resulted in a patient having to undergo a second surgery to remove a retained foreign object. The penalty is $50,000. This is the hospital’s second administrative penalty.

9. St. Joseph Hospital, Eureka, Humboldt County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not follow surgical policies and procedures. This resulted in a patient having to undergo a second surgery to remove a retained foreign object. The penalty is $50,000. This is the hospital’s first administrative penalty.

10. Tri City Medical Center, Oceanside, San Diego County: The hospital failed to ensure the health and safety of a patient when it did not provide for the safe transfer of a patient. The penalty is $75,000. This is the hospital’s third administrative penalty.

Administrative penalties are issued under authority granted by Health and Safety Code section 1280.1. Incidents that occurred prior to 2009 carry a fine of $25,000. New legislation took effect January 1, 2009, that increased fines for incidents that occurred in 2009 or later. Under the new provisions, an administrative penalty carries a fine of $50,000 for the first violation, $75,000 for the second, and $100,000 for the third or subsequent violation by the licensee. Incidents that occurred prior to 2009 are not counted when determining the fine amounts. CDPH also has the authority to reduce the amount of a penalty issued to a rural hospital.

When hospitals receive their survey findings, they are required to provide CDPH with a plan of correction to prevent future incidents. Hospitals can appeal an administrative penalty by requesting a hearing within ten calendar days of notification. If a hearing is requested and the penalty upheld following an appeal, the penalties must be paid.

All hospitals in California are required to be in compliance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations governing general acute care hospitals, acute psychiatric hospitals, and special hospitals. The hospitals are required to comply with these standards to ensure quality of care.

 
 
Last modified on: 6/5/2013 3:48 PM