Welcome to the State of California 

CDPH Issues $100,000 Fine to San Francisco Nursing Home 

Date: 4/25/2011 

Number: 11-021 

Contact: Al Lundeen 916-440-7259 

SACRAMENTO 

Convalescent Center Mission Street in San Francisco has received a “AA” citation, the most severe penalty under state law, and a $100,000 fine after an investigation concluded that inadequate care led to the death of a resident, announced Dr. Howard Backer, interim director of the California Department of Public Health (CDPH).

The investigation found that the facility, which has changed its name to San Francisco Nursing Center, failed to protect a resident from physical abuse by a facility staff member. The resident died as a result. The staff member was arrested on the day of the incident and awaits trial on criminal charges.

All nursing facilities in California are required to be in compliance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations governing health care facilities. Facilities are required to comply with these standards to ensure quality of care.

California has the statutory authority to impose fines against nursing facilities it licenses as part of enforcement remedies for poor care. State citations that require a civil monetary penalty be imposed are categorized as Class B, A or AA. The associated fines range from $100 to $1,000 for Class B, $2,000 to $20,000 for Class A and $25,000 to $100,000 for Class AA. The citation class and amount of the fine depend upon the significance and severity of the substantiated violation, as prescribed and defined in California law.

By providing nursing facilities it licenses with consequences for substantiated violations, CDPH strives to protect the health and safety of vulnerable individuals. The citation process is part of CDPH’s ongoing enforcement efforts in improving the quality of care provided to residents of the state’s approximately 1,300 skilled nursing facilities.

 
 
Last modified on: 5/26/2011 7:39 AM