Dr. Mark Horton, director of the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), announced today that Winsor House Convalescent Hospital Skilled Nursing Facility in Solano County has received a “AA” citation, the most severe penalty under state law, and a $100,000 fine, the highest fine under state law, from the state of California after an investigation by CDPH concluded that inadequate care led to the death of a resident.
Records show that the resident required assistance with daily living activities and had a history of falling. The resident was found lying on the floor and later died after being transferred to an acute care hospital. CDPH determined that the facility failed to ensure that the environment remained as free of accident hazards as possible and to provide the resident with adequate supervision and assistance devices to prevent accidents.
All nursing facilities in California are required to be in compliance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations governing health care facilities. Facilities are required to comply with these standards to ensure quality of care.
California has the statutory authority to impose fines against nursing facilities it licenses as part of enforcement remedies for poor care. State citations that require a civil monetary penalty be imposed are categorized as Class B, A or AA. The associated fines range from $100 to $1,000 for Class B, $2,000 to $20,000 for Class A and $25,000 to $100,000 for Class AA. The citation class and amount of the fine depend upon the significance and severity of the substantiated violation, as prescribed and defined in California law.
By providing nursing facilities it licenses with consequences for substantiated violations, CDPH strives to protect the health and safety of vulnerable individuals. The citation process is part of CDHS’ ongoing enforcement efforts in improving the quality of care provided to residents of the state’s approximately 1,400 skilled nursing facilities.