Al Lundeen (916) 440-7259
San Tomas Convalescent Hospital in San Jose has received a “AA” citation, the most severe penalty under state law, and a $80,000 fine from the state of California after an investigation concluded that inadequate care led to the death of a resident, announced Dr. Mark Horton, director of the California Department of Public Health (CDPH).The facility failed to ensure that adequate care was provided to the patient including supervision and implementation of the policies and procedures for fall prevention.California has the statutory authority to impose fines against nursing facilities it licenses as part of enforcement remedies for poor care. State citations that require a civil monetary penalty be imposed are categorized as Class B, A or AA. The associated fines range from $100 to $1,000 for Class B, $2,000 to $20,000 for Class A and $25,000 to $100,000 for Class AA. The citation class and amount of the fine depend upon the significance and severity of the substantiated violation, as prescribed and defined in California law.By providing nursing facilities it licenses with consequences for substantiated violations, CDPH strives to protect the health and safety of vulnerable individuals. The citation process is part of CDPH’s ongoing enforcement efforts in improving the quality of care provided to residents of the state’s intermediate care facilities.
| Conditions of Use