Lakewood Manor North in Los Angeles has received an “AA” citation, the most severe under state law, and a $100,000 fine, from the State of California after an investigation
by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) concluded that poor care led to a resident’s death, CDPH Director Dr. Mark Horton announced today.
The facility failed to provide adequate safety support to prevent a fall that resulted in a head injury. The facility also failed to accurately assess the injury or consult with a physician for medical intervention. As a result, the resident died.
All nursing facilities in California are required to be in compliance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations governing health care facilities. Facilities are required to comply with these standards to ensure a minimal level of quality of care.
California has the statutory authority to impose fines against nursing facilities it licenses as a part of enforcement remedies for poor care. State citations that require a civil monetary penalty be imposed are categorized as Class B, A or AA. The associated fines range from $100 to $1,000 for Class B, $2,000 to 20,000 for Class A and $25,000 to $100,000 for Class AA. The citation class and amount of the fine depend upon the significance and severity of the substantiated violation, as prescribed and defined in California law.