Hemet Valley Healthcare Center in Riverside County has received a “AA” citation, the most severe penalty under state law, and a $100,000 fine, the highest fine under state law, from the state of California after an investigation concluded that inadequate care led to the death of a resident, announced Dr. Mark Horton, director of the California Department of Public Health (CDPH).
The skilled nursing facility failed to ensure that the resident received nursing services, which included identifying and planning of the resident’s care, continuing assessment and promptly notifying the attending physician of changes in signs or symptoms exhibited by the resident. These failures led to the resident’s death.
All skilled nursing facilities in California are required to comply with applicable state and federal laws and regulations governing health care facilities to ensure quality of care.
Aside from the violation that recently resulted in an "AA" citation and $100,000 fine, Hemet Valley Healthcare Center has had no significant state violations in the last four years.
California has the statutory authority to impose fines against skilled nursing facilities it licenses as part of enforcement remedies for poor care. State citations that require a civil monetary penalty be imposed are categorized as Class B, A or AA. The associated fines range from $100 to $1,000 for Class B, $2,000 to $20,000 for Class A and $25,000 to $100,000 for Class AA. The citation class and amount of the fine depend upon the significance and severity of the substantiated violation, as prescribed and defined in California law.
By providing nursing facilities it licenses with consequences for substantiated violations, CDPH strives to protect the health and safety of vulnerable individuals. The citation process is part of CDPH’s ongoing enforcement efforts in improving the quality of care provided to residents of the state’s approximately 1,400 skilled nursing facilities.