Facility Is Receiving Intensified Monitoring as a Result of its History of Violations
Dr. Mark Horton, director of the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), today announced that Arden Rehabilitation Center in Sacramento County has received an “A” citation with a $20,000 fine and three “B” citations with fines of $1,000 each for inadequate care of residents.
The facility is receiving intensified monitoring by the state as a result of its history of violations. Since 2006, Arden Rehabilitation Center has received twenty citations from CDPH including 3 “AA” citations; 5 “A” citations and 12 “B” citations.
“Patient safety is the number one priority,” said Horton. “As a result of the facility’s record of violations, we have intensified our monitoring activities, increasing unannounced inspections to ensure that the facility is maintaining an appropriate level of patient care.”
Revocation of the facility’s license for violations of state law was initiated in January 2008. Arden Rehabilitation Center has appealed the intended revocation. An administrative hearing will be held to determine if the license will be revoked. Under state Health and Safety Code section 1424.5, two “AA” citation in less than 24 months triggers automatic action by CDPH to begin revocation of a facility’s license.
“AA” citations are the most serious violation and are issued when a resident death has occurred and it has been determined that the facility’s violation was a direct proximate cause of death. “AA” citations carry fines of $25,000 to $100,000.
“A” citations are issued when violations present imminent danger to patients or the substantial probability of death or serious harm, and carry fines from $2,000 to $20,000.
“B” citations carry fines from $100 to $1000 and are issued for violations which have a direct or immediate relationship to health, safety, or security, but do not qualify as “A” or “AA” citations.
All nursing facilities in California are required to be in compliance with applicable state laws and regulations governing health care facilities. Facilities are required to comply with these standards to ensure quality of care.
By providing nursing facilities it licenses with consequences for substantiated violations, CDPH strives to protect the health and safety for vulnerable individuals. The citation process is part of CDPH’s ongoing enforcement efforts in improving the quality of care provided to residents of the state’s approximately 1,400 skilled nursing facilities.
(See Arden Rehabilitation Center’s citation reports.)