Anita Gore 916 440-7259
Fidelity Health Care in El Monte has received an "AA" citation, the most severe under state law, and an $80,000 fine announced Dr. Ron Chapman, director of the California Department of Public Health and the state health officer.A CDPH investigation found that the facility failed to provide a safe resident environment and adequate supervision which resulted in the death of a resident.All nursing facilities in California are required to be in compliance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations governing health care facilities. Facilities are required to comply with these standards to ensure quality of care.California has the statutory authority to impose fines against nursing facilities it licenses as part of enforcement remedies for poor care. State citations that require a civil monetary penalty be imposed are categorized as Class B, A or AA. The associated fines range from $100 to $1,000 for Class B, $2,000 to $20,000 for Class A and $25,000 to $100,000 for Class AA. The citation class and amount of the fine depends upon the significance and severity of the substantiated violation, as prescribed and defined in California law.By providing nursing facilities with consequences for substantiated violations, CDPH strives to protect the health and safety of vulnerable individuals. The citation process is part of CDPH’s ongoing enforcement efforts in improving the quality of care provided to residents of the state’s approximately 1,300 skilled nursing facilities.
| Conditions of Use