Al Lundeen (916) 440-7259
Creekside Care Center in Stockton has received an “AA” citation, the most severe penalty under state law, and a $100,000 fine after an investigation concluded that inadequate care led to the death of a resident, announced Kathleen Billingsley, chief deputy director of the California Department of Public Health (CDPH).The investigation found that the facility failed to continually assess a resident with an injury and failed to promptly inform the resident’s physician of the change in condition. The resident died as a result of the injury.All nursing facilities in California are required to be in compliance with applicable state and federal laws and regulations governing health care facilities. Facilities are required to comply with these standards to ensure quality of care.California has the statutory authority to impose fines against nursing facilities it licenses as part of enforcement remedies for poor care. State citations that require a civil monetary penalty be imposed are categorized as Class B, A or AA. The associated fines range from $100 to $1,000 for Class B, $2,000 to $20,000 for Class A and $25,000 to $100,000 for Class AA. The citation class and amount of the fine depend upon the significance and severity of the substantiated violation, as prescribed and defined in California law.By providing nursing facilities it licenses with consequences for substantiated violations, CDPH strives to protect the health and safety of vulnerable individuals. The citation process is part of CDPH’s ongoing enforcement efforts in improving the quality of care provided to residents of the state’s approximately 1,300 skilled nursing facilities.
| Conditions of Use