Ralph Montano (916) 440-7259
Hancock Park Rehabilitation Center in Los Angeles County has received an AA citation from the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), the most severe penalty under state law, and a $100,000 fine, the highest possible fine from the state of California, after an investigation concluded that inadequate care led to the death of a resident.The facility failed to implement its policy and current nursing procedure which led to a resident’s death.All nursing facilities in California are required to comply with applicable state and federal laws and regulations governing health care facilities to ensure the quality of their care.California has the statutory authority to impose fines against nursing facilities it licenses as part of enforcement remedies for poor care. State citations that require the levy of a civil monetary penalty are categorized as Class B, A or AA. The associated fines range from $100 to $1,000 for Class B, $2,000 to $20,000 for Class A and $25,000 to $100,000 for Class AA. The citation class and amount of the fine depend upon the significance and severity of the substantiated violation, as prescribed and defined in California law.By providing nursing facilities it licenses with consequences for substantiated violations, CDPH strives to protect the health and safety of vulnerable individuals. The citation process is part of CDPH’s ongoing enforcement efforts to improve the quality of care for residents of the state’s approximately 1,400 skilled nursing facilities.
| Conditions of Use