Welcome to the State of California 

2011 Beverlee A. Myers Award for Excellence in Public Health

The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) is soliciting nominations for the 2011 Beverlee A. Myers Award for Excellence in Public Health. This award recognizes the contributions of public health professionals and health care services in improving the health status of Californians.

The Beverlee A. Myers award is presented each year to an individual who has exhibited outstanding leadership and accomplishments in public health in California. Established in 1993 in honor of the late Beverlee A. Myers, the award reflects the leadership and dedication to all aspects of public health improvement exemplified throughout her 25-year career, which included her service as the Director of the California Department of Health Services from 1978 to 1983.

A selection committee, consisting of the Interim Director and Chief Deputy Directors of CDPH, will review the nominations and select a winner. This year’s award recipient will be recognized at an awards ceremony, scheduled for April 7, 2011, during Public Health Week.

The Beverlee A. Myers Award will be presented to the public health professional that best portrays the following characteristics:

  • Exemplifies dedication and accomplishment in improving the health status of Californians;
  • Demonstrates an ability to work collaboratively and provide leadership within the public health and health service delivery communities;
  • Uses creative methods to promote essential public health services; and
  • Demonstrates sensitivity to addressing the needs of special populations and reducing disparities in health care and health outcomes.
  • In your nomination letter, please include the following information about your nominee:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Phone number
  • Fax number
  • E-mail address
  • Brief description of why you nominated him/her
  • A copy of your nominee’s C.V. or résumé (this is helpful, but is not required.)
  • All nominations must be received by 5 p.m., Wednesday, March 16, 2011.

    If you nominate more than one person, each nominee requires a separate nomination letter.   

    Please submit nominations to:

    Matt Conens
    Office of Public Affairs
    California Department of Public Health
    MS 0502, P.O. Box 997377
    Sacramento, CA 95899-7377

    Please take the time to recognize our colleagues for their outstanding public health accomplishments.

    Past Recipients of the Beverlee A. Myers Award

    1993   Caswell A. Evans, Jr., DDS, MPH, Assistant Director of Health Services, Los Angeles County Health Department

    1994   Carl L. Smith, MD, MPH, Former Alameda County Health Officer

    1995   Joseph M. Hafey, MPA, Executive Director, Western Consortium for Public Health 

    1996   Molly Joel Coye, MD, MPH, Former Director, Department of Health Services 

    1997   Henrick L. Blum, MD, MPH, Professor Emeritus, UC Berkeley, School of Public Health                                     

    1998   Helen Rodriguez-Trias, MD, Co-Director, Pacific Institute of Women’s Health            

    1999   Sandra R. Hernández, MD, Chief Executive Officer, The San Francisco Foundation

    2000   Claire Brindis, Dr. P.H., Institute for Health Policy Studies, UC San Francisco 

    2001   Milton Roemer, MD and Ruth Roemer, JD, World Health Organization

    2003   Bernard S. Weintraub, MD, MPH, Secretary, US Public Health Foundation 
              Sarah Gomez Erlach, RN, BSN, MPH, Chief, DHS Primary Health Services Unit

    2005   Robert K. Ross, MD, President & CEO, The California Endowment

    2006   Gary W. Erbeck, MPH, REHS, Director of the San Diego County Department of Environmental Health

    2007   Jonathan Fielding, MD, MPH, MA, MBA, Director, 
              Department of Public Health and Health Officer, Los Angeles County

    2008   Wendelin M. Slusser, MD, MS, FAAP, Co-director of the UCLA Community Health and Advocacy Training  
              Program for Pediatric Residents, Assistant Clinical Professor of Pediatrics at UCLA, and attending physician at 
              Venice Family Clinic

    2009   Mitchell H. Katz, MD, Director San Francisco Department of Public Health    

    2010   Shu-Hong Zhu, PhD, Professor of Family and Preventive Medicine; 
              Principal Investigator, California Smokers’ Helpline



    Last modified on: 3/6/2011 7:23 AM