
DMV Conviction Data - Orange

Occupant Protection Restraint Conviction Data
Convictions and Failures to Appear, 2000-2007

Orange County
 

 
Year

2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007

Convictions Kaitlyn's 
Law

15620A 
0 0 17 0 3 0 17 28

CPS 27360 11 8 7 8 12 13 13 8

27360A 1,039 828 800 616 654 642 628 620

27360B 138 92 77 80 90 74 86 81

CPS, 6-
16 yo 

27360.5
1,249 971 725 517 739 729 672 643

Adult 27315 10 7 4 14 31 48 202 166

27315D 23,033 21,106 19,903 28,126 38,941 36,915 35,566 30,374

27315E 2,703 2,392 2,009 2,505 3,379 4,932 4,859 4,588

27315F 131 91 91 104 125 122 94 83

Failure to 
Appear

Kaitlyn's 
Law

15620A 
0 0 0 1 0 0 1 1

CPS 27360 1 1 2 4 2 0 0 0

27360A 34 39 57 54 75 80 104 94

27360B 4 6 4 1 4 3 12 7

CPS, 6-
16 yo 

27360.5
20 15 20 21 45 57 36 50

Adult 27315 1 0 6 4 1 1 0 1

27315D 288 334 465 937 1,725 1,988 1,969 1,795

27315E 138 139 140 168 343 842 843 771

27315F 10 11 9 13 39 31 26 23

 

file:///S|/EPIC/DMV_Conviction Data_2007/WebSite/Orange.htm (1 of 2)6/24/2008 2:29:35 PM



DMV Conviction Data - Orange

15620 (Kaitlyn’s Law) - A child who is 6 years of age or younger may not leave that child inside a vehicle without being subject to the supervision of a 
person who is 12 years of age or older, under either of the following circumstances:  (1) where there are conditions that present a significant risk to 
the child's health or safety, (2) when the vehicle's engine is running or the vehicle's keys are in the ignition, or both.  Violations to 15620 are recorded 
under 15620 A.  http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d06_7/vc15620.htm 
 
27360 - A child cannot be transported without properly securing the child in a rear seat in a child passenger restraint system unless the child is one 
of the following: six years of age or older, or 60 pounds or more.  If the parent/legal guardian is in the vehicle then the violation is recorded under 
27360 A.  If the parent/legal guardian is absent, then the driver of the vehicle will receive the violation and it is recorded under 27360 B.  http://www.
dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/vc27360.htm 
 
27360.5 - No parent/legal guardian or when absent in the vehicle the driver, may permit a child who is six years of age or older, but less than 16 years 
of age, or who is less than six years of age and weighs 60 pounds or more without properly securing the child in an appropriate child passenger 
restraint system or safety belt.  http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/vc27360_5.htm 
 
27315 D – A person may not operate a motor vehicle on a highway unless that person and all passengers 16 years of age or over are properly 
restrained by a safety belt.  This code also applies to all passengers over six years old or 60 pounds in the front seat of taxi cabs, limos or in an 
emergency vehicle.  Violations excluding passengers in a sleeping berth are recorded under 27315 E.  http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/
vc27315.htm 
 
27315 F - Every owner of a vehicle, including every owner or operator of a taxicab or a limousine for hire, shall maintain safety belts in good working 
order for the use of occupants of the vehicle. 

 
Data source: California Department of Motor Vehicles
Data prepared by: California Department of Public Health, EPIC Branch - 06/11/2008
Note: If a code is not displayed, then there were no convictions for that code during these years.
 

file:///S|/EPIC/DMV_Conviction Data_2007/WebSite/Orange.htm (2 of 2)6/24/2008 2:29:35 PM

http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d06_7/vc15620.htm
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/vc27360.htm
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/vc27360.htm
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/vc27360_5.htm
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/vc27315.htm
http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/vctop/d12/vc27315.htm

	Local Disk
	DMV Conviction Data - Orange


