
 
 
 
 
 
Frequently Asked Questions Regarding the Public Pool and Spa 
Safety Act - AB 1020  
 

1. Does the surcharge apply to each swimming pool or to each facility? 
 

The annual fee specified in Health and Safety Code Section 116064.2(l)(1) 
applies to each public swimming pool.  

 
2. Do facilities that have already complied, received approval by the county, and 

filled out a form provided by the county, still need to fill out the new form when it 
is issued by CDPH? 

 
Facilities that have already complied and filled out a form provided by the 
county before CDPH issues the new form will not need to fill out the new 
form issued by CDPH as long as 1) the county form contains the minimum 
required information required for the compliance form as specified in AB 
1020 and 2) the county form is completed and submitted to the county 
before CDPH issues the new form. 

 
3. When will CDPH send notice to the local health departments regarding the 

amount and collection of the state fee? 
 

An e-mail regarding the fee was sent to all local environmental health 
directors on October 19, 2009.  In addition, the same information was 
recently sent out in hardcopy letters to all of the local environmental health 
directors. 

 
4. If a local health department sends bills out at the end of the calendar year, when 

should they transmit the surcharge (fee) to the Controller? 
 

The local health department should transmit the surcharge (fee) to the 
Controller as soon as practicable in accordance with the appropriate 
administrative process of the city/county. 
 

5. Does CDPH anticipate publishing a list of “approved” equipment?  If so when?  
 

Health and Safety Code Section 116064.2(b) requires CDPH to adopt 
ASME/ANSI  or ASTM performance standards relating to anti-entrapment 
devices or systems or an amendment or successor to, or later published 
edition of an ASME/ANSI performance standard relating to anti-entrapment 
devices or systems, as the applicable standard in California 90 days after 
publication by ASME/ANSI or ASTM, respectively, provided that the 
performance standard or amendment or successor to, or later published 
addition is approved by the department within 90 days of the publication of 
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the performance standard by ASME/ANSI or ASTM, respectively.  In 
addition, the work plan indicates that CDPH will establish and maintain a 
clearinghouse of approved equipment and construction methods for 
industry, local governments and the public.   
 

6. Does CDPH have the authority to issue a waiver for installed VGB compliant 
drain covers that do not meet more stringent Title 24 requirements?  

 
No.  CDPH does not have the authority to issue waivers.  In general, drain 
covers must also satisfy the state regulations located in the California 
Code of Regulations, Title 24, Section 3134B.3 requirements.  However, 
although CDPH does not have the authority to issue waivers, local 
enforcing agencies may approve alternate equipment, material or method 
of construction in accordance with Section 3105B of Title 24. The following 
is the text of Section 3105B: 
 

Sec. 3105B (formerly 2-9005) Alternate Equipment, Materials, and 
Methods of Construction.  
3105B.1 The enforcing agency may approve an alternate equipment, 
material, or method of construction, provided it finds that the 
proposed design is satisfactory and complies with the provisions of 
this Chapter, that the equipment, material, method, or work offered 
is, for the purpose intended, at least equivalent of that prescribed in 
suitability, strength, effectiveness, fire resistance, durability, safety, 
and sanitation, or that the methods of installation proposed conform 
to other acceptable nationally recognized standards, and providing 
the alternate has been approved and its use authorized by the 
enforcing agency.  
3105B.2 The enforcing agency shall require that sufficient evidence 
or proof be submitted to substantiate any claims that may be made 
regarding its use.  
3105B.3 Whenever there is insufficient evidence of compliance with 
the provisions of this Chapter, the enforcing agency may require 
tests as proof of compliance to be made at no expense to the 
enforcing agency. Tests shall be made in accordance with approved 
standards, but in the absence of such standards, the enforcing 
agency shall specify the test procedure. 

   
7. Who should the public contact for questions regarding the collection of the 

annual fee? 
 

According to the work plan, CDPH will establish a state telephone line for 
response to inquiries regarding the new entrapment and compliance 
requirements. 
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8. Must a single skimmer equalizer line have an approved cover, be split and 

hydraulically balanced, and/or have a Safety Vacuum Release System (SVRS) or 
some other device/system installed? 

 
Health and Safety Code Section 116064.2(a)(7) specifically excludes a 
“skimmer equalizer line” from the definition of a main drain.  Based on this 
exclusion, it would appear that state law would not require a skimmer 
equalizer line to have an approved cover, be split and hydraulically 
balanced, and/or have a Safety Vacuum Release System (SVRS) or some 
other device/system installed. 
 
At the federal level, based on CPSC’s staff interpretation of the VGB Act, 
skimmer equalizer lines are not considered to be main drains.  However, 
according to CPSC’s staff interpretation, skimmer equalizer lines must 
either have an approved cover or be plugged. 
 
The following questions and answers regarding skimmer equalizer lines 
can be found at www.poolsafety.gov/pssafaq.html: 
 

Q: Are equalizer lines in public pools covered in the Act? 
A: Yes, skimmer equalizer lines are submerged drains and must 

either be covered (with an ASME/ANSI A112.19.8-2007 
compliant cover) or plugged. Equalizer lines are not 
considered to be main drains based on CPSC staff's 
interpretation of the law. [Last Updated: January 30, 2009] 

 
Q: If my pool has one main drain and one or more skimmers, 

does it need a second anti-entrapment device or system? 
A: Yes. CPSC staff currently has no technical evidence to support 

claims that this type of set-up would be equivalent to a 
multiple main drain system. Therefore, unless the main drain 
is unblockable this type of set-up would require the 
installation of a second anti-entrapment system, as outlined in 
CPSC’s staff interpretation. [Last Updated: January 30, 2009] 

 
9. Does the surcharge apply to public swimming pools that are fee exempt? 
 

According to Health and Safety Code Section 116064.2(l)(4), owners that 
are exempt from local swimming pool permit fees shall also be exempt 
from the fees imposed pursuant to this subdivision. 
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10. Effective January 1, 2010, are all anti-entrapment devices or systems published 

by ASME/ANSI or ASTM acceptable for installation in California? 
 
 Health and Safety Code Section 116064.2(c) states that every public 

swimming pool shall be equipped with anti-entrapment devices or systems 
that comply with ASME/ANSI performance standard A112.19.8, as in effect 
December 31, 2009, or any applicable ASME/ANSI performance standard 
that has been adopted by CDPH.  In addition, Health and Safety Code 
Section 116064.2(d)(1) also refers to effective performance standards 
(ASME/ANSI performance standard A112.19.17 and ASTM performance 
standard F2387), as in effect on December 31, 2009, or any applicable 
ASME/ANSI or ASTM performance standard that has been adopted by 
CDPH. 

 
11. What if California does not approve a performance standard relating to anti-

entrapment device or system or amendment or successor to, or later published 
edition of, an ASME/ANSI or ASTM performance standard relating to anti-
entrapment devices or systems within 90 days of publication? 

 
 If CDPH does not approve a new performance standard within 90 days of 

publication of the new performance standard by ASME/ANSI or ASTM, then 
the effective performance standard will be the ASME/ANSI or ASTM 
performance standard, as in effect December 31, 2009, or the latest 
performance standard that has been adopted by CDPH. 

 
However, according to the VGB Act, each public pool and spa shall be 
equipped with anti-entrapment devices or systems that comply with the 
ASME/ANSI A112.19.8 performance standard, or any successor standard.  
In this case, federal law is stricter than state law and requires that the 
effective performance standard is any successor standard. 

 
12. What are the minimum requirements for an AB 1020 compliance form? 
 

• CDPH required to issue a form for use by March 31, 2010. 
 

• CDPH required to consult with health officers and environmental health directors in developing 
form. 

 
• CDPH required to post the form on it’s website 

 
• Form is to be completed by owner and filed with local environmental health department: 

 
o Within 30 days following the completion of the swimming pool construction or 

installation. 
 

o Within 30 days of the date that CDPH issues the form if the construction or 
installation is completed prior to the date that CDPH issues the form. 

 
o If no further retrofitting is required for a public swimming pool that completed a 

retrofit between December 19, 2007, and January 1, 2010, that complied with the 
Virginia Graeme Baker Pool and Spa Safety Act (15 U.S.C. Sec. 8001 et seq.) as in 
effect on the date of issue of the construction permit. 
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• If form not filed, then may file the following information in lieu of the form: 

 
   (A) A signed statement attesting that the required work 
    has been completed. 
 

(B) A document containing the name and license number of the 
qualified individual who completed the required work. 

 
(C) Either a copy of the final building permit, if required by the local 

agency, or a copy of one of the following documents if no permit 
was required: 

 
(i) A document that describes the modification in a manner 

that provides sufficient information to document the work 
that was done to comply with federal law. 

 
(ii) A copy of the final paid invoice. The amount paid for the 

services may be omitted or redacted from the final invoice 
prior to submission. 

 
o If no further retrofitting is required for a nonportable wading pool that completed a 

retrofit prior to January 1, 2010, that complied with state law on the date of issue of 
the construction permit. 

 
• If form not filed, then may file the following information in lieu of the form: 

 
   (A) A signed statement attesting that the required work 
    has been completed. 
 

(B) A document containing the name and license number of the 
qualified individual who completed the required work. 

 
(C) Either a copy of the final building permit, if required by the local 

agency, or a copy of one of the following documents if no permit 
was required: 

 
(i) A document that describes the modification in a manner 

that provides sufficient information to document the work 
that was done to comply with federal law. 

 
(ii) A copy of the final paid invoice. The amount paid for the 

services may be omitted or redacted from the final invoice 
prior to submission. 

 
• The public swimming pool owner or operator shall not make a false statement, representation, 

certification, record, report, or otherwise falsify information that he or she is required to file or 
maintain. 

 
• Form must contain the following information: 

 
o A statement of whether the pool operates with a single or split main drain. 

 
o Identification of the type of anti-entrapment devices or systems that have been 

installed, and the date or dates of installation. 
 

o Identification of the type of devices or systems designed to prevent physical 
entrapment that have been installed in a public swimming pool with a single main 
drain that is not an unblockable drain, and the date or dates of installation or the 
reason why the requirement is not applicable. 

 
 Safety Vacuum Release System 
 Suction-limiting Vent System 
 Gravity Drainage System 



 

These FAQs are unofficial descriptions and interpretations of AB1020 and do not replace or supersede the 
statutory requirements of the legislation.  These FAQs were prepared by CDPH staff, have not been reviewed or 
approved by, and may not necessarily reflect the views of, the Department.    

6

 Automatic Pump Shut-off System 
 Any other system deemed to be equally or more effective in accordance with 

federal law 
 

o Identification of at least two main drains per pump that are hydraulically balanced 
and symmetrically plumbed through one or more “T” fittings, and that are 
separated by a distance of at least three feet in any dimension between the drains, 
and the date or dates of installation of the split drains (required for public 
swimming pools constructed on or after January 1, 2010). 

 
o A signature and license number of a qualified individual who certifies that the 

factual information provided on the form is true to the best of his or her knowledge. 
    

• A qualified individual who improperly certifies information shall be subject to potential 
disciplinary action at the discretion of the licensing authority. 

 
• Health officers and environmental health directors shall consider documentation filed on or with 

the form by the owner as evidence of compliance.  Local environmental health department may 
verify the accuracy of the information filed on or with the form. 

 
13. Who is qualified to perform AB 1020 compliant work on a public swimming 

pool? 
 

Health and Safety Code Section 116064.2(a)(C)(5) defines “qualified 
individual” as a contractor who holds a current valid license issued by 
the State of California or a professional engineer licensed in the State of 
California who has expertise working on public swimming pools.  

In addition, the following information is posted on the California 
Department of Consumer Affairs, Contractors State License Board 
website at:  

http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Consumers/HireAContractor/SwimmingPoolCon
struction/SelectingAPoolContractor.asp 

“Contractors who build or repair swimming pools must be licensed as 
swimming pool specialty contractors.  A general building contractor 
may also contract for swimming pool work provided the general 
building contractor holds the swimming pool specialty classification, or 
the general building contractor hires a licensed swimming pool 
specialty contractor to perform the work.” 

“Other contractors like plumbers, landscapers, solar workers, etc., 
should work within their specific areas of licensure, and cannot be 
responsible for the overall project.” 
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14. Are municipal swimming pools exempt from the requirements of AB 1020? 

Based on the following definition of public swimming pool, a municipal 
pool is considered a public swimming pool and is subject to the 
requirements of AB 1020: 

Health and Safety Code Section 116064.2(a)(4) defines a “Public Swimming 
Pool” as  an outdoor or indoor structure, whether in-ground or above-
ground, intended for swimming or recreational bathing, including a 
swimming pool, hot tub, spa, or nonportable wading pool, that is any of the 
following: 
(A)Open to the public generally, whether for a fee or free of charge. 
(B) Open exclusively to members of an organization and their guests, 
residents of a multiunit apartment building, apartment complex, residential 
real estate development, or other multifamily residential area, or patrons of 
a hotel or other public accommodations facility. 

 (C) Located on the premises of an athletic club, or public or private school.  
 
15. What enforcement options are available to local jurisdictions if a public swimming 

pool does not comply with AB 1020 requirements by the July 1, 2010, deadline? 
 

California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Section 65545(a) states “If, in the 
opinion of the enforcing agent, a pool is maintained or operated in a 
manner which creates an unhealthful, unsafe, or unsanitary condition, the 
pool may be closed by the enforcing agent.  Such a pool shall not be 
reopened until correction is made, and upon, specific written approval of 
the enforcing agent”. 

 
16.      What information will be contained in the compliance form issued by CDPH?  
 

The compliance form issued by CDPH will include information necessary 
for an owner of a public swimming pool to indicate compliance with the 
requirements specified in AB 1020.  This required information is listed in 
Health and Safety Code Section 116064.2(g), and the information provided 
is to be certified by a “qualified individual”.  More comprehensive technical 
information typically required by local health departments for the 
swimming pool construction plan review/check process will not be 
included in the form.  


