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TOBACCO SALES TO MINORS FALL TO ALL-TIME LOW 

 
SACRAMENTO – Announcing that fewer California stores are selling cigarettes to 
minors, Dr. Mark Horton, director of the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), 
today announced the findings of a CDPH survey on tobacco sales.  
 
“I’m very pleased to see the continued drop in tobacco sales to minors,” said Horton, 
noting that the rate of illegal tobacco sales to minors dropped from 12.6 percent in 2008 
to a record low of 8.6 percent in 2009 (sales chart). “There is simply no reason why 
minors should be able to buy tobacco products.” 
 
CDPH’s 2009 Youth Tobacco Purchase Survey further showed this rate is a historical 
low from 37 percent in 1995, when the state first started monitoring the illegal sales to 
minors. Retail stores commonly associated with the selling of tobacco products, such as 
grocery, drug, tobacco, liquor, or gas stations, sold at an all-time low of 8.5 percent. 
Drugstores/pharmacies had the lowest rate of illegal sales a 2.3 percent. Despite the 
overall drop in illegal sales statewide, the survey found sales in certain retail outlets 
remain high. Non-traditional retail stores, such as doughnut shops, discount stores, or 
deli/meat markets, were found on average to sell tobacco to minors at 13 percent.  The 
highest rate of illegal sales occurred at doughnut shops at 21.6 percent and tobacco 
shops at 21.1 percent.  
  
“Seventy-four percent of current adult smokers began smoking at or before the age of 
18,” added Horton.  “With this in mind, we encourage all retailers to put an end to illegal 
sales to minors, and encourage those who witness it to report it to the manager or 
anonymously through the statewide hotline.”  
 
The decline is attributed to a variety of factors including the increased price of 
cigarettes, strong local tobacco retailers licensing laws, state and local enforcement 
plus ongoing public education via media ads placed on television and on major motion 
picture DVDs. The California Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement Act requires 
that tobacco retailers post a warning sign at each point-of-sale stating that selling 
tobacco to persons under 18 years of age is illegal and subject to penalties. Customers 
may call (1-800-5 ASK-4-ID) to report underage tobacco sales.  
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Fan us on Facebook and follow Dr. Horton on Twitter! 
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