Welcome to the State of California 

Drinking Water Regulations - Process

Last Update:  July 12, 2013

The main steps in the regulations process are listed below. 

When a maximum contaminant level (MCL) is proposed, there are additional steps prior to the formal regulations process.

The procedural steps are:

  1. The Department's drafting of the regulations text and required documents, such as the Initial Statement of Reasons.
  2. Review by the Department of Finance.
  3. Submittal to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) for review and approval prior to publication in the California Regulatory Notice Register.  This announces availability of the regulation for the public comment period.
  4. A 45-day public comment period.
  5. There may be a second, 15-day public comment period, but only if changes are made in response to comments from the prior public comment period. 
  6. Preparation of responses to comments and the final regulations package.
  7. Submittal to OAL for final review for Administrative Procedure Act compliance—this can take up to 30 working days.
  8. Unless an alternative effective date was established pursuant to Government Code section 11343.4(b), following OAL approval, the regulation is filed with the Secretary of State and becomes effective according to the following schedule: 
    January 1 if the regulation or order of repeal is filed on September 1 to November 30, inclusive.
    April 1 if the regulation or order of repeal is filed on December 1 to February 29, inclusive.
    July 1 if the regulation or order of repeal is filed on March 1 to May 31, inclusive.
    October 1 if the regulation or order of repeal is filed on June 1 to August 31, inclusive.

For more about regulations, go to CDPH's Office of Regulations and Hearings.

Upcoming Drinking Water Regulations
 
 
Last modified on: 4/15/2014 4:42 PM