How to Obtain a Certified Copy of a Birth Record



AVAILABILITY OF RECORDS

Birth records are available 21 days after the date of event. You may request a copy from either the county of birth or from the California Department of Public Health – Vital Records (CDPH-VR). CDPH-VR issues vital records for all of California where as counties can only issue records for events that occurred in that county.

If CDPH-VR cannot locate the record based on the information you provide, the law authorizes CDPH-VR to retain the fee for the search, and CDPH-VR will issue a Certificate of No Public Record (CNPR).

IF THE RECORD NEEDS AMENDMENT

Amendments to original birth records are frequently submitted to CDPH-VR to correct errors or add information to original documents. Copies of amended certificates may be requested at the same time the amendment is submitted. The applicant receives a certified copy once the amendment is completed.

- If you request a certified copy before the amendment has been completed, you may receive either: a copy of the un-amended record, or a CNPR if CDPH-VR is not able to locate the record.
- If you know that the record is being amended, and it is in the amended record that you want, please wait until after the amendment has been completed before requesting a certified copy.

CERTIFIED COPIES AND SWORN STATEMENTS

There are two types of certified copies available upon request:

1) **Certified Copy** (*authorized persons only*)

A certified copy can be used to establish the identity of the person named on the certificate.

If you are requesting a certified copy, you MUST provide a notarized sworn statement (see page 5 of application) declaring under penalty of perjury that you are authorized by law to receive the certified copy (see application for list of authorized individuals).

If you are requesting a certified copy and a notarized sworn statement is not included, CDPH-VR will not accept your request for processing.

Note: Only one sworn statement is required for multiple records that are requested at the same time – however, the sworn statement must include the name of each person whose record is being requested and your relationship to that person.

2) Certified Informational Copy (any interested person)

If you are requesting a certified informational copy, you DO NOT need to provide a sworn statement.

A certified informational copy has a legend printed on the face of the document that states, "INFORMATIONAL, NOT A VALID DOCUMENT TO ESTABLISH IDENTITY." Persons who are not eligible to receive a certified copy can receive a certified informational copy.

Both types of documents are certified copies of the original document on file with CDPH-VR. Depending on the exact year of event, some certified informational copies will have signatures and Social Security numbers redacted (concealed).

WHAT TO SUBMIT FOR A CERTIFIED COPY OF A BIRTH CERTIFICATE

- □ Completed "Application for Certified Copy of Birth Record" (VS 111).
- □ Notarized sworn statement (if applicable).
- □ \$29 fee per copy requested (check or money order in US dollars, made payable to CDPH-Vital Records) **NO CASH.**

APPLICANT NOTIFICATION

Once your request has been received and evaluated:

- If your request is not accepted (e.g., due to insufficient fees, insufficient information, etc.), the request will be returned with a letter explaining what needs to be corrected; or,
- If your request is accepted, CDPH-VR will process the application and mail out a copy of the certificate(s) you requested.

PROCESSING TIMES

To check current processing times for certified copies of birth certificates, visit the CDPH-VR Website (https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHSI/Pages/Vital-Records-Processing-Times.aspx).

If you need your copy sooner, please refer to the enclosed list of county recorder's offices to contact the county where the event occurred.

Mail all applications and written inquiries to the address below. If you have any questions, please contact the CDPH-VR Customer Service Unit, Monday through Friday, 8AM – 4PM.

California Department of Public Health | Vital Records – MS 5103 P.O. Box 997410 | Sacramento CA, 95899-7410 (916) 445-2684 | <u>CHSIVitalRecords@cdph.ca.gov</u> CA Relay: 711/1-800-735-2929

	APPLICATION FOR CERTIFIED COPY OF BIRTH RECORD \$29.00 PER COPY
	PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS ON PAGE 2 BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION.
CE	RTIFICATE TYPE: I am requesting an AUTHORIZED COPY (notarized sworn statement required)
	I am requesting an INFORMATIONAL COPY
Part 1	- Relationship to Person on Certificate (Registrant): Check appropriate box.
	The registrant or a parent, legal guardian, child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant. (Legal guardian must provide documentation.)
	A party entitled to receive the record as a result of court order or an attorney or licensed adoption agency seeking the birth record in order to comply with the requirements of Section 3140 or 7603 of the Family Code. (Please include a copy of the court order.)
	A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business. (Companies representing a government agency must provide authorization from the government agency.)
	Any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate. (Include a copy of the power of attorney or documentation identifying you as executor.)
	An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate.
Part 2	- Birth Record Information: Complete the information below as shown on the birth record.
	Requesting sealed record (if checked, see #3 on instructions page)

FIRST Name	MIDDLE Name	MIDDLE Name		LAST Name		
City of Birth (must be Calif	County of Birth	ounty of Birth Date of Birth -		- MM/DD/YYYY (or approximate date)		
Parent FIRST Name	Parent L	AST Name at Birth	Parer	nt FIRST Name		Parent LAST Name at Birth

Part 3 - Applicant Information: Please PRINT all information legibly.

Applicant Name			Maili	Mailing Address: Number, Street, and Unit # (if applicable)				
Zip Code	e Cit	y			State/Province	Country		
Telephone (include area code) Email Address			ddress		Reason for Request			
Agency l	Jse (if applic	cable)						
Agency Name		C		Case/ID Number	Contract Number			
Applicat	ion Checklis	t:						
	Check/Mon	ey Order Enclosed		Notarize	d Sworn Statement	Number of		
L (No Cash)		Enclo		ed (if applicable)	Copies			
	You ma	ay view current p	rocessin	g times on	the CDPH-VR webs	site (<u>www.cdph.ca.gov</u>).		
				BI	RTH			
5 111 (2/24)			Page 3 of 5					

INSTRUCTIONS

- 1. Complete a separate application for each birth record requested.
- 2. In Part 1, check the appropriate box according to the relationship to the person on the certificate. ONLY authorized individuals (Health and Safety Code Section 103526) listed in Part 1 may obtain an authorized copy. All others may receive a certified informational copy that will be marked, "Informational, Not a Valid Document to Establish Identity."
- 3. If adopted and requesting current record, enter the **adopted** name in Part 2. To request the **original** birth certificate, provide a court order releasing the original sealed record and check the "Requesting sealed record" box.
- 4. Complete Part 2 and Part 3. In Part 2, provide as much information as possible to help identify the record.
- 5. Indicate the number of copies and submit \$29.00 for **each** copy in the form of a check or money order, made payable to "CDPH-Vital Records" in US dollars. **DO NOT SEND CASH.**

6. SWORN STATEMENT:

- Only one sworn statement is required for multiple records.
- Sworn statements are not required for informational copy requests.
- Authorized individuals must complete the top portion of the attached sworn statement by signing and identifying their relationship to person listed on certificate.
- Sworn statements must be notarized for authorized copy requests. Law enforcement and governmental agencies are exempt from the notary requirement, but must complete the top portion of the sworn statement page.
- A sworn statement notarized by a foreign notary must have an apostille attached. Foreign notarizations obtained by an Ambassador, Minister, Consul, Vice Consul, or Consular Agent of the United States, or from a Judge of Court of record having a seal in a foreign county do not require an apostille.
- 7. Mail completed applications with the fee(s) to the address below.

SWORN STATEMENT

, declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the (Applicant's Printed Name)

State of California, that I am an authorized person, as defined in California Health and Safety Code Section

103526 (c), and am eligible to receive a certified copy of the birth, death, or marriage certificate of the following individual(s):

Registrant (Name of person whose certificate you are requesting)	Applicant's Relationship to Registrant (Must be an authorized person)

(The remaining information must be completed in the presence of a Notary Public or CDPH Vital Records staff.)

Subscribed to this	da	y of	, 20	, at		,		
	(Day)	(Month)			(City)		(State)	
						(App	licant's Signa	ture)

	who signed the document to which this certificat	ertificate verifies only the identity of the individual e is attached, and not the truthfulness, accuracy, or nat document.
State	of	
Count	ty of	
On	before me, (Insert name and title o	, personally appeared f the officer)
who p	proved to me on the basis of satisfactory evidenc	e to be the person(s) whose name(s) is/are
subsc	ribed to the within instrument and acknowledg	ed to me that he/she/they executed the same in
his/he	er/their authorized capacity(ies), and that by his/	her/their signature(s) on the instrument the
oerso	n(s), or the entity upon behalf of which the perso	n(s) acted, executed the instrument. I certify under
PENA	LTY OF PERJURY under the laws of the State of Ca	lifornia that the foregoing paragraph is true and
corre	ct	
	(SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUB	LIC) WITNESS my hand and official seal.

BIRTH

(SEAL)



This page left blank intentionally.

CALIFORNIA COUNTY RECORDERS

Alameda	1106 Madison Street, First Floor, Oakland, CA 94607, (510) 272-6362
	99 Water Street. P.O. Box 155, Markleeville, CA 96120, (530) 694-2283
•	810 Court Street, Jackson, CA 95642, (209) 223-6468
	155 Nelson Avenue, Oroville, CA 95965, (530) 538-7691
	891 Mountain Ranch Road, San Andreas, CA 95249, (209) 754-6372
	546 Jay Street, Suite 200, Colusa, CA 95932, (530) 458-0500
	555 Escobar Street, or P.O. Box 350, Martinez, CA 94553, (925) 335-7910
	981 H Street, Suite 160, Crescent City, CA 95531, (707) 464-7216
El Dorado	360 Fair Lane, Placerville, CA 95667, (530) 621-5490
Fresno	2281 Tulare Street, Room 302, or P.O. Box 766, Fresno, CA 93712,
	(559) 600-3476
Glenn	516 West Sycamore Street, Willows, CA 95988, (530) 934-6412
Humboldt	Courthouse, 825 Fifth Street, Fifth Floor, Eureka, CA 95501, (707) 445-7382
	Courthouse, 940 West Main Street, Suite 202, El Centro, CA 92243-2865,
	(442) 265-1076
Inyo	168 North Edwards Street, or P.O. Drawer F, Independence, CA 93526,
	(760) 878-0222
Kern	1655 Chester Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301, (661) 868-6400
Kings	Government Center, 1400 West Lacey Boulevard, Hanford, CA 93230,
	(559) 582-3211 <i>,</i> ext. 2470
Lake	Courthouse, 255 North Forbes Street, Lakeport, CA 95453, (707) 263-2293
Lassen	220 South Lassen Street, Suite 5, Susanville, CA 96130, (530) 251-8234
Los Angeles	12400 Imperial Highway, Norwalk, CA 90650, (800) 201-8999 or (562) 462-2137
Madera	200 West Fourth Street, Madera, CA 93637, (559) 675-7724
Marin	3501 Civic Center Drive, Suite 232, San Rafael, CA 94903, (415) 473-6094
Mariposa	Hall of Records Building, 4982 Tenth Street, or P.O. Box 35, Mariposa, CA 95338
	(209) 966-5719
Mendocino	501 Low Gap Road, Room 1020, Ukiah, CA 95482, (707) 234-6822
Merced	2222 M Street, Merced, CA 95340, (209) 385-7627
Modoc	204 South Court Street, Room 106, Alturas, CA 96101, (530) 233-6205
Mono	74 School Street, Annex 1, or P.O. Box 237, Bridgeport, CA 93517, (760) 932-5530
Monterey	168 West Alisal Street, First Floor, or P.O. Box 29, Salinas, CA 93902,
	(831) 755-5041
Napa	900 Coombs Street, Room 116, or P.O. Box 298, Napa, CA 94559,
	(707) 253-4105
	950 Maidu Avenue, Suite 210, Nevada City, CA 95959, (530) 265-1221
-	601 North Ross Street, Santa Ana, CA 92701, (714) 834-2500
Placer	2954 Richardson Drive, Auburn, CA 95603, (530) 886-5600

Plumas	520 Main Street, Room 102, Quincy, CA 95971, (530) 283-6218 or
	(530) 283-6256
Riverside	2724 Gateway Drive, or P.O. Box 751, Riverside, CA 92507, (951) 955-6200
Sacramento	3636 American River Drive, Sacramento, CA 95864, (916) 874-6334
San Benito	County Courthouse, 440 Fifth Street, Room 206, Hollister, CA 95023,
	(831) 636-4046
San Bernardino	222 West Hospitality Lane, First Floor, San Bernardino, CA 92415, (855) 732-2575
San Diego	1600 Pacific Highway, Suite 260, or P.O. Box 121750, San Diego, CA 92112-1750,
	(619) 237-0502
San Francisco	1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, City Hall, Room 190, San Francisco, CA 94102,
	(415) 554-5596*
•	101 Grove Street, Room 105, San Francisco, CA 94102, (415) 554-2700**
San Joaquin	44 North San Joaquin Street, Suite 260, or P.O. Box 1968, Stockton, CA 95202
	(209) 468-3939
•	1055 Monterey Street, Room D120, San Luis Obispo, CA 93408, (805) 781-5080
	555 County Center Drive, 1st Floor, Redwood City, CA 94063, (650) 363-4500
Santa Barbara	1100 Anacapa Street, or P.O. Box 159, Santa Barbara, CA 93102,
	(805) 568-2250
Santa Clara	110 W. Tasman Drive, First Floor, San Jose, CA 95134
	(408) 299-5688
	701 Ocean Street, Room 230, Santa Cruz, CA 95060, (831) 454-2800
	1450 Court Street, Suite 208, Redding, CA 96001, (530) 225-5678
Sierra	100 Courthouse Square, Room 11, or P.O. Drawer D, Downieville, CA 95936, (530) 289-3295
Siskiyou	311 Fourth Street, Room 107, Yreka, CA 96098, (530) 842-8065
Solano	675 Texas Street, Suite 2700, Fairfield, CA 94533, (707) 784-6294
Sonoma	585 Fiscal Drive, Room 103-F, Santa Rosa, CA 95403, (707) 565-3800
Stanislaus	1021 I Street, Suite 101, or P.O. Box 1670, Modesto, CA 95353,
	(209) 525-5250 or (209) 525-5260
Sutter	433 Second Street, Yuba City, CA 95991, (530) 822-7134
Tehama	Courthouse, 633 Washington Street, Room 11, or
	P.O. Box 250, Red Bluff, CA 96080, (530) 527-3350
Trinity	11 Court Street, or P.O. Box 1215, Weaverville, CA 96093, (530) 623-1215
Tulare	County Civic Center, 221 South Mooney Boulevard, Room 103, Visalia, CA 93291
	(559) 636-5050
Tuolumne	2 South Green Street, 3 rd Floor, Sonora, CA 95370, (209) 533-5531
	Hall of Administration, Main Plaza, 800 S. Victoria Avenue, Ventura, CA 93009
	(805) 654-3665
Yolo	625 Court Street, Room B0l, or P.O. Box 1130, Woodland, CA 95776,
	(530) 666-8130
Yuba	915 Eighth Street, Suite 107, Marysville, CA 95901, (530) 749-7850