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First Time California Has Changed Tobacco Age Law in 144 Years

OnJune 9, 2016, tobacco
retailers will be prohibited
from selling tobacco
products (including
electronic smoking products
and devices) to people
under 21 years of age
unless they’re active duty
military personnel.
Additionally, e-cigarette use
is not allowed anywhere
smoking is prohibited
including public transit,
worksites, restaurants,
schools, and playgrounds.

New Tobacco Laws Take Effect June 9™

e SB X2 5 (Leno) classifies e-cigarettes as tobacco products, making them subject to smoke-free laws,
age restrictions and other rules governing tobacco products. California’s smoke-free workplace law,
which is enforced locally, will now prohibit the use of e-cigarettes everywhere tobacco smoking is
prohibited.

e AB X2 7 (Stone) removes certain exemptions from the smoke-free workplace laws, including enclosed
workplaces, hotel lobbies, meeting rooms, banquet rooms, warehouses, and employee breakrooms;
and decreases the number of hotel/motel guestrooms where smoking is allowed from 65 percent to
20 percent. And, the removal of these certain exemptions will also apply to e-cigarettes as well.

e SB X2 7 (Hernandez) prohibits the sale, furnishing or giving of tobacco products, including e-
cigarettes, to persons under 21. When checking IDs of tobacco product purchasers, retailers will now
need to ensure that the buyer is 21 or over.

e AB X2 9 (Thurmond & Nazarian) requires all public schools to be tobacco free, including charter
schools; and provides that tobacco-free school campus policy includes e-cigarettes. Previously, only
schools that received tobacco use prevention funding were required to be tobacco free.

e AB X2 11 (Nazarian) raises tobacco licensing fees applicable to retailers, distributors and wholesalers,
under the state Board of Equalization from a one-time fee to an increased annual fee.

California

A 2015 study by the Centers
for Disease Control and
Prevention found that the
use of e-cigarettes by high
school students tripled from
2013 to 2014. The
classification of e-cigarettes
as tobacco products will also
make it harder for youth to
get these types of products
and devices. A 2015 Institute
of Medicine study estimated
that increasing the tobacco
purchase age to 21 would
result nationally in 200,000

According to the National
Survey on Drug Use and Health,
some 90 percent of tobacco
users start before 21, and about
80 percent first try tobacco
before they’re 18.

Tobacco COtrol Program

Within the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) is the California Tobacco
Control program (CTCP) —
premature death attributable to the use of tobacco products. Through leadership, experience and
research, CTCP empowers statewide and local health agencies to promote health and quality of life by
advocating for social norms that create a tobacco-free environment.

CTCP funds and coordinates the efforts of local communities in California to create smoke-free
environments, prevent illegal sales of tobacco products to youth, counter marketing practices of the
tobacco industry, and help smokers to quit using tobacco products.

with a mission to improve the health of all Californians by reducing illness and

fewer premature deaths for
those born between 2000 and
2019.

The California Department of
Public Health (CDPH) is
developing educational
resources for retailers to learn
more about the Tobacco 21
law and to help retailers
comply. Please visit CDPH’s
Web site for further details,
resources and information to
make sure you're prepared.

California Tobacco 21 Laws

(http:/[www.cdph.ca.gov/prog
rams/tobacco/Pages/Tobacco2
1.aspx)

The Sale of
Tobacco Products
or Electronic

Smoking Devices
to Persons Under
21 is Prohihitgd .

Products Covered by the
New Tobacco Laws

o E-cigarettes e Cigars

e E-hookah e Cigarillos

e Vape Pens o Little Cigars

e Vaping Devices * Chewing

¢ Mods Tobacco

e E-liquids e Snus

e Hookah e Pipe
Tobacco

o Cigarettes

The Sale of Tobacco Products to Persons Under 21 Years
of Age Is Prohibited by Law and Subject to Penalties

To Report an Unlawful Tobacco Sale Call

1-800-5 ASK-4-ID

US. Armed mast be at least
Valid Idantiﬁcatlnn May Be Required
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This is a periodic update for the Legislature on CDPH issues. For more information please email the Department at Legislation@cdph.ca.gov or call (916) 440-7502.
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