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Dear Tobacco Retailer/Wholesaler/Distributor: 

NEW TOBACCO LAW THAT AFFECTS CALIFORNIA RETAILERS 
Effective upon certification of the vote, the California Health and Safety Code 
(HSC) Section 104559.5 prohibits the sale of most flavored tobacco products, 
including flavored e-cigarettes and menthol cigarettes, as well as tobacco 
product flavor enhancers in retail stores and vending machines in California. 
This letter contains a summary of the law and information about online 
resources to help you learn about and comply with the new law. 

SUMMARY OF NEW STATE TOBACCO LAW  
HSC Section 104599.5: 

• Prohibits a tobacco retailer, or any of the tobacco retailer’s agents or
employees, from selling, offering for sale, or possessing with the intent to
sell or offer for sale most flavored tobacco products, including flavored e-
cigarettes and menthol cigarettes, as well as tobacco product flavor
enhancers.

• Defines a “flavored tobacco product” as any tobacco product that
contains an ingredient that imparts a “characterizing flavor.”

• Defines a “characterizing flavor” as a distinguishable taste or aroma, or
both, other than the taste or aroma of tobacco, imparted by a tobacco
product or any byproduct produced by the tobacco product. This may
include but is not limited to tastes or aromas relating to any fruit,
chocolate, vanilla, honey, candy, dessert, menthol, mint, wintergreen,
herb, or spice.

• Defines a “tobacco product flavor enhancer” as a product designed,
manufactured, produced, marketed, or sold to produce a characterizing
flavor when added to a tobacco product.

• The law does not apply to flavored premium cigars with a wholesale price
of $12 or more and flavored loose-leaf pipe tobacco. Flavored
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shisha/hookah tobacco may only be sold in licensed stores that only allow 
people 21 or older on the premises at any time.  

• Licensed stores must also operate in accordance with all state or local
laws relating to the sale of tobacco and consumption of tobacco on the
premises (for hookah retailers that permit consumption of tobacco on the
premises).

Under this new tobacco law, a tobacco retailer, their agents, or employees who 
violates this law will be guilty of an infraction and fined $250 for each violation. 

Please visit the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) website at 
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CTCB/Pages/TobaccoRet 
ailersResources.aspx for more detailed information. 

REMINDER: CALIFORNIA LAW PROHIBITS TOBACCO SALES TO PEOPLE UNDER AGE 21 
The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act, prohibits the sale and 
furnishing of tobacco products to persons under the age of 21 (Business and 
Professions Code Division 8.5). A “tobacco product” is any product containing, 
made or derived from tobacco or nicotine that is intended for human 
consumption, an electronic device that delivers nicotine or other vaporized 
liquids to the person inhaling from the device, and any tobacco product 
component, part, or accessory, whether or not they contain nicotine or are sold 
separately. For example, atomizers, tobacco rolling papers, vaping tanks or 
mods, and e-liquids are all tobacco products [Business and Professions Code 
Section 22950.5 (d)(1)]. 

MATERIALS TO HELP YOU COMPLY WITH THE LAW 
CDPH has developed the following resources to assist your transition with 
implementing the law and made them available on the CDPH website at 
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CTCB/Pages/TobaccoRet 
ailersResources.aspx. 

• Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ): California’s Flavored Tobacco Sales
Law

• California’s Flavored Tobacco Sales Law Factsheet
• Tobacco Control Laws that Affect California Retail Businesses 2021
• California Retailers and Tobacco Law Training

Tobacco retailers are responsible for knowing and complying with all federal, 
state, and local laws regarding the sale and distribution of tobacco products. 
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Local jurisdictions may have more restrictive ordinances. If a local ordinance is 
more restrictive than state law regarding sales of flavored tobacco products, 
then retailers in that jurisdiction must abide by the stronger local ordinance.  
 
Thank you for complying with California tobacco sales laws. If you have any 
questions, please contact the California Tobacco Control Program at  
(916) 449-5500 or CTCPinbox@cdph.ca.gov.  
 
Sincerely,  
 

 
 
Tomás J. Aragón, MD, DrPH 
Director and State Public Health Officer 
California Department of Public Health 
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