
State of California 
Office of Administrative Law 

In re: 
Departmentof Public Health 

Regulatory Action: 

Title 17,California Code of Regulations 

Adoptsections: 
Amend sections: 6508 
Repeal sections: 

NOTICE OF FILING AND PRINTING ONLY 
OF EMERGENCY REGUL.ATION(S)OR 
ORDERS)OF REPEAL 

Government Code Section 11343.8 

OAL Matter Number:2016-0630-02 

OAL Matter Type:Emergency File and Print 
Only(EFP) 

This deemed emergency file and print action, which is exempt from OAL review, 
amends the newborn screening program fees. Although statute authorizes the 
Department of Public Health(DPH)to file directly with the Secretary of State,the Office 
of Administrative Law offered to process this action on behalf of DPH as an Emergency 
File &Print action. 

OAL filed these emergency regulations with the Secretary of State, and will publish the 
emergency regulations in the California Code of Regulations. 

Date: July 1,2016 
Mark Storm 
Senior Attorney 

For: Debra M.Cornez 
Director 

Original: Dr. Karen Smith 
Copy: Laurel Prior 
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DPH-16-015-E 
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05/25/2016 

Title 17. Public Health 
Division 1. State Department of Health Services 

Chapter 4.Preventive Medical Service 
Subchapter9.Testing far Heritable Disorders 

Group 3. Newborn Screening Program 
Article 4. Newborn Screening Participation Fee 

1) Amend Section 6508 to read: 

§6508. Newborn Screening Fee Collection. 

(a)Perinatal licensed health facilities.and birth attendants shall.obtain from the 

Department a sufficient supply of specimen collection forms to permit collection of a 

blood specimen from each newborn required to be tested under this Group. 

(b)The Department shall collect a fee for each specimen record form provided 

and a program participation fee for all services provided..The feefora .specimen form 

shall be $1 and for program services shall be$~~-~9 129.25 exceptfor a 

comprehensive prepaid group practice direct health care service plan with 20,000 or 

more births in the last completed.calendar yearfor which comp}ete statistics are 

available, which elects to provide testing,follow-up and/or counseling services to its 

members.Thefee for such plans shall beequal to the Department's cost of 

administra#ion ofthe newborn screening program,to be determined by reducing the 

$~~-X9$129.25 program service fee by the annual statewide average per infant 

contracted cost of laboratory testing,follow-up and/or counseling services rendered 

during the previous fiscal year. In order to qualify for this special fee a medical group 

serving a comprehensive.prepaid group practice direct care service plan with 20,000 or 

more births shall sign a written agreement which contains the same standards and 

conditions, except as to payment or where specifically waived,as are applicable to the 

newborn screening laboratories and Newborn Screening Area Service Centers,adhere 
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to the regulations governing the program,and to submit to monitoring and evaluation of 

compliance. Failure to comply with these conditions after being given written notification 

and 34days to correct deviations shall result in lossofthe option. In the event the 

option is last the State shall designate appropriate contractors.to provide services. 

The provisions ofthis section shall apply even if the newborn is part of a State-

approved demonstration .project. 

(c)Birth attendants and.physicians attending newborns who are under six days 

of age. and who were not born in perinatal licensed.health facilities and notsubsequently 

admitted to perinatal licensed health facilities shall obtain a sufficient supply of 

specimen record forms to permit collection or shall arrange for a collection ofa blood 

specimen from.each such.newbornattended. 

(d)Birth attendants and physicians attending newborns and perinatal licensed 

health facilities shall not charge.parents or third porkies responsible for medical care. 

coverage fees for participation in the newborn screening program in addition to those 

specified in this section, exceptfor reasonable feesfor casts.of blood. specimen 

collection and handling which shall not exceed $6. 

(e}The perinatal licensed health facility shall make available to the responsible 

physician, at no additional charge,specimen collection services or a specimen.record 

form for obtaining either a repeat specimen for an inadequate specimen or a specimen 

on a newborn discharged without the test having been obtained. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 124977,124996,125000,131050,131051 and 131200, 

Health and Safety Code. Reference:Sections 124977,124996,125000 and 125001, 

Health and Safety Code. 
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