

Communicate. Public. Health.

"Protecting the health of all Californians"

JUNE 8, 2016

First Time California Has Changed Tobacco Age Law in 144 Years

On June 9, 2016, tobacco retailers will be prohibited from selling tobacco products (including electronic smoking products and devices) to people under 21 years of age unless they're active duty military personnel. Additionally, e-cigarette use is not allowed anywhere smoking is prohibited including public transit, worksites, restaurants, schools, and playgrounds.

need to ensure that the buyer is 21 or over.

prohibited.



According to the National Survey on Drug Use and Health, some 90 percent of tobacco users start before 21, and about 80 percent first try tobacco before they're 18.

• SB X2 5 (Leno) classifies e-cigarettes as tobacco products, making them subject to smoke-free laws,

age restrictions and other rules governing tobacco products. California's smoke-free workplace law,

which is enforced locally, will now prohibit the use of e-cigarettes everywhere tobacco smoking is

AB X2 7 (Stone) removes certain exemptions from the smoke-free workplace laws, including enclosed

workplaces, hotel lobbies, meeting rooms, banquet rooms, warehouses, and employee breakrooms;

and decreases the number of hotel/motel guestrooms where smoking is allowed from 65 percent to

• SB X2 7 (Hernandez) prohibits the sale, furnishing or giving of tobacco products, including e-

AB X2 9 (Thurmond & Nazarian) requires all public schools to be tobacco free, including charter

AB X2 11 (Nazarian) raises tobacco licensing fees applicable to retailers, distributors and wholesalers,

schools that received tobacco use prevention funding were required to be tobacco free.

under the state Board of Equalization from a one-time fee to an increased annual fee.

schools; and provides that tobacco-free school campus policy includes e-cigarettes. Previously, only

cigarettes, to persons under 21. When checking IDs of tobacco product purchasers, retailers will now

20 percent. And, the removal of these certain exemptions will also apply to e-cigarettes as well.

New Tobacco Laws Take Effect June 9th

A 2015 study by the Centers fewer premature deaths for for Disease Control and Prevention found that the use of e-cigarettes by high school students tripled from 2013 to 2014. The classification of e-cigarettes as tobacco products will also make it harder for youth to get these types of products and devices. A 2015 Institute of Medicine study estimated that increasing the tobacco result nationally in 200,000

purchase age to 21 would

those born between 2000 and 2019.

The California Department of Public Health (CDPH) is developing educational resources for retailers to learn more about the Tobacco 21 law and to help retailers comply. Please visit CDPH's Web site for further details, resources and information to make sure you're prepared.

California Tobacco 21 Laws

(http://www.cdph.ca.gov/prog rams/tobacco/Pages/Tobacco2



Products Covered by the

New Tobacco Laws • Cigars

• E-cigarettes

• Vape Pens

Mods

• E-liquids

- E-hookah
- Cigarillos Little Cigars
- Chewing • Vaping Devices
 - Tobacco
 - Snus
 - Pipe
- Hookah Tobacco • Cigarettes



Tobacco Control Program

Within the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) is the California Tobacco Control program (CTCP) - with a mission to improve the health of all Californians by reducing illness and premature death attributable to the use of tobacco products. Through leadership, experience and research, CTCP empowers statewide and local health agencies to promote health and quality of life by advocating for social norms that create a tobacco-free environment.

CTCP funds and coordinates the efforts of local communities in California to create smoke-free environments, prevent illegal sales of tobacco products to youth, counter marketing practices of the tobacco industry, and help smokers to quit using tobacco products.



CONNECT



This is a periodic update for the Legislature on CDPH issues. For more information please email the Department at Legislation@cdph.ca.gov or call (916) 440-7502.