
Medicinal Use Cannabis Penalties

California Cannabis Health
Information Initiative

Under California’s medicinal cannabis laws, you can possess up to eight ounces of dried cannabis and maintain 
no more than 6 mature cannabis plants or 12 immature plants. If you require a larger amount of cannabis, under 
the Compassionate Use Act, you may  possess and cultivate any amount that is reasonably related to your current 
medical needs. Under California law, to legally possess medicinal cannabis in California, you must meet at least 
one of the following requirements:

• You have a valid physician’s recommendation
• You have a valid county-issued medical marijuana identification card
• You are a designated Primary Caregiver (Health and Safety Code Section 11362.7(d) and Section

11362.71 (e) or 11362.5(e), with a valid physician’s recommendation for the patient).1

To buy medicinal cannabis under California law, you must meet the requirements described above and be 18 
or older.  Your physician’s recommendation must also be valid and in compliance with Health and Safety Code 
Section 11362.712.  You can only buy medicinal cannabis from a retailer licensed by the Bureau of
Cannabis Control.

Below is a summary of some of the penalties for illegally obtaining a physician’s recommendation and illegally using 
medical marijuana identification cards.  For information about other penalties related to the illegal use, possession and 
sale of medicinal cannabis please, see our Adult-Use Cannabis Penalties fact sheet.

Violation Penalty Statutory Reference

Fraudulently claiming or pretending to 
have a medical problem or providing 
false information to a physician, 
county health department or state 
or local law enforcement agency 
or officer in order to get a medical 
marijuana identification card. 

First offense: Imprisonment in county jail for up to six 
months, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.

Second or subsequent offense: Imprisonment in 
county jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000 or 
both.2

Health and Safety Code 
Section 1362.81 (a), (b) and (c)

Stealing or illegally using another 
person’s medical marijuana 
identification card in order to obtain, 
grow, transport, use, produce, or 
distribute cannabis.

First offense: Imprisonment in county jail for up to six 
months, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.

Second or subsequent offense: Imprisonment in 
county jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000 or 
both.2

Health and Safety Code 
Section 1362.81 (a), (b) and (c)

References
1. A primary caregiver may possess an amount of medicinal cannabis recommended by a patient’s physician and consistent with the patient’s needs.
2. In addition, a person who breaks this law may not be able to obtain or use a medical marijuana identification card for up to six months.
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Violation Penalty Statutory Reference

Altering a medical marijuana 
identification card or making a 
counterfeit or fake card.

Health and Safety Code 
Section 1362.81 (a), (b) and (c)

First offense: Imprisonment in county jail for up to six 
months, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.

Second or subsequent offense: Imprisonment in 
county jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000 or 
both.2

Illegally sharing, accessing, or 
breaching the personal information 
that cannabis patients provide to 
county health departments.

Note:  A patient’s name, address, 
medical condition and other personal 
information is private and protected 

First offense: Imprisonment in county jail for up to six 
months, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.

Second or subsequent offense: Imprisonment in 
county jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000 or 
both.2

Health and Safety Code 
Section 1362.81 (a), (b) and (c)

by the Confidentiality of Medical 
Information Act (Part 2.6, Division 1 of 
the Civil Code).

http://bit.do/letstalkcannabis  
letstalkcannabis@cdph.ca.gov

NOTE: Cannabis remains classified as a Schedule I drug under the federal Controlled Substances Act, and its purchase, possession, 
distribution, or use within California may be unlawful under federal law. While it is our intention to provide current information, 
this fact sheet is not for the purpose of providing legal advice and can become outdated. Contact your attorney if you have 
questions about cannabis, what is (or is not) legal under state or federal law or need legal advice.
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