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2022 California Synar Tobacco Purchase Survey  

Introduction: 

California’s 2022 Synar Tobacco Purchase Survey (STPS) assessed the retailer violation rate for tobacco sales to youth and young 

adults under 21 years of age using decoys aged 18 to 20 years old. 

The Federal Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant (SABG) requires California to conduct a tobacco purchase 

survey and maintain a compliance rate of no more than 20% as specified in Section 1926 of Title XIX of the Federal Public Health 

Service Act (42 U.S.C. 300x-26) and Section 96.130 of Title 45 Code of Federal Regulations. Failure to maintain compliance with this 

requirement may result in a reduction of up to 10% of California’s SABG funds. In federal fiscal year 2022, California’s SABG funds 

totaled $191.9 million. 

A regionally stratified, random sample of California licensed tobacco retail outlets was sampled. The 2022 STPS began inspections in 

April 2022 and concluded in June 2022. 1111 outlets were successfully surveyed. Decoys were instructed to attempt to purchase 

either vaping products, cigarettes, little cigars/cigarillos, cigars, or smokeless tobacco, in that order. 

Results:  

The statewide retailer violation rate was 27.7% (Figure 1). Drug stores/pharmacies and convenience stores had a much lower 

violation rate than the state average (10.6% and 17.2%, respectively). Small market/deli/produce market (29.1%), tobacco 

stores/smoke shops (41.4%), and other stores, like hotels, discount stores, restaurants (54.2%) had a higher violation rate than the 

statewide average.  
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Figure 1. Tobacco Sales to Under 21 Years Old Young Adults by Store Type, 2022 Synar Tobacco Purchase Survey 
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Others 54.2%

Tobacco/Vape Shops 41.4%
Small Market/Deli/Produce Market 29.1%

Gas Station 27.2%
Supermarket/Large Grocery 21.4%

Liquor Store 21.5%
Convenience Store 17.2%

Drug Store/Pharmacy 10.6%

Notes: : Weighted percentages (%) are shown. Tobacco sold to young adults includes cigarettes, cigars, little cigars or cigarillos, or electronic 
tobacco products. "Other" stores includes discount stores, hotels, and other. Only stores that are accessible to youth (e.g. stores that do not 
require membership, stores that do not enforce 21+ age restriction at the door) are inspected. Source: Synar Tobacco Purchase Survey, 2022. 
Prepared by: California Department of Public Health, California Tobacco Control Program on July, 2022. 

Posting of age-of-sales signs was also documented in the survey. The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act requires 

tobacco retail outlets to post at the point of sale a minimum age-of-sale signage with the State’s 1-800-5 ASK-4-ID toll-free reporting 

number. Only 66.7% of retail outlets had the STAKE Act signs posted. The “We Card” and “Buying Tobacco for Minors Could Cost 

You” tobacco industry signs were also observed. 56.6% of retail outlets had tobacco industry signs posted. Stores that did not post 

STAKE ACT signs (30.3%) had a slightly higher violation rate than stores that did post STAKE ACT signs (26.3%) (Figure 2). Stores that 

did not post any signage had a 27.4% violation rate. 
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Figure 2. Retailer Violation Rate (%) by Signages, 2022 Synar Tobacco Purchase Survey 
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Source: Synar Tobacco Purchase Survey, 2022. 
Prepared by: California Department of Public Health, California Tobacco Control Program in July 2022. 

Categorizing the retail violation rate by region, it was found that High Country/North Valley and Central Valley had the highest 

violation rate (35.3% and 33.3%, respectively) compared to other regions (Figure 3).  North Coast region has the lowest retailer 

violation rate (12.9%). 
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Figure 3. Retailer Violation Rate (%) by Region, 2022 Synar Tobacco Purchase Survey

Source: Synar Tobacco Purchase Survey, 2022. 

Prepared by: California Department of Public Health, 
California Tobacco Control Program in July 2022 

Region n Retailer 
Violation 
Rate (%) 

Counties 

Central Coast 24 29.2 Monterey, San Benito, Santa 
Cruz 

Tri County 41 29.3 San Luis Obispo, Santa 
Barbara, Ventura 

Bay Area 157 23.6 Alameda, Contra Costa, 
Marin, San Francisco, San 
Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano 

Los Angeles 301 29.6 Los Angeles 
South Coast 166 25.3 Orange, San Diego 
Central Valley 105 33.3 Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, 

Mariposa, Merced, Tulare 
High 
Country/ 
North Valley 

34 35.3 Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Lassen, 
Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, 
Sierra, Siskiyou, Tehama, 
Trinity, Yuba 

Gold Country 121 28.9 Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, El 
Dorado, Inyo, Mono, Nevada, 
Placer, Sacramento, San 
Joaquin, Stanislaus, Sutter, 
Tuolumne, Yolo 

North Coast 31 12.9 Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, 
Mendocino, Napa, Sonoma 

Tri County 
South 

131 26.0 Imperial, Riverside, San 
Bernardino 


